Commemorative sites

By the early 1960s, a large number of commemorative sites had been created on the grounds of the former concentration camp. Further sites were added after the end of the GDR. The latter commemorate victims groups which had previously received little to no recognition.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Ernst Thälmann memorial plaque (1953

On the night of 17 August 1944, the SS executed Ernst Thälmann, a former member of the Reichstag and chairman of the German Communist Party, in the crematorium. A memorial plaque on the wall of the crematorium commemorates him.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Commemorative stone for the 1938 special camp for Jews (1954)

A stone commemorates the special camp for Jews which was located on the western section of the muster ground. Following the anti-Jewish pogrom of November 1938, the SS deported 10,000 Jewish men from Eastern, Central and Western Germany to Buchenwald Concentration Camp. They were imprisoned in five wooden barracks and abused; 250 of them died. The Hebrew inscription was added to the commemorative stone in 1988.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Commemorative stone for the special camp of 1939/40 (1954)

At the end of September 1939, the SS set up a special camp on the muster ground. There more than 3,000 Poles and Jews were crowded into tents. Hundreds of Viennese Jews died as a result of the winter temperatures and forced labour, or were murdered by the SS with injections. By February 1940, nearly half of the special camp inmates had died.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Commemorative stone for members of the British and Canadian armies murdered in the camp (1954)

In August 1944, a group of inmates was committed to Buchenwald Concentration Camp block no. 17 on account of their connections to the Special Operations Executive (SOE), a special British secret service unit active in occupied France. The SS murdered the majority of them in September/October 1944. The camp resistance helped to save three of the men by exchanging their names for those of dead inmates.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Commemorative stone for Soviet prisoners of war (1954)

On 18 October 1941, the SS committed 2,000 Soviet prisoners of war to the camp. They were housed on the western edge of the inmates’ camp in six barracks surrounded by barbed wire and signposted as a "prisoner-of-war camp". Many of the inmates died as a result of heavy forced labour, sickness and hunger.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Commemorative stone "Stable: Site of the Murder of 8,483 Soviet Soldiers" (1954)

Between the autumn of 1941 and 1943/44, the SS murdered more than 8,000 Soviet prisoners of war by shooting them in the neck in the solidly built 55-metre-long stable next to the camp commander’s indoor riding arena. The shooting facility consisted of a series of rooms set up to look like medical examination rooms. On the east side of the building, the corpses were put in galvanized containers for transport to the crematorium.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Commemorative stone at the former inmates’ infirmary (late 1950s)

In the summer of 1938, the construction of two barracks got underway in the area of the so-called “Revier”, or sick quarters. By early 1945, the inmates’ infirmary consisted of six barracks, including several solidly built ones with underground levels. This expansion, which was accelerated on account of epidemics and overcrowding, was brought about primarily through the persistent efforts of inmate orderlies. For inmates who enjoyed their protection, admission to the infirmary could mean survival. Others who were seriously ill and unable to work were killed in the facility by SS doctors with injections.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Rudolf Breitscheid memorial (1960)

Rudolf Breitscheid, chairman and foreign affairs spokesman of the German Social Democratic Party Reichstag faction in the Weimar Republic, was interned in the isolation barrack for prominent inmates. He was killed on 24 August 1944 during the Allied air attack on armament factories and SS facilities in the camp.

image

Photo: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Memorial to Henri Manhès (1961)

At the point where the Ettersburger Strasse branches off towards “Blood Road”, there is a memorial to Frédéric Henri Manhès (1889–1959), a member of the French resistance. It was erected in 1961 by the city of Weimar, which had awarded Manhès honorary citizenship three years previously.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Commemorative stone "Political Inmates from Bulgaria" (1970)

Bulgarian students from Bratislava and from the Dresden Technische Hochschule were held in custody in Buchenwald. They had refused to be recruited for the German Wehrmacht.

image

Photo: Claus Bach

Jewish memorial (1993)

Built with stones from the Buchenwald quarry at the site of the former Jewish block no. 22, this memorial was dedicated on 9 November 1993. The inscription (Psalm 78:6) in English, Hebrew and German reads: “So that the generation to come might know, the children, yet to be born, that they too may rise and declare to their children.” The memorial was designed by the artist Tine Steen and the architect Klaus Schlosser. Of the 75,000 Jewish men and women imprisoned in Buchenwald Concentration Camp and its subcamps, 11,800 died or were murdered.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Memorial to the Sinti and Roma victims (1995)

Black basalt steles form the memorial on a small elevation at former block no. 14, where Burgenland Roma were held in 1939/40. The steles bear the names of other concentration and extermination camps. The inscription in English, German and Romani reads: “In memory of the Sinti and Roma victims of Nazi Holocaust”. The memorial was designed by Daniel Plaas. The SS imprisoned approximately 3,500 Sinti and Roma (men and women) at Buchenwald Concentration Camp. According to the information gathered to date, at least four hundred of them perished here.

image

Photo: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Memorial to all inmates of Buchenwald Concentration Camp (1995)

A marker commemorating all of the victims of Buchenwald Concentration Camp was dedicated on the fiftieth anniversary of the liberation. A metal plaque engraved with the acronym “K. L. B.” as well as the names of fifty nations and victim groups in alphabetical order is inserted into the ground. The middle section is kept at 37 °C, the temperature of the human body. The memorial was designed and realized by the artists Horst Hoheisel and Andreas Knitz. This monument marks the site where inmate survivors erected a wooden obelisk – the first memorial to the victims of the camp – shortly after liberation. At a service held on 19 April 1945, they commemorated their dead comrades and swore the “Oath of Buchenwald”.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Memorial site for Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Friedrich von Rabenau and Ludwig Gehre (1999)

Along with the former General Friedrich von Rabenau and Captain Ludwig Gehre, the Protestant theologian Dietrich Bonhoeffer spent the last weeks of his life in a detention cellar in early 1945. The three had been arrested and brought to Buchenwald for participating in the conspiracy against Hitler which had culminated in the assassination attempt of 20 July 1944. On 9 April 1945 they were murdered at Flossenbürg Concentration Camp, where their corpses were incinerated and the evidence covered up. After the grounds had been cleared by participants of various work camps beginning in 1990, the memorial site was dedicated in 1999. On 25 May 2014, it was defiled by unidentified persons. The perpetrators destroyed one step of the historical access stairway and irreparably damaged the stainless steel commemorative plaque. Through a donation campaign, the German-speaking section of the International Bonhoeffer Society and the Protestant-Lutheran Church Parish of Weimar provided decisive support for the memorial site’s immediate restoration. The funds moreover covered the cost of conservational measures to improve the site’s long-term protection.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Commemorative rooms in the former detention cell building

In the left wing of the gate building, the so-called Bunker, SS jailors murdered hundreds of inmates. A number of them, including the Protestant pastor Paul Schneider and the Austrian clergymen Otto Neururer and Mathias Spanlang, are commemorated by name.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Commemorative stone for victims of the National Socialist military judiciary (2001)

On 15 May 2001, the “International Day of Conscientious Objectors”, a commemorative stone was dedicated to conscientious objectors and deserters at the site of former block no. 45. Several hundred of these persons were imprisoned in Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Concentration Camps.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

"Little Camp" Memorial (2002)

This memorial came about as a joint project of the “United States Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad” and the Buchenwald Memorial. It was realized with donations from the U.S. as well as funds from the Federal Republic of Germany and the Free State of Thuringia. The place-names inscribed in the memorial refer to deportation sites, prisons and concentration camps from which transports were sent directly to the "Little Camp". A Buchenwald Concentration Camp survivor, the architect Stephen B. Jacobs, designed the memorial. As a child, he had himself been in custody in the "Little Camp" at the end of 1944 along with his father and brother.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Stone in memory of the Jehovah’s Witnesses (2002)

A stone at the site of block no. 45 commemorates the Jehovah’s Witnesses. They were persecuted by the National Socialists from 1933 onwards for their unwavering pacifism. Beginning in the mid 1930s, they were committed to various German concentration camps, including Buchenwald.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Stone commemorating the women of Buchenwald Concentration Camp (2003)

A memorial stone at the site of former block no. 5 commemorates the more than 27,000 women and girls forced to perform labour for the German armament industry in the subcamps of Buchenwald Concentration Camp. Block no. 5 housed the inmate detachment for labour administration, which was also responsible for the administration of the subcamps. The text inscribed on the stone was written by the Polish Buchenwald survivor Danuta Brzosko-Medryk, who was deported to a Buchenwald subcamp in Leipzig in 1944.

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Commemorative stone for homosexual men (2006)

The Nazi regime had thousands of homosexual men committed to concentration camps. Between 1937 and 1945, some 650 German homosexuals were imprisoned in Buchenwald alone. The majority of them wore the pink triangle; a number of them had to wear other colours. One in three of them perished. They are commemorated by a memorial stone at the site of former block no. 45.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Commemorative stone for members of the Allied Air Force (2014)

In August 1944, at least 169 Allied airmen who had been shot down over France were committed to Buchenwald Concentration Camp. Of these men, 82 were Americans, 49 were Britons, 26 Canadians, 9 Australians, 2 from New Zealand, and 1 from Jamaica. Two of them died in the camp. The others were transferred to the Stalag Luft III prisoner-of-war camp in Sagan (present-day Żagań in Poland ) in October/November 1944. On 13 April 2014, survivors dedicated a commemorative stone to this inmate group at the site of the former Block 45.

image

Photo: Anja Holtschneider

Memorial for the Spanish Republicans (2015)

Also about 500 Spaniards were deported to the Buchenwald concentration camp. Most of them were members of the Republican Army or refugees from the civil war. The first of them, arriving in spring 1941 , were called “Red Spaniards” by the SS. After the transports from France were arriving since early 1944, the number of Spaniards in Buchenwald rose. At least 39 of them, among them two Spanish Jews, died in the Buchenwald concentration camp. On the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the liberation on April 11th, 1945, relatives and descendants inaugurated the memorial stone at former Block 45.

Gedenkorte

Bis Anfang der 1960er Jahre wurden auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Konzentrationslagers Buchenwald zahlreiche Gedenkorte geschaffen. Weitere kamen nach dem Ende der DDR hinzu. Sie erinnern an Opfergruppen, die zuvor nicht im Blickpunkt gestanden hatten.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Ernst-Thälmann-Gedenktafel (1953)

In der Nacht vom 17. auf den 18. August 1944 erschoss die SS im Krematorium den ehemaligen Reichstagsabgeordneten und Vorsitzenden der KPD Ernst Thälmann. An ihn erinnert eine Gedenktafel an der Wand des Krematoriums.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Gedenkstein jüdisches Sonderlager 1938 (1954)

Ein Gedenkstein erinnert an das jüdische Sonderlager, das sich 1938/39 auf dem westlichen Teil des Appellplatzes befand. Nach dem antijüdischen Pogrom im November 1938 deportierte die SS 10.000 jüdische Männer aus Ost-, Mittel- und Westdeutschland in das KZ Buchenwald. Dort wurden sie in fünf Holzbaracken gefangengehalten und misshandelt, 250 von ihnen starben. 1988 wurde die hebräische Inschrift in den Gedenkstein eingebracht.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Gedenkstein Sonderlager 1939/40 (1954)

Ende September 1939 errichtete die SS am Appellplatz ein Sonderlager. Über 3000 Polen und Juden wurden dort in Zelten zusammengedrängt. Hunderte Wiener Juden fielen im Winter der Kälte und der Zwangsarbeit zum Opfer oder wurden von der SS durch Injektionen ermordet. Bis Februar 1940 kam fast die Hälfte der Häftlinge im Sonderlager ums Leben.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Gedenkstein für ermordete Angehörige der britischen und kanadischen Streitkräfte (1954)

Wegen Verbindungen zu der im besetzten Frankreich agierenden Special Operations Executive (SOE), einer Spezialeinheit des britischen Geheimdienstes, wurde im August 1944 eine Gruppe von Häftlingen in Block 17 des KZ Buchenwald eingeliefert. Im September/Oktober 1944 ermordete die SS die meisten von ihnen. Drei Männer konnten mit Hilfe des Lagerwiderstandes durch Namenstausch mit verstorbenen Häftlingen gerettet werden.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Gedenkstein für sowjetische Kriegsgefangene (1954)

Am 18. Oktober 1941 lieferte die SS 2000 sowjetische Kriegsgefangene ein. Sie kamen in sechs Baracken am westlichen Rand des Häftlingslagers, die separat mit Stacheldraht umzäunt und als "Kriegsgefangenenlager" beschildert wurden. Durch harte Zwangsarbeit, Krankheit und Hunger starben viele der Insassen.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Gedenkstein "Pferdestall. Mordstätte für 8483 sowjetische Soldaten" (1954)

In dem 55 Meter langen, massiv gebauten Pferdestall neben der Reithalle des Lagerkommandanten ermordete die SS von Herbst 1941 bis 1943/44 über 8000 sowjetische Kriegsgefangene durch Genickschuss. Die Erschießungsanlage bestand aus einer Reihe von Räumen, in denen den Opfern eine medizinische Aufnahmeuntersuchung vorgetäuscht wurde. Der Abtransport der Leichname zum Krematorium erfolgte in verzinkten Behältern von der Ostseite des Gebäudes aus.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Gedenkstein am ehemaligen Häftlingskrankenbau (Ende der 1950er Jahre)

Im Sommer 1938 begann im Bereich des sogenannten Reviers die Errichtung von zwei Baracken. Anfang 1945 bestand der Häftlingskrankenbau aus sechs teilweise massiven, unterkellerten Baracken. Dieser Ausbau, der aufgrund von Seuchen und Überfüllung beschleunigt wurde, ging vor allem auf die hartnäckigen Bemühungen der Häftlingssanitäter zurück. Für Häftlinge, die unter ihrem Schutz standen, konnte die Aufnahme in den Häftlingskrankenbau Rettung bedeuten. Andere, die schwer krank waren und unfähig zu arbeiten, töteten die SS-Ärzte mit Injektionen.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Rudolf-Breitscheid-Gedenkstätte (1960)

Rudolf Breitscheid, Vorsitzender und außenpolitischer Sprecher der SPD-Reichstagsfraktion in der Weimarer Republik, war in der Isolierbaracke für prominente Häftlinge interniert. Er kam am 24. August 1944 bei dem alliierten Luftangriff auf Rüstungsbetriebe und SS-Einrichtungen des Lagers ums Leben.

image

Foto: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Denkmal für Henri Manhès (1961)

An der Abzweigung von der Ettersburger Straße in Richtung "Blutstraße" befindet sich ein Denkmal für den französischen Widerstandskämpfer Frédéric Henri Manhès (1889-1959). Es wurde 1961 von der Stadt Weimar errichtet, die Manhès drei Jahre zuvor die Ehrenbürgerwürde verliehen hatte.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Gedenkstein "Politische Häftlinge aus Bulgarien" (1970)

Bulgarische Studenten aus Bratislava sowie von der Technischen Hochschule Dresden wurden in Buchenwald festgehalten. Sie hatten sich der Rekrutierung in die Deutsche Wehrmacht verweigert.

image

Foto: Claus Bach

Jüdisches Mahnmal (1993)

Mit Steinen aus dem Buchenwalder Steinbruch auf der Grundfläche des ehemaligen jüdischen Blocks 22 erbaut, wurde das Mahnmal am 9. November 1993 geweiht. Die Inschrift (Psalm 78,6) in Englisch, Hebräisch und Deutsch lautet: "Auf dass erkenne das künftige Geschlecht, die Kinder, die geboren werden, dass sie aufstehen und erzählen ihren Kindern." Der Entwurf stammt von der Künstlerin Tine Steen und dem Architekten Klaus Schlosser. Von den 75.000 jüdischen Männern und Frauen im KZ Buchenwald und seinen Außenlagern sind 11.800 ums Leben gekommen und ermordet worden.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Denkmal für die ermordeten Sinti und Roma (1995)

Schwarze Basaltstelen auf einem kleinen Hügel bilden das Denkmal am ehemaligen Block 14, in dem 1939/40 Burgenländer Roma festgehalten wurden. Auf den Stelen sind die Namen anderer Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslager zu lesen. Die Inschrift in Englisch, Deutsch und Romanes lautet: "Zum Gedenken an die Sinti und Roma, die Opfer des NS-Völkermords wurden". Der Entwurf stammt von Daniel Plaas. Etwa 3500 Sinti und Roma (Männer und Frauen) hielt die SS im KZ Buchenwald fest. Nach bisherigem Kenntnisstand sind mindestens 400 von ihnen dort umgekommen.

image

Foto: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Denkmal für alle Häftlinge des KZ Buchenwald (1995)

Zum 50. Jahrestag der Befreiung wurde auf dem ehemaligen Appellplatz ein Gedenkzeichen für alle Opfer des KZ Buchenwald eingeweiht. Eine in den Boden eingelassene Metallplatte ist graviert mit dem Akronym "K. L. B." sowie den Namen von mehr als 50 Nationen und Opfergruppen in alphabetischer Reihenfolge. Der Mittelteil wird auf 37 Grad, auf menschliche Körpertemperatur, erwärmt. Das Denkmal wurde von den Künstlern Horst Hoheisel und Andreas Knitz entworfen und realisiert. Das Gedenkzeichen markiert den Ort, an dem überlebende Häftlinge kurz nach der Befreiung einen hölzernen Obelisken, das erste Denkmal für die Opfer des Lagers, errichtet hatten. In einer Gedenkfeier am 19. April 1945 erinnerten sie an ihre toten Kameraden und leisteten den "Schwur von Buchenwald".

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Erinnerungsstätte Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Friedrich von Rabenau und Ludwig Gehre (1999)

In einem Kellerarrest in den SS-Kasernen verbrachte der evangelische Theologe Dietrich Bonhoeffer gemeinsam mit dem ehemaligen General Friedrich von Rabenau und Hauptmann Ludwig Gehre Anfang 1945 die letzten Wochen seines Lebens. Sie waren wegen ihrer Teilnahme an der Verschwörung gegen Hitler, die zum Attentat am 20. Juli 1944 führte, verhaftet und nach Buchenwald gebracht worden. Am 9. April 1945 wurden sie im KZ Flossenbürg ermordet, ihre Leichen verbrannt und die Spuren verwischt. Die Erinnerungsstätte wurde 1999 eingeweiht. Seit 1990 hatten Teilnehmer verschiedener Workcamps das zugewachsene Gelände freigelegt. Am 25. Mai 2014 schändeten Unbekannte die Erinnerungsstätte. Die Täter zerstörten insbesondere eine Stufe des historischen Treppenzugangs und beschädigten die aus Edelstahl gefertigte Gedenktafel irreparabel. Die umgehende Wiederherstellung des Erinnerungsortes unterstützten die Internationale Bonhoeffer-Gesellschaft, Deutschsprachige Sektion, und die Evangelisch-lutherische Kirchgemeinde Weimar durch Spenden maßgeblich. Die Gelder ermöglichten darüber hinaus konservatorische Maßnahmen zugunsten einer noch besseren dauerhaften Sicherung des Erinnerungsortes.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Gedenkräume im ehemaligen Arrestzellenbau

Im linken Flügel des Torgebäudes, dem sogenannten Bunker, ermordeten SS-Aufseher hunderte Menschen. An einige von ihnen, darunter der evangelische Pfarrer Paul Schneider und die österreichischen Geistlichen Otto Neururer und Mathias Spanlang, wird namentlich erinnert.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Gedenkstein für Opfer der nationalsozialistischen Militärjustiz (2001)

Am 15. Mai 2001, dem Internationalen Tag der Kriegsdienstverweigerer, wurde am ehemaligen Block 45 ein Gedenkstein für Kriegsdienstverweigerer und Deserteure der Wehrmacht eingeweiht. Mehrere Hundert von ihnen waren in den KZ Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora gefangengehalten worden.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Denkmal "Kleines Lager" (2002)

Dieses Denkmal entstand als gemeinsames Projekt der "United States Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad" und der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald. Realisiert wurde es mit Spenden aus den USA sowie Geldern der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und des Freistaats Thüringen. Die Ortsnamen im Denkmal beziehen sich auf die Deportationsorte, Gefängnisse und Konzentrationslager, aus denen Transporte direkt ins "Kleine Lager" kamen. Ein Überlebender des KZ Buchenwald, der New Yorker Architekt Stephen B. Jacobs, hat das Denkmal entworfen. Er war als Kind mit seinem Vater und seinem Bruder seit Ende 1944 selbst im "Kleinen Lager" festgehalten worden.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Gedenkstein für Zeugen Jehovas (2002)

Am Block 45 erinnert ein Gedenkstein an Jehovas Zeugen. Seit 1933 waren sie von den Nationalsozialisten wegen ihres konsequenten Pazifismus verfolgt, seit Mitte der 1930er Jahre in deutschen Konzentrationslagern inhaftiert worden, darunter auch in Buchenwald.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Gedenkstein für die Frauen des KZ Buchenwald (2003)

An die über 27.000 Frauen und Mädchen, die in Außenlagern des KZ Buchenwald für die deutsche Rüstungsindustrie arbeiten mussten, erinnert ein Gedenkstein am ehemaligen Block 5. Hier war das Häftlingskommando Arbeitsstatistik untergebracht, das im Hauptlager auch für die Verwaltung der Außenlager zuständig war. Der Text des Gedenksteins wurde von der polnischen Buchenwald-Überlebenden Danuta Brzosko-Medryk verfasst, die 1944 in ein Außenlager nach Leipzig deportiert worden war.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Gedenkstein für homosexuelle Männer (2006)

Das NS-Regime ließ Tausende homosexuelle Männer in die Konzentrationslager einweisen. Allein in Buchenwald waren zwischen 1937 und 1945 etwa 650 deutsche Homosexuelle inhaftiert. Die meisten von ihnen wurden mit dem Rosa Winkel gekennzeichnet, einige mussten andere Winkel tragen. Jeder dritte von ihnen kam ums Leben. Ein Gedenkstein am ehemaligen Block 45 erinnert an sie.

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Gedenkstein für Angehörige der Alliierten Luftwaffe (2014)

Im August 1944 erfolgte die Einlieferung von mindestens 169 über Frankreich abgeschossenen alliierten Fliegern im KZ Buchenwald. Es handelte sich um 82 US-Amerikaner, 49 Briten, 26 Kanadier, 9 Australier, 2 Neuseeländer und einen Jamaikaner. Zwei von ihnen starben im Lager. Die übrigen kamen im Oktober/November 1944 in das Kriegsgefangenenlager Stalag Luft III in Sagan (heute Żagań in Polen). Am 13. April 2014 weihten Überlebende einen Gedenkstein für diese Häftlingsgruppe am ehemaligen Block 45 ein.

image

Foto: Anja Holtschneider

Gedenkstein für die spanischen Republikaner (2015)

In das KZ Buchenwald wurden auch etwa 500 Spanier verschleppt. Zumeist handelte es sich um Angehörige der Republikanischen Armee oder Bürgerkriegsflüchtlinge. Die ersten bezeichnete die SS im Frühjahr 1941 als „Rotspanier“. Mit den Transporten aus Frankreich seit Anfang 1944 stieg die Zahl der in Buchenwald befindlichen Spanier an. Mindestens 39 von ihnen, darunter zwei spanische Juden kamen, im KZ Buchenwald ums Leben. Aus Anlass des 70. Jahrestages der Befreiung am 11. April 2015 weihten Angehörige den Gedenkstein am ehemaligen Block 45 ein.