Chapter 4: The last months

Autumn, 1944 – Allied troops are advancing on the German Reich from the west and the east alike. The Wehrmacht is on the retreat. Although the war has long been lost, the regime continues the fighting by all available means. German sentiment is characterized by a mixture of fanaticism, war-weariness, illusions about the “final victory” and fear of retaliation by the Allies. There is no wide-scale protest.

The SS clear the camps and detention sites near the front. The inmates are transported to the concentration camps in the Reich interior. In the east, the SS cover up traces of the extermination system and murder inmates too weak for transport or leave them behind to die. Many do not survive the transports; others arrive in the overcrowded camps weakened to the brink of death. In order to keep forced labour in operation, the SS set up zones for dying inmates who can no longer be deported elsewhere. The death toll multiplies.

As the Allies advance on the concentration camps in the Reich interior, the SS clear these camps as well. During the marches, they murder the exhausted inmates, in part before the eyes of the German population or even with their aid. It takes the Allied soldiers to put a stop to the crimes.

24 August 1944

On 24 August 1944, American bombers attack the armament factory and SS area of the Buchenwald concentration camp. The Americans correctly suspect the existence of facilities for the manufacture of control parts for the A4 rocket here – one of the “wonder weapons” with which the Nazi regime hopes to achieve the “final victory”.

The bombardment lasts only thirty minutes. Nevertheless, it is a visible sign of the decisive turning point that ushers in the final phase of the camp. The SS lose more than 100 men; for the first time they are no longer in control of the situation. Not only production facilities but also Gestapo buildings are destroyed in Buchenwald. Nearly 400 inmates die and more than 2,000 are injured because they are not permitted to leave the factory during the attack.

The clearance transports

Inmates and Jewish forced labourers from the dissolved camps are to be sent to the concentration camps in the Reich interior. However, not only are there no means of transport, but the remaining camps are already filled beyond capacity. After miserable marches on foot or odysseys in open freight waggons frequently lasting for days, the inmates reach the Buchenwald concentration camp enfeebled and often completely exhausted. Three months before the end of the war, as a result of the overly hasty clearance of the Auschwitz extermination camp and the Gross-Rosen concentration camp, Buchenwald becomes the largest concentration camp in the German Reich.

Mass death in the Little Camp

The SS isolate the survivors of the clearance transports in the Little Camp, which is situated downhill from the main camp. Established as a quarantine zone at the end of 1942, it lacks everything. In the last three months before liberation, more than 6,000 die in the Little Camp. The SS not only take the mass death in stride but regularly kill sick and weak persons. In the midst of these horrors, political and Jewish inmates create a protected space for adolescents and children in Block 66. More than 900 young people are thus rescued.

Death marches

American troops reach Central Germany in March 1945. The SS drive the inmates of Buchenwald’s subcamps back to the parent camp. From 7 April onward, evacuation marches also leave the Buchenwald concentration camp. Thousands die en route due to enfeeblement; the accompanying guard units shoot those who can no longer keep pace.

In the final weeks of the war, long processions of inmates make their way along roads and through towns and villages. The German population bears witness to these death marches. Hardly anyone offers help. Members of the Volkssturm and Hitler Youth often participate in the pursuit and murder of inmates who try to escape.

April 1945 – the final days before liberation

The last ten days in the Buchenwald concentration camp are extremely tense. On the one hand the SS accelerate the evacuation process, inciting all the more fear in the inmates. On the other hand, inmate functionaries and the International camp Committee delay the organization of the marches, thus contributing to the inmates’ rescue. They also try to establish contact to the Americans. Nobody knows what will happen on the day of the liberation; the inmates are afraid there will be a massacre. They are not strong enough to liberate themselves on their own.

The last evacuation march leaves Buchenwald on the night of 10 April. At 2:30 pm the following day, American tanks reach the SS area and the SS flee. Fifteen minutes later, armed members of the inmate resistance force begin capturing and disarming the remaining SS men. Buchenwald is free.

The International Camp Committee

In July 1943, German Communists organize the first meeting with like-minded inmates from other countries. After that, regular meetings take place. The camp committee is made up of Communists from Germany, Belgium, France, Italy, Yugoslavia, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, the Soviet Union, and Czechoslovakia. The founding of the committee ensures the primacy of the German Communists even though Germans make up only a tiny minority in the camp.

The committee prevents open conflicts between the different national groups and protects members of Communist parties as well as other resistance fighters. It coordinates help and gets foreign political inmates assigned to functionary positions. Members of the camp committee obtain information about the course of the war and form groups especially for the purpose of defence against the massacre they fear the SS will carry out before liberation. To this end, they succeed in concealing several dozen weapons and material for dressing wounds.

Fundstücke und Dokumente zum Massensterben im "Kleinen Lager". Foto: Peter Hansen, Sammlung Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Kapitel 4: Die letzten Monate

Herbst 1944 – die alliierten Truppen rücken von Westen und Osten auf das Deutsche Reich vor. Die Wehrmacht ist auf dem Rückzug. Obwohl der Krieg längst verloren ist, setzt das Regime ihn mit allen Mitteln fort. In der Bevölkerung mischen sich Fanatismus, Kriegsmüdigkeit, Illusionen über den „Endsieg“ und Angst vor Vergeltung durch die Alliierten. Ein breites Aufbegehren gibt es nicht.

Die SS räumt die Lager und Haftstätten in Frontnähe. Die Häftlinge werden in die Konzentrationslager im Reichsinneren transportiert. Im Osten vertuscht die SS die Spuren der Vernichtung, ermordet für den Transport zu schwache Häftlinge oder lässt sie sterbend zurück. Viele überleben die Transporte nicht oder kommen zu Tode geschwächt in den überfüllten Lagern an. Um die Zwangsarbeit aufrecht zu erhalten, richtet die SS Zonen für die Sterbenden ein, die nirgendwohin mehr abgeschoben werden können. Die Zahl der Toten steigt um ein Vielfaches.

Als sich die Alliierten den Konzentrationslagern im Reichsinneren nähern, räumt die SS auch diese. Während der Märsche ermordet sie erschöpfte Häftlinge – teils unter den Augen und mit Beteiligung der Bevölkerung. Erst die Soldaten der Alliierten stoppen die Verbrechen.

Der 24. August 1944

Am 24. August 1944 greifen amerikanische Bomber das Rüstungswerk und den SS-Bereich des KZ Buchenwald an. Zu Recht vermuten die Amerikaner hier Produktionsstätten für Steuerungsteile der A4-Rakete – eine der „Wunderwaffen“, mit denen das NS-Regime den „Endsieg“ zu erzwingen hofft.

Die Bombardierung dauert nur 30 Minuten. Aber sie ist ein sichtbares Indiz für den tiefen Einschnitt, der die Endphase des Lagers einleitet. Die SS verliert über 100 Männer, erstmals ist sie nicht mehr Herr der Lage. In Buchenwald werden nicht nur Produktionsanlagen zerstört, sondern auch das Gebäude der Gestapo. Weil sie das Werk beim Angriff nicht verlassen dürfen, sterben fast 400 Häftlinge, über 2.000 werden verletzt.

Die Räumungstransporte

Häftlinge und jüdische Zwangsarbeiter der aufgelösten Lager sollen in die KZ im Reichsinneren gebracht werden. Dafür fehlen jedoch nicht nur die Transportmittel, die verbliebenen Lager sind auch bereits überfüllt. Nach oft tagelangen Elendsmärschen oder Irrfahrten in offenen Güterwaggons erreichen die Menschen entkräftet und häufig zu Tode erschöpft das KZ Buchenwald. Infolge der überstürzten Räumung des Vernichtungslagers Auschwitz und des Konzentrationslagers Groß-Rosen wird Buchenwald drei Monate vor Kriegsende zum größten Konzentrationslager innerhalb des Deutschen Reiches.

Massensterben im Kleinen Lager

Die SS isoliert die Überlebenden der Räumungstransporte im Kleinen Lager. Es liegt unterhalb des Hauptlagers. Ende 1942 als Quarantänezone errichtet, fehlt es dort an allem. In den letzten drei Monaten vor der Befreiung kommen im Kleinen Lager über 6.000 Menschen um. Die SS nimmt das Massensterben nicht nur in Kauf, sondern tötet regelmäßig Kranke und Schwache. Inmitten des Grauens schaffen politische und jüdische Häftlinge im Block 66 einen geschützten Raum für Jugendliche und Kinder. Mehr als 900 von ihnen werden gerettet.

Todesmärsche

Im März 1945 erreichen amerikanische Truppen Mitteldeutschland. Die SS treibt die Häftlinge der Außenlager Buchenwalds zum Hauptlager zurück. Seit dem 7. April verlassen Evakuierungsmärsche auch das KZ Buchenwald. Tausende sterben unterwegs an Entkräftung, Begleitmannschaften erschießen diejenigen, die nicht mehr mithalten können.

Lange Häftlingskolonnen passieren in den letzten Kriegswochen Straßen, Dörfer und Städte. Die Bevölkerung wird Zeuge. Kaum jemand hilft. Oft beteiligen sich Volkssturmmänner und Hitlerjungen daran, geflohene Häftlinge zu jagen und zu ermorden.

April 1945 – die Tage bis zur Befreiung

Höchste Anspannung kennzeichnet die letzten zehn Tage im KZ Buchenwald. Einerseits beschleunigt die SS die Evakuierung und steigert damit die Angst der Häftlinge. Andererseits verzögern Funktionshäftlinge und das Internationale Lagerkomitee die Zusammenstellung der Marschkolonnen und tragen damit zur Rettung bei; außerdem versuchen sie, Kontakt zu den Amerikanern herzustellen. Offen ist, was am Tag der Befreiung geschehen wird. Häftlinge befürchten ein Massaker, für eine selbstständige Befreiung reichen ihre Kräfte nicht.

In der Nacht zum 11. April geht der letzte Evakuierungsmarsch ab. Um 14:30 Uhr erreichen amerikanische Panzer den SS-Bereich und schlagen die SS in die Flucht. Eine Viertelstunde später beginnen bewaffnete Mitglieder des Häftlingswiderstandes damit, verbliebene SS-Männer zu stellen und zu entwaffnen. Buchenwald ist befreit.

Das Internationale Lagerkomitee

Im Juli 1943 organisieren deutsche Kommunisten erstmals eine heimliche Beratung mit gleichgesinnten Häftlingen aus anderen Ländern. Danach finden regelmäßig Treffen statt. Dem Lagerkomitee gehören Kommunisten aus Deutschland, Belgien, Frankreich, Italien, Jugoslawien, den Niederlanden, Österreich, Polen, der Sowjetunion und der Tschechoslowakei an. Die Gründung des Lagerkomitees sichert die Vorrangstellung der deutschen Kommunisten, obwohl Deutsche im Lager nur noch eine verschwindend kleine Minderheit sind.

Das Komitee verhindert offene Konflikte zwischen den nationalen Gruppen und schützt Mitglieder von kommunistischen Parteien sowie andere Widerstandskämpfer. Es koordiniert Hilfe und bringt ausländische politische Häftlinge auf Funktionsposten. Mitglieder des Lagerkomitees beschaffen Informationen über den Kriegsverlauf und stellen eigens Gruppen auf, um ein befürchtetes Massaker der SS kurz vor der Befreiung abzuwehren. Es gelingt, dafür Verbandszeug und mehrere Dutzend Waffen zu verstecken.