Additional information

Commemorative Buchenwald Railway Path
The website can be found here

Chronicle of Buchenwald Concentration Camp
An overview of the history of the concentration camp can be found here

Link

Timetable, bus no. 6
here

image

Track construction

Inmates at work on the construction of the Buchenwald line, spring of 1943

image

Photo: Claus Bach

Commemorative Path

along the former railway embankment.

image

General map

Buchenwald Railway and Commemorative Path

image

Photo: Claus Bach

At the former railway station

of Buchenwald Concentration Camp.

Commemorative Buchenwald Railway Path

In the spring of 1943, the SS forced concentration camp inmates to build the ten-kilometre stretch of track between Weimar-Schöndorf and Buchenwald within a mere three months. The line initially served the supply needs of the armament factory. Beginning in 1944, inmates – about one hundred thousand in all – were also transported on these tracks, many of them in open freight cars. Boys and men were brought to Buchenwald Concentration Camp from all over Europe and transferred from here to one of the subcamps for forced labour.

Buchenwald Station was also the point of departure for extermination transports taking children and sick inmates to Auschwitz, where they were murdered. When the SS evacuated the camps in the East in January and February 1945, mass transports were sent to Buchenwald. Many of the inmates were already dead upon arrival or died shortly thereafter.

Since 2007, the Commemorative Buchenwald Railway Path has made a section of the old railroad line accessible once again. It was laid out on the initiative of the “Projekt Spurensuche” carried out by the Gerberstrasse 1 Association and with support from the City of Weimar, the Buchenwald Memorial and the Förderverein Buchenwald e.V. association. The commemorative path begins on “Blood Road” some 100 metres uphill from the obelisk (branch of the Ettersburger Strasse) and ends at Buchenwald station. A shorter section can be chosen at the request stop "Gedenkweg" (bus 6).

Mehr zum Thema

Gedenkweg Buchenwaldbahn
Die Website finden Sie hier

Chronik des KZ Buchenwald
Einen Überblick über die Geschichte des Konzentrationslagers erhalten Sie hier

Link

Fahrplan Buslinie 6
hier

image

Streckenbau

Häftlinge beim Bau der Buchenwald-Bahn, Frühjahr 1943.

image

Foto: Claus Bach

Gedenkweg

entlang der ehemaligen Bahntrasse.

image

Übersichtskarte

Buchenwaldbahn und Gedenkweg

image

Foto: Claus Bach

Am ehemaligen Bahnhof

des KZ Buchenwald.

"Gedenkweg Buchenwaldbahn"

Im Frühjahr 1943 mussten KZ-Häftlinge für die SS innerhalb von nur drei Monaten die zehn Kilometer lange Bahnlinie zwischen Weimar-Schöndorf und Buchenwald bauen. Sie diente zunächst der Versorgung des Rüstungswerks. Seit Anfang 1944 wurden etwa hunderttausend Häftlinge in zum Teil offenen Güterwaggons auf diesen Gleisen transportiert. Aus ganz Europa wurden Jungen und Männer ins KZ Buchenwald und von dort aus zur Zwangsarbeit in eines der Außenlager gebracht.

Am Bahnhof Buchenwald starteten auch Vernichtungstransporte mit Kindern und kranken Häftlingen nach Auschwitz, wo sie ermordet wurden. Als die SS im Januar und Februar 1945 die Lager im Osten räumte, gingen Massentransporte nach Buchenwald. Viele der Häftlinge waren bei der Ankunft bereits tot oder starben kurz darauf.

Der "Gedenkweg Buchenwaldbahn" macht seit 2007 einen Teil der alten Bahntrasse wieder sichtbar. Er wurde auf Anregung des "Projekts Spurensuche" der Gerberstraße 1 e.V. und mit Unterstützung der Stadt Weimar, der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald und des Fördervereins Buchenwald e.V. angelegt. Der Gedenkweg beginnt an der "Blutstraße" etwa 100 Meter nach dem Obelisken (Abzweigung der Ettersburger Straße) und endet am Bahnhof Buchenwald. Ein kürzerer Abschnitt kann an der Bedarfshaltestelle "Gedenkweg" (Buslinie 6) gewählt werden.