Felicja Karay

1927 (Kraków) - 2014 (Israel)

Teacher

"Here I’m incognito, because that’s not important to me. Those aren’t memories, they’re research work."



Felicja Karay was born as Fela Schächter in Kraków on 26 January 1927. After the German invasion ‒ now a schoolgirl ‒ she fled through Eastern Poland without finding shelter, so she returned to Kraków and smuggled herself into the ghetto in November 1942.

In March 1943, Schächter was deported to Płaszów Concentration Camp, then to Skarżysko-Kamienna Jewish labour camp, Factory C, and in July 1944 from there to the Hugo Schneider AG (HASAG), a Buchenwald subcamp. The camp was liberated by Red Army soldiers in April 1945.

After her return to Kraków and Łódź, Schächter became involved in organizing cultural events in the left-wing Hashamar Hazair Zionist movement and prepared for her emigration to Palestine. She earned her higher school certificate and took lessons in dramaturgy and voice. In 1950 she emigrated to Israel. Following her studies at Tel Aviv University she became a grammar school history teacher at Rishon Leziyon kibbutz, married and had two children.

In the early 1980s, Felicja Karay began carrying out archive research on the history of the Skarżysko-Kamienna Jewish labour camp during school holidays. In 1987 she gained her doctorate with this study, which in 1996 was published in English as Death Comes in Yellow: Skarzysko-Kamienna Slave Labor Camp. At the Diaspora Research Institute in Tel Aviv, Karay researches culture and the special situation of women in labour and concentration camps and gives seminars in Yad Vashem and for the Israeli ministry of education. Felicja Karay lived in Rishon Leziyon kibbutz.

Felicja Karay

1927 (Krakau) - 2014 (Israel)

Lehrerin

"Hier bin ich incognito, weil das ist für mich nicht wichtig. Das sind keine Erinnerungen, das ist Forschungsarbeit."



Felicja Karay wird als Fela Schächter am 26. Januar 1927 in Krakau geboren, nach dem Überfall der Deutschen flieht die Schülerin durch Ostpolen, ohne Unterschlupf zu finden, so daß sie sich im November 1942 wieder ins Krakauer Ghetto zurückschmuggelt.

Im März 1943 wird Fela Schächter ins Lager Plaszów deportiert, dann ins jüdische Arbeitslager Skarzysko-Kamienna, Werk C, und im Juli 1944 zur Hugo Schneider AG (HASAG) Leipzig, ein Außenlager von Buchenwald. Im April 1945 befreien Soldaten der Roten Armee das Lager.

Nach der Rückkehr nach Krakau und Lodz engagiert sich Fela Schächter mit Kulturveranstaltungen in der links-zionistischen Bewegung "Hashamar Hazair" und bereitet ihre Ausreise nach Palästina vor; sie beendet die Matura und nimmt Dramaturgie- und Gesangsunterricht. 1950 emigriert sie nach Israel. Nach dem Studium an der Tel Aviv Universität wird sie als Gymnasiallehrerin für Geschichte im Kibbutz Rishon Leziyon eingesetzt, sie heiratet und gründet eine Familie mit zwei Kindern.

Anfang der achtziger Jahre beginnt Felicja Karay in den Schulferien mit Archivrecherchen zur Geschichte des jüdischen Arbeitslagers Skarzysko-Kamienna und reicht ihre Arbeit 1987 mit Erfolg zur Promotion ein, 1996 erscheint ihre Studie auch in englisch: "Death comes in yellow. Skarzysko-Kamienna Slave Labor Camp". Felicja Karay forscht am Diaspora Research Institute der Tel Aviv Universität zur Kultur und zur besonderen Situation der Frauen in den Arbeits- und Konzentrationslagern und gibt Seminare in Yad Vashem und für das israelische Bildungsministerium. Felicja Karay lebte im Kibbutz Rishon Leziyon.