Contact

Visitor information
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 200
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 102
information(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Additional information

Group registration
The registration form is available here.

Download

Schedule of fees
PDF (50 KB)

Visitor guidelines
PDF (33 KB)

image

Photo: Claus Bach

Presentation with model

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

At the grave of ashes

image

Photo: Claus Bach

Audio guide

Guided tours

Overview tours (approx. 1 1/2 hours; recommended for the first visit)

This tour commences at the visitor registration desk, and proceeds past Caracho Path, the camp gate, and the former roll call square. Following a brief lecture on the history of the camp, which is depicted by way of a scale-model of the camp, the tour concludes with a viewing of the camp's crematorium. We recommend that high school students view the introductory film on the memorial and participate in a guided tour of the permanent exhibition focussed on the history of the concentration camp prior to touring the memorial grounds. Our programming for groups is primarily directed at high school students (grades 9 and up), youth groups and young adults who have prepared for the visit either during classroom instruction, or as part of a political education programme. The minimum age for participation is 15; group size should range between 15 and 30 persons. Tours in languages other than German are offered on a limited basis. We recommend that groups allow at least three hours for an overview tour followed by a visit to the museum.

Detailed tours of the grounds (approx. 2 1/2 hours)

Detailed tours focus either on topics of particular interest within the history of the concentration camp (for example, the Buchenwald Railway Memorial Path, forced labour, perpetrators, etc.) or topics related to the memorial as such, including issues related to memory and commemoration.

Multimedia tours

Optional multimedia guides (for iPod nano and iPod touch) are available for use during independent tours of the memorial. While both versions include additional information regarding the history of the site, the version designed for use with the iPod touch also includes a display featuring corresponding historical images. The iPod tour is available in German, English, French, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, Russian, and Dutch. The iPod touch (with image display) is available in German, English, French, Italian, Spanish, and Dutch. These multimedia devices can be obtained at the visitor information centre.

Commemorative Buchenwald Railway Path

On 15 July 2007, the Commemorative Buchenwald Railway Path was inaugurated within the framework of the memorial service held on the occasion of the seventieth anniversary of the camp's establishment.

The commemorative path begins on “Blood Road” approximately 100 metres past the obelisk, and ends at Buchenwald Station. It was laid out on the initiative of the “Projekt Spurensuche” carried out by the “Gerberstrasse 1” association and with support from the City of Weimar, Buchenwald Memorial and the Förderverein Buchenwald e.V. association.In the spring of 1943, the SS forced concentration camp inmates to build the ten-kilometre stretch of track between Weimar-Schöndorf and Buchenwald within a mere three months. The line initially served the supply needs of the armament factory.

Beginning in 1944, inmates – about one hundred thousand in all – were also transported on these tracks, many of them in open freight cars. Boys and men were brought to Buchenwald Concentration Camp from all over Europe and transferred from here to one of the subcamps for forced labour. Buchenwald Station was also the point of departure for extermination transports taking children and sick inmates to Auschwitz, where they were murdered. When the SS evacuated the camps in the East in January and February 1945, mass transports were sent to Buchenwald. Many of the inmates were already dead upon arrival or died shortly thereafter.

Time Lane

Johann Wolfgang v. Goethe staged Iphigenia in Tauris at Ettersburg Castle – a former summer residence of the dukes of Weimar –, and Friedrich Schiller completed his drama Mary Stuart here. In 1937, the concentration camp architects used an old ducal hunting lane as an orientation for the camp fence. The “Time Lane” is physical testimony to this direct adjacency, and connects Ettersburg Castle – a symbol of Weimar Classicism – with Buchenwald. It thus inspires reflection on the proximity of culture and barbarity.

image

Foto: Claus Bach

Modellvortrag

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Am Aschegrab

image

Foto: Claus Bach

Audioguide

Überblicksführung (ca. 2 Stunden - beim Erstbesuch empfohlen)

Diese Führung (2 Stunden, davon 90 Minuten Rundgang und 30 Minuten Laufwege), beginnend im Bereich der Besucheranmeldung, wird über den Carachoweg und das Lagertor zum ehemaligen Appellplatz fortgesetzt, schließt einen Vortrag zur Lagergeschichte an einem Modell ein, und endet nach der betreuten Besichtigung des Krematoriums. Für Schulklassen empfehlen wir vorher den Einführungsfilm der Gedenkstätte und anschließend eine angeleitete Vertiefung in der Dauerausstellung zur Geschichte des Konzentrationslagers. Unsere Betreuungsangebote richten sich vorrangig an Schulklassen (ab Klasse 9), Jugendgruppen und junge Erwachsene, die im Rahmen der Schule und der politischen Bildung ihren Gedenkstättenbesuch vorbereitet haben. Das Mindestalter beträgt 15 Jahre, die Gruppe kann aus 15 bis maximal 30 Personen bestehen. Führungen in Fremdsprachen können begrenzt vermittelt werden. Für den Aufenthalt inklusive Führung und Museumsbesuch sind mindestens 3 Stunden einzuplanen.

Ausführliche Geländeführung (ca. 3 Stunden)

Ausführliche Geländeführungen (3 Stunden, davon 120 Minuten Rundgang und 30 Minuten Laufwege) können zu verschiedenen Themenschwerpunkten der KZ-Geschichte (z.B. Gedenkweg Buchenwaldbahn, Zwangsarbeit, Täterbereich u.a.m.) sowie zum Mahnmal und zum Umgang mit der Erinnerung vereinbart werden.

Multimediaführung

Für einen individuellen Rundgang durch die Gedenkstätte haben Sie die Möglichkeit, mittels eines iPod, wahlweise auch mit Einblendung von historischen Aufnahmen, zusätzliche Informationen zur Geschichte des Ortes zu erhalten. Der iPod ist in folgenden Sprachen erhältlich: deutsch, englisch, französisch, italienisch, spanisch, japanisch, russisch, niederländisch. Der iPod touch (mit Bildeinblendungen) ist erhältlich in: deutsch, englisch, französisch, italienisch, spanisch, niederländisch. Die Geräte sind in der Besucherinformation erhältlich.

Gedenkweg Buchenwaldbahn

Am 15. Juli 2007 wurde im Rahmen der Erinnerungsveranstaltung aus Anlass des 70. Jahrestages der Lagererrichtung der Gedenkweg Buchenwald-Bahn eingeweiht.

Der Gedenkweg beginnt an der "Blutstraße", etwa 100 Meter nach dem Obelisk, und endet am Bahnhof Buchenwald. Er wurde auf Anregung des Projekts Spurensuche der Gerberstraße 1 e.V. und mit Unterstützung der Stadt Weimar, der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald und des Fördervereins Buchenwald e.V. angelegt.

Im Frühjahr 1943 mussten KZ-Häftlinge für die SS innerhalb von nur drei Monaten die zehn Kilometer lange Bahnlinie zwischen Weimar-Schöndorf und Buchenwald bauen. Sie diente zunächst der Versorgung des Rüstungswerks. Seit Anfang 1944 wurden etwa hunderttausend Häftlinge in zum Teil offenen Güterwaggons auf diesen Gleisen transportiert. Aus ganz Europa wurden Jungen und Männer ins KZ Buchenwald und von dort aus zur Zwangsarbeit in eines der Außenlager gebracht. Am Bahnhof Buchenwald starteten auch Transporte mit Kindern und kranken Häftlingen in das Vernichtungslager Auschwitz, wo sie ermordet wurden. Als die SS im Januar und Februar 1945 die Lager im Osten räumte, kamen Massentransporte im KZ Buchenwald an. Viele der Häftlinge waren bei der Ankunft bereits tot oder starben kurz darauf.

Zeitschneise

Beim Schloss Ettersburg, einer ehemaligen Sommerresidenz der Weimarer Herzöge, führte Johann Wolfgang v. Goethe "Iphigenie auf Tauris" auf, Friedrich Schiller vollendete hier sein Drama "Maria Stuart". Eine alte herzögliche Jagdschneise des Schlosses wurde 1937 von den Architekten des Konzentrationslagers für den Verlauf des Lagerzauns genutzt. Die "Zeitschneise" greift diese konkrete Nachbarschaft auf und verbindet das Schloss Ettersburg als Sinnbild der Weimarer Klassik mit Buchenwald. Sie regt an, die Nähe von Kultur und Barbarei zu reflektieren.