Contact

Art Collection
Dr Sonja Staar
Phone +49 (0)3643 430 141
Fax +49 (0)3643 430 100
kunstsammlung(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Additional information

Art exhibition Buchenwald
Additional information can be found here

View of the memorial's art collection. Photo: Claus Bach. Buchenwald Memorial

Art Collection

At the heart of the art collection are works which have been given to the memorial by camp survivors since the 1950s. A systematic effort to collect relevant works of art began in the 1970s. The works are divided into various categories, including works executed by inmates while held in the camps, works by former inmates, works executed for memorials and works by contemporary artists who have grappled with what has been called the “rupture of civilization” under National Socialism.

The art collection currently encompasses more than 1,700 objects, including approximately 600 sketches, studies and paintings produced in a variety of techniques and dating from the years of the camp's operation, 350 drawings, prints, paintings and sculptures executed after 1945, and approximately 400 contemporary artworks.

In addition to the works relating directly to the camp context and executed while the camp was in operation or in retrospect, the art collection also comprises drawings and prints produced previously or outside the camps in Germany or in exile, among them some 100 sketches by the Frenchman Paul Goyard dating from World War I and 100 drawings by Alfred Ahner (on permanent loan from the Ahner Foundation) executed in Weimar between 1920 and 1945.

Sketches, drawings and small-scale paintings in pencil, ink, watercolour and oil on paper, cardboard, plywood and canvas as well as wooden sculptures from Buchenwald, Mittelbau-Dora and other concentration camps form the core of the art collection. Owing to the circumstances surrounding their execution, most of the works were made with inferior materials and thus require special conservatorial supervision. Examples include drawing series by Maria Brzęcka-Kosk, José Fosty, Paul Goyard, Karol Konieczny, Henri Pieck and Karl Schulz, individual works by Dominik Černy, Flemming Hinsch and Herbert Sandberg, and sculptures by Bruno Apitz.

Works executed by survivors after the war include drawings and installations by Józef Szajna, drawing series by Nachum Bandel, Leonid Carizynskij, Max Lingner and Rosemarie Kočzÿ, print series by Hermann Bruse, José Fosty, Gaston Gentillon, Hans Grundig and Herbert Sandberg, sculptures by Walter Spitzer and Fischel Libermann, and a wall hanging by Anne Aknin. The room installation Reminiscences by Józef Szajna is on permanent loan to the collection.

Among the works of sculpture and printmaking executed for memorials are examples by Theo Balden, Fritz Cremer, René Graetz, Hans Kies, Waldemar Grzimek, Johann-Peter Hinz, Will Lammert, Heinz Scharr, Wieland Schmiedel, Siegfried Tschierschky and Erich Wurzer.

The contemporary works encompass pieces by Jürgen Brodwolf, Naomi Tereza Salmon, Esther Shalev-Gerz, Klaus Steinke, Jenny Stolzenberg, Franz Anatol Wyss and others.

A fund has been established for the acquisition, restoration, conservation and reproduction of artworks.

Kontakt

Kunstsammlung
N.N.
Fon +49 (0)3643 430 141
Fax +49 (0)3643 430 100
kunstsammlung(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Mehr zum Thema

Kunstausstellung Buchenwald
Informationen finden Sie hier

Link

Konzert für Buchenwald
Informationen zu dem Kunstwerk von Rebecca Horn, das im ehemaligen Straßenbahndepot in Weimar präsentiert wird, finden Sie hier

Blick in die Kunstsammlung der Gedenkstätte. Foto: Claus Bach. Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Kunstsammlung

Den Grundstock der Kunstsammlung bilden künstlerische Arbeiten, die KZ-Überlebende der Gedenkstätte seit den fünfziger Jahren übergeben haben. Seit den siebziger Jahren findet eine systematische Sammlungstätigkeit statt. Schwerpunkte bilden die Themen Kunst aus Konzentrationslagern, Werke ehemaliger Häftlinge, Arbeiten für Denkmale sowie solche von Gegenwartskünstlern, die sich mit dem Zivilisationsbruch durch den Nationalsozialismus auseinandersetzen.

Insgesamt umfasst die Kunstsammlung derzeit über 1.700 Objekte, darunter etwa 600 Skizzen, Studien und Bildtafeln in verschiedenen Techniken aus der Lagerzeit; 350 nach 1945 geschaffene Zeichnungen, druckgrafische Arbeiten, Gemälde und Skulpturen sowie etwa 400 zeitgenössische Kunstwerke.

Neben den in einem unmittelbaren Zusammenhang mit dem Lagerthema stehenden Arbeiten aus und nach der Zeit des Konzentrationslagers zählt die Kunstsammlung auch Handzeichnungen und graphische Arbeiten, die vorher sowie außerhalb der Lager in Deutschland oder im Exil entstanden, darunter etwa 100 Skizzen des Franzosen Paul Goyard aus dem Ersten Weltkrieg und 100 Zeichnungen Alfred Ahners (Dauerleihgabe der Ahnerstiftung), entstanden in Weimar zwischen 1920 und 1945.

Den Kern der Kunstsammluung bilden Skizzen, Zeichnungen, kleinformatige Tafelbilder in Bleistift, Tusche, Aquarell und Öl auf Papier, Karton, Pappe, Sperrholz, Leinwand und Skulpturen aus Holz aus den KZ Buchenwald, Mittelbau-Dora und anderen Lagern. Die Arbeiten befinden sich aufgrund ihres Entstehungskontextes in der Regel auf minderwertigen Bildträgern und erfordern spezielle konservatorische Betreuung. Beispiele aus diesem Bereich sind zeichnerische Zyklen von Maria Brzęcka-Kosk, José Fosty, Paul Goyard, Karol Konieczny, Henri Pieck und Karl Schulz. Hinzu kommen einzelne Blätter von Dominik Černy, Flemming Hinsch und Herbert Sandberg sowie Skulpturen von Bruno Apitz.

Unter den retrospektiv geschaffenen Arbeiten Überlebender sind Handzeichnungen und Installationen von Józef Szajna, zeichnerische Zyklen von Nachum Bandel, Leonid Carizynskij und Max Lingner; druckgrafische Zyklen von Hermann Bruse, José Fosty, Gaston Gentillon, Hans Grundig und Herbert Sandberg, Skulpturen von Walter Spitzer und Fischel Libermann sowie ein Wandbehang von Anne Aknin. Die Rauminstallation "Reminiszenzen" von Józef Szajna befindet sich als Dauerleihgabe in der Sammlung.

Unter den plastischen und (druck-)grafischen Arbeiten für Denkmale sind Werke von Theo Balden, Fritz Cremer, René Graetz, Hans Kies, Waldemar Grzimek, Johann-Peter Hinz, Will Lammert, Heinz Scharr, Wieland Schmiedel, Siegfried Tschierschky und Erich Wurzer.

Die zeitgenössischen Werke umfassen u. a. Arbeiten von Jürgen Brodwolf, Naomi Tereza Salmon, Esther Shalev-Gerz, Rosemarie Kočzÿ, Klaus Steinke, Jenny Stolzenberg und Franz Anatol Wyss.

Für Kunstankäufe, Restaurierungs-, Konservierungs- und Faksimilierungsarbeiten steht ein Fonds zur Verfügung.