Bruno Apitz

1900 (Leipzig) - 1979 (Berlin)

Writer

"Every author has his subject. Mine is anti-fascism, and giving it literary expression is something I view as one of the current, important tasks of our socialist literature."



Bruno Apitz was born in Leipzig on 28 April 1900, the twelfth child in a working-class family. He trained as a punchcutter and worked at various jobs. Beginning in 1914, he was involved in the Social Democratic Workers’ Youth Organization. In August 1917, he was arrested at an anti-war demonstration and given a nineteen month sentence. In 1918, pardoned and released, he participated in the November Revolution. He was a member of the Young Communist League of Germany and in 1927 he joined the Communist Party of Germany (KPD). Apitz began writing poems, short stories and plays in 1917; in 1926 he took private acting lessons. Beginning in 1927, he was a playwright and director in the agitprop department of the KPD Leipzig, and from 1930 to 1933 he was chairman of the Association of Proletarian Revolutionary Authors in Leipzig.

Following imprisonment in Colditz and Sachsenburg Concentration Camps from May to July 1933, Apitz resumed work for the KPD. In October 1934, he was arrested again. Beginning in May 1935 he was in the Waldheim prison, and in 1937 he was transferred to Buchenwald Concentration Camp as a "political inmate". Apitz worked in sculpture, later in pathology. He wrote satirical texts and poems for the inmates’ cultural evenings; in 1944 he carved The Last Face in a piece of the so-called Goethe Oak.

Apitz co-authored Das war Buchenwald ("That was Buchenwald"), published in the summer of 1945. In 1946 he joined the SED (the state party of East Germany) and worked as an editor, dramaturge and functionary. He produced contemporary scenarios for film, radio and demonstrations. Beginning in 1954, he lived in Berlin as a freelance author. In 1958, his novel Naked among Wolves was published and later translated into more than thirty languages. It was turned into a film, directed by Frank Beyer, in 1963. In 1959, his novel Esther, written in the camp in 1944, was published. In 1961, Apitz became an official member of East Germany’s Academy of the Arts, and in 1965, he received the East German Patriotic Order of Merit, gold. After great efforts to deal with new subject matter, Der Regenbogen ("The Rainbow") was published in 1976, a family novel set in the working class milieu before the November Revolution 1918.

Bruno Apitz died in Berlin on 7 April 1979.

Bruno Apitz

1900 (Leipzig) - 1979 (Berlin)

Schriftsteller

"Jeder Schriftsteller hat sein Thema. Das meine ist der Antifaschismus, und ich betrachte seine literarische Gestaltung als eine der wichtigen und aktuellen Aufgaben unserer sozialistischen Literatur."



Bruno Apitz wird am 28. April 1900 als zwölftes Kind einer Arbeiterfamilie in Leipzig geboren. Lehre als Stempelschneider, Gelegenheitsarbeiten. Seit 1914 engagiert er sich in der sozialdemokratischen Arbeiterjugend, wird im August 1917 bei einer Anti-Kriegs-Demonstration verhaftet und zu 19 Monaten Haft verurteilt. 1918 begnadigt und entlassen, nimmt er an der Novemberrevolution teil. Er wird Mitglied im Kommunistischen Jugendverband, 1927 tritt er der KPD bei. 1917 beginnt Bruno Apitz Gedichte, Kurzgeschichten und Theaterstücke zu schreiben, 1926 nimmt er privaten Schauspielunterricht, seit 1927 ist er Szenarist und Spielleiter in der Agitprop-Abteilung der KPD Leipzig, von 1930-1933 Vorsitzender des Bundes proletarisch-revolutionärer Schriftsteller Deutschlands in Leipzig.

Nach der Inhaftierung in den KZ Colditz und Sachsenburg von Mai bis Juli 1933, ist Bruno Apitz wieder für die KPD tätig und wird im Oktober 1934 erneut verhaftet. Seit Mai 1935 im Zuchthaus Waldheim, im November 1937 kommt er als "Politischer" nach Buchenwald. Arbeit in der Bildhauerei, später in der Pathologie. Apitz schreibt satirische Texte und Gedichte für das Häftlingsvarieté; 1944 schnitzt er aus einem Stück der sogenannten Goetheeiche "Das letzte Gesicht".

Im Sommer 1945 veröffentlicht Bruno Apitz mit anderen die Schrift "Das war Buchenwald!", 1946 tritt er der SED bei, arbeitet als Redakteur, Dramaturg und Funktionär. Es entstehen gegenwartsbezogene Szenarien für Film, Hörfunk und Manifestationen. Seit 1954 lebt er als freier Schriftsteller in Berlin. 1958 erscheint sein Roman "Nackt unter Wölfen", der in mehr als 30 Sprachen übersetzt und 1963 verfilmt wird (Regie: Frank Beyer). 1959 erscheint die Novelle "Esther", 1944 im Lager geschrieben. 1961 wird Bruno Apitz Ordentliches Mitglied der Akademie der Künste der DDR, 1965 erhält er den Vaterländischen Verdienstorden der DDR in Gold. Nach langem Bemühen um neue Themen entsteht 1976 "Der Regenbogen", ein Familienroman im Arbeitermilieu des Deutschen Reiches bis zur Novemberrevolution 1918. Am 7. April 1979 stirbt Bruno Apitz in Berlin.

"Nackt unter Wölfen" wurde 2015 unter der Regie von Philipp Kadelbach erneut verfilmt.