Additional information

Art collection Buchenwald
Additional information can be found here

Literature
The exhibition catalogue and additional publications can be ordered here

Link

Concert for Buchenwald
For more information about the artwork of Rebecca Horn that is presented at the former tram depot in Weimar please click here

image

Photo: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Exhibition building

The former disinfection building of the Buchenwald Concentration Camp.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Art from Concentration Camps

View of the first exhibition room. On the partitions at the centre, works from subcamps are presented (landscapes, flower still lifes, a fairy tale illustration, drawings). Drawings from Buchenwald hang on the walls, to the left examples by the Dutchman Henri Pieck and the Frenchman Paul Goyard.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

The room devoted to Paul Goyard and José Fosty

On the wall at the left are drawings by Goyard, at the right are aquatint etchings by Fosty, in front of them a glass case containing engraving tools, drawings, an etched metal plate and photos; also on view is a printing press once belonging to Fosty.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Józef Szajna

Room installation "Reminiszenzen"

image

Photo: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Anne Aknin

Wall hanging Empreintes (1996).

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Contemporary Approaches

Charcoal drawing by Susanne Theumer and installations by Anke Binnewerg and Susan Donath.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Sculptures and monument designs

View of the glazed disinfection chambers with works by Theo Balden (Kopf eines geschlagenen Juden / Head of a Beaten Jew) and Will Lammert (1957).

Art exhibition "Means of Survival – Testimony – Artwork – Visual Memory"

Artworks have been on display in the former disinfection building of Buchenwald Concentration Camp since as early as 1990. In 1998, the memorial's permanent art exhibition was installed there on approximately 400 square metres of floor space. The thorough refurbishment of the building – a part of the original concentration camp complex – got underway in May 2012. The new exhibition inaugurated there on 11 April 2013 features some 200 objects – paintings, drawings, prints, photographs, sculptures, installations and collages.

The objects on view were created by inmates under the conditions prevailing in the camp, or retrospectively by survivors. They are joined by works of present-day artists exploring various ways of coming to terms with the National Socialist crimes.

The exhibition is divided into the following sections:

  • Art from Concentration Camps
  • After Liberation
  • Reminiscences (Józef Szajna)
  • Contemporary Approaches
  • Art in the Public Realm

In the section “Art from Concentration Camps”, artworks (landscapes, still lifes) executed in external Buchenwald labour detachments are on view. They are spatially juxtaposed with drawings and sketches carried out by inmates in the parent camp on the Ettersberg, arranged by theme: “The Site”, “Everyday Life”, “Portrait”, and “Landscape”.

Drawings by Paul Goyard are on display in a separate room. In these scenes, the artist recorded the unloading of inmate corpses into a mass grave on the south slope of the Ettersberg. In addition to Goyard's works, a series of etchings by José Fosty entitled The Buchenwald Sundays is also presented here.

As was already the case before the recent refurbishment, one of the key works in the show is the room installation entitled Reminiscences by world-renowned Polish stage director Józef Szajna. It is dedicated to the professors of the Cracow art academy who were deported to Auschwitz and murdered there. Shown at the Venice Biennale in 1970, this work is among the most prominent artistic investigations of what has been called the “rupture of civilization” under National Socialism.

A wall hanging by Anne Aknin, who lives in Paris, is on exhibit for the first time, Aknin was deported to the Buchenwald Concentration Camp women's subcamp in Leipzig in early August 1944. A direct reaction to the wars taking place in former Yugoslavia in the 1990s, the work also reflects Aknin's memories of her time in the camps.

Further new additions to the exhibition are a number of contemporary projects, including works by Klaus Steinke (Wortbilder / Word Images), Friedrich Press (Der Rufer von Buchenwald / The Caller of Buchenwald), Susanne Theumer (Besucherin in Buchenwald / Visitor in Buchenwald), Anke Binnewerg (Material Board) and Susan Donath (Falling Waters). What they share is the search for a means of reflecting on the historical locations of former camps.

The glazed wing of the disinfection chambers now serves as a space for presenting sculptures and monument designs: works in stone and bronze for monuments of the 1950s in Bad Salzungen, Ravensbrück and Buchenwald, studies by Erich Wurzer, Will Lammert, Theo Balden and Fritz Cremer, and designs (never realized) of the 1980s for Buchenwald Memorial by Johann-Peter Hinz (Mahnmal für sowjetische Kriegsgefangene / Monument to Soviet Prisoners of War) and Wieland Schmiedel (Wegplatten – Gedanken in Buchenwald / Path Plaques – Thoughts in Buchenwald).

A brochure containing the biographies of the artists represented in the show is available to visitors free of charge. The cellar of the former disinfection building offers space for special exhibitions.

Mehr zum Thema

Kunstsammlung Buchenwald
Informationen finden Sie hier

Literatur
Den Begleitband zur Ausstellung sowie weitere Publikationen bestellen können Sie hier

Link

Konzert für Buchenwald
Informationen zu dem Kunstwerk von Rebecca Horn, das im ehemaligen Straßenbahndepot in Weimar präsentiert wird, finden Sie hier

image

Foto: Naomi Tereza Salmon. SGBuMD

Ausstellungsgebäude

Die ehemalige Desinfektion des KZ Buchenwald.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Kunst aus Konzentrationslagern

Blick in den ersten Ausstellungsraum. Auf den Stellwänden in der Mitte sind Arbeiten aus Außenlagern (Landschaften, Blumenstilleben, eine Märchendarstellung, Zeichnungen) ausgestellt. An den Wänden sind Zeichnungen aus Buchenwald, auf dem Foto links Zeichnungen des Niederländers Henri Pieck und des Franzosen Paul Goyard zu sehen.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Paul Goyard und José Fosty gewidmeter Raum

An der linken Wand Zeichnungen Goyards, an der rechten Wand Aquatinta-Radierungen Fostys, davor eine Vitrine mit Gravierwerkzeug, Zeichnungen, geätzter Metallplatte und Fotos, im Raum eine Druckerpresse aus Fostys Besitz.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Józef Szajna

Rauminstallation "Reminiszenzen".

image

Foto: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Anne Aknin

Wandbehang "Empreintes" (1996).

image

Foto: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Zeitgenössische Versuche

Kohlezeichnung von Susanne Theumer sowie Installationen von Anke Binnewerg und Susan Donath im Ausstellungsabschnitt.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

Skulpturen und Denkmalsentwürfe

Blick in den verglasten Desinfektionskammerntrakt mit Arbeiten von Theo Balden ("Kopf eines geschlagenen Juden") und Will Lammert (1957).

Kunstausstellung "Überlebensmittel – Zeugnis – Kunstwerk – Bildgedächtnis"

Bereits seit 1990 werden in der ehemaligen Desinfektion des Konzentrationslagers Buchenwald Kunstwerke gezeigt. 1998 wurde dort auf ca. 400 qm die ständige Kunstausstellung der Gedenkstätte eingerichtet. Von Mai 2012 an erfolgte die umfassende Sanierung des noch im Konzentrationslager Buchenwald errichteten Gebäudes. Die dort am 11. April 2013 wieder eröffnete Ausstellung zeigt nun etwa 200 Exponate – Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Grafiken, Fotografiken, Plastiken, Installationen und Collagen.

Ausgestellt sind Arbeiten, die unter den Bedingungen der Lager von Häftlingen oder retrospektiv von Überlebenden geschaffen wurden. Hinzu kommen Werke von Gegenwartskünstlern, die Möglichkeiten der Auseinandersetzung mit den nationalsozialistischen Verbrechen ausloten.

Die Ausstellung gliedert sich wie folgt:

  • Kunst aus Konzentrationslagern
  • Nach der Befreiung
  • Reminiszenzen (Józef Szajna)
  • Zeitgenössische Versuche
  • Kunst im öffentlichen Raum

Im Abschnitt "Kunst aus Konzentrationslagern" werden in Außenkommandos von Buchenwald entstandene Arbeiten (Landschaften, Stilleben) gezeigt. Ihnen räumlich gegenübergestellt sind von Gefangenen im Stammlager auf dem Ettersberg geschaffene Zeichnungen und Skizzen, die thematisch angeordnet sind: "Der Ort", "Alltag", "Porträt", "Landschaft".

In einem separaten Raum sind Zeichnungen Paul Goyards ausgestellt. Darauf hat er festgehalten, wie die Leichname von Häftlingen am Südhang des Etterberges in ein Massengrab abgeladen werden. Neben den Arbeiten Goyards wird der von José Fosty geschaffene Radierzyklus "Die Sonntage von Buchenwald" präsentiert.

Ein Schlüsselwerk der Ausstellung bleibt die Rauminstallation "Reminiszenzen" des weltbekannten polnischen Theaterregisseurs Józef Szajna. Sie ist dem Andenken der nach Auschwitz verschleppten und dort ermordeten Professoren der Krakauer Kunstakademie gewidmet. Die 1970 auf der Biennale in Venedig gezeigte Arbeit gehört zu den bedeutendsten künstlerischen Auseinandersetzungen mit dem nationalsozialistischen Zivilisationsbruch.

Erstmals ausgestellt wird ein Wandbehang der in Paris lebenden Anne Aknin. Sie war Anfang August 1944 in das Frauenaußenlager Leipzig des KZ Buchenwald deportiert worden. Entstanden als unmittelbare Reaktion auf die Kriege im ehemaligen Jugoslawien in den neunziger Jahren spiegelt sich in der Arbeit auch Aknins Erinnerungen an ihre Zeit in den Lagern.

Neu hinzugekommen sind auch einige zeitgenössische Versuche, darunter Arbeiten von Klaus Steinke ("Wortbilder"), Friedrich Press ("Der Rufer von Buchenwald") Susanne Theumer ("Besucherin in Buchenwald"), Anke Binnewerg ("Material Board") und Susan Donath ("Falling Waters"). Sie thematisieren einen reflektierten Umgang mit den historischen Orten ehemaliger Lager.

Der verglaste Trakt der Desinfektionskammern dient nunmehr zur Aufstellung von Skulpturen und Denkmalsentwürfen: Arbeiten in Stein und Bronze für Denkmale in Bad Salzungen, Ravensbrück und Buchenwald aus den fünfziger Jahren, Studien von Erich Wurzer, Will Lammert, Theo Balden und Fritz Cremer sowie (nicht realisierte) Entwürfe für die Gedenkstätte Buchenwald aus den achtziger Jahren von Johann-Peter Hinz ("Mahnmal für sowjetische Kriegsgefangene") und Wieland Schmiedel ("Wegplatten - Gedanken in Buchenwald").

Besuchern der Ausstellung steht eine kostenlose Broschüre mit den Biografien der präsentierten Künstler zur Verfügung. Im Keller des ehemaligen Desinfektionsgebäudes befinden sich Räumlichkeiten für Sonderausstellungen.