Leopold Flam

1912 (Antwerp) - 1995 (Vilvoorde, Belgium)

Professor for Philosophy

"I will have to throw a whole host of ideas overboard, ideas that had become familiar to me, dear to me. Everything will have to be examined anew."



Leopold Flam was born in Antwerp on 16 March 1912, the son of Eastern European Jewish immigrants. He grew up with his aunt and apprenticed to be a baker, but failed. Starting in the mid 1930s, the linguistically talented Flam studied history, politics and physics at the State University of Ghent. In 1934, he became a member of the Communist Party of Belgium and later got involved with the Socialists led by Camille Huysmans. He began keeping a diary early on.

Flam was arrested on 15 March 1944, taken to Buchenwald Concentration Camp on 7 May as a "political Belgian" and, two weeks later, transferred to the Hadmersleben subcamp. On 10 April, Red Army units freed him from an evacuation march.

From 1945 to 1955, Flam taught history at the Royal Athenaeum in Brussels. At the same time, he engaged in philosophical studies, in part about the morals of the Enlightenment. In 1952, he received his doctorate in history. In a quick succession of publications in the 1950s, he wrote about the philosophers Plato, Descartes, Kant and Nietzsche. As supervisor of the subject of history beginning in 1957, he had a decisive influence in educational policy-making in Belgium. In his studies, he continued to address the isolation of the human being, searching for a synthesis of Nietzsche’s philosophy, Marxism and Existentialism. Having become professor of philosophy in 1960, he founded several journals as well as a centre for research on the Enlightenment, which focussed on neglected philosophical and intellectual traditions, including different movements of free-thinkers and little-known heretics. Besides philosophical books and hundreds of articles, he also wrote belles-lettres and philosophical diaries.

Leopold Flam died in Vilvoorde near Brussels on 29 September 1995.

Leopold Flam

1912 (Antwerpen) - 1995 (Vilvoorde, Belgien)

Professor der Philosophie

"Ich muß eine ganze Reihe von Ideen über Bord werfen, Ideen, die mir vertraut waren und die ich liebte. Alles muß einer neuen Untersuchung unterzogen werden."



Leopold Flam wird am 16. März 1912 als Sohn osteuropäischer jüdischer Emigranten in Antwerpen geboren. Er wächst bei einer Tante auf, seine Lehre als Bäcker scheitert, ab Mitte der dreißiger Jahre studiert der sprachbegabte Leopold Flam Geschichte, Politik und Physik an der Reichsuniversität von Gent. 1934 wird er Mitglied der Kommunistischen Partei Belgiens, später engagiert er sich bei den Sozialisten um Camille Huysmans. Bereits in frühen Jahren beginnt er Tagebuch zu schreiben.

Am 15. März 1944 wird Leopold Flam verhaftet und am 7. Mai als "politischer Belgier" ins KZ Buchenwald eingeliefert, von dort wird er zwei Wochen später ins Außenlager Hadmersleben überstellt. Am 10. April befreien ihn Einheiten der Roten Armee von einem Evakuierungsmarsch.

Von 1945-1955 arbeitet Leopold Flam als Geschichtslehrer am Königlichen Athenäum in Brüssel. Gleichzeitig treibt er philosophische Studien, u.a. zur Moral der Aufklärung. 1952 promoviert er in Geschichte. In dichter Folge entstehen in den fünfziger Jahren Bücher über die Philosophien von Platon, Descartes, Kant und Nietzsche. Als Inspekteur für das Lehrfach Geschichte gewinnt er ab 1957 maßgeblichen Einfluß auf die Bildungspolitik Belgiens. Seine Studien setzen sich immer wieder mit der Vereinzelung des Menschen auseinander und suchen eine Synthese zwischen der Philosophie Nietzsches, dem Marxismus und dem Existentialismus. 1960 zum Professor für Philosophie ernannt, gründet er mehrere Zeitschriften sowie ein Zentrum für die Erforschung der Aufklärung, das bis heute lange Zeit vernachlässigte Philosophie- und Denktraditionen untersucht, darunter verschiedene Freidenker- und wenig bekannte Ketzerbewegungen. Er schreibt neben philosophischen Büchern und hunderten von Artikeln auch belletristische Werke und philosophische Tagebücher.

Leopold Flam stirbt am 29. September 1995 in Vilvoorde bei Brüssel.