Chapter 2: War and crime

September, 1939 – Germany invades Poland, thus starting World War II, which will devastate Europe. The aim is to dominate the continent and impose a new “racial” order. Poland, divided up between Germany and the Soviet Union, serves as the experimental grounds for these plans: on its territory, the Germans murder the members of the leading political and cultural classes or deport them to camps. They deprive the citizens of their rights and banish them from areas where Germans are to live. Polish Jews are herded together in ghettos.

The Wehrmacht, the SS, and the German occupation authorities collaborate closely in the work of subjugating and exploiting the Eastern European countries. After the victory over France, the forcible colonialisation of the East is to be consummated with the conquest of the Soviet Union.

As has already been the case after the German invasion of Poland, the war of extermination against the Soviet Union is characterized by massacres against the civilian population. The SS and Security Police form task forces whose purpose is to murder millions of Jews, but also Roma, by shooting. The Wehrmacht does nothing to prevent more than three million soldiers of the Red Army from starving to death in prisoner-of-war camps. In 1942, the SS establishes centers in Eastern Poland specifically for the systematic extermination of the European Jews. They deport Jewish inmates from the concentration camps in the Reich to Auschwitz.

Once the war is in progress, citizens of the occupied countries are also deported to the concentration camps. To an increasing degree, the camps become places of mass murder. The German regime further intensifies the terror to which it subjects its opponents.

Anti-Semitic enemy stereotypes and mass murder

One of the first waves of arrests carried out in Germany and Austria (the latter has belonged to the Reich since 1938) following the invasion of Poland targets stateless Jews of Polish origin. In Vienna the Gestapo detains 1,000 of them in the Prater Stadium. The cliché of the “Eastern Jew” is one of the main anti-Semitic enemy stereotypes. “Race researchers” at the Naturhistorisches Museum in Vienna obtain access to the stadium to find means of scientifically substantiating the cliché. After they have completed their work, the Gestapo deports the detainees to the Buchenwald Concentration Camp. Fewer than 50 of these people survive.

The murderers

The SS working for camp command headquarters have the development of the concentration camps to thank for their careers. In the years when the Nazis were coming to power, they belonged to the thug squads of the SS; in the early concentration camps they proved themselves as leaders or guards. Having passed examination according to “race-biological” criteria, they consider themselves and their wives the elite of the German people. In their self-conception, they have the right to use violence against “inferiors”. Social climbers who model their private lives after the middle-class lifestyle, these SS men photograph and present themselves and their place of work – the concentration camp – with equal pride.

The forced order of the camp

The inmates – wretchedly lodged, clothed and fed – are subjected to a forced order that the SS had already developed for the early concentration camps. They are compelled to march, stand motionlessly for hours during roll call, and cope with long, gruelling days of hard labour. There is an omnipresent fear of indiscriminate violence and of punishments carried out on the flogging stand or in the camp prison, the “Bunker”. In the barracks and labour detachments, the SS use inmates to keep the order: block seniors for the barracks, kapos and foremen for the various workplaces. Some of them, for example the kapos in the dreaded quarry, torment the other inmates as a way of currying favour with the SS. Others, among them many of the orderlies in the inmates’ infirmary, come to their fellow inmates’ aid. This does nothing to relieve the fear of getting sick. Sick inmates are useless to the SS and their lives are in constant danger.

Crime and cooperation

There are no limits to the power wielded by the SS. They have human lives at their disposal. This provides them with opportunities to cooperate with institutions and business enterprises outside the camp: they turn Polish inmates over to the Gestapo for publicly staged executions; in cooperation with the Robert Koch-Institut, the IG Farben AG and the Wehrmacht a ward is established especially for medical experiments. When the Gestapo in the Wehrmacht prisoner-of-war camps select Soviet commissars and Jews for killing, the SS set up a shooting facility at the Buchenwald Concentration Camp. Close cooperation also develops with the Sonnenstein and Bernburg sanatoria. Within the framework of the “euthanasia” programme, handicapped inmates and Jews classified as “unproductive” are asphyxiated in gas chambers there.

Schiller’s furniture

Already before 1933, Weimar is a center of German cultural nationalism that opposes everything “un-German”. The museums and commemorative sites of German Classicism thus fall smoothly into line with National Socialism. When Weimar and the houses of Goethe and Schiller are threatened by bombs, the persons in charge have no scruples about putting concentration camp inmates to work protecting their cultural assets. The furniture from the estate of Friedrich Schiller is taken to the Buchenwald Concentration Camp for several months. There inmates are ordered to build replicas to exchange with the originals.

links: transportabler Galgen aus dem KZ Buchenwald, rechts: Blick in das Realienkabinett "Einkleidung". Foto: Claus Bach, Sammlung Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Kapitel 2: Krieg und Verbrechen

September 1939 – Deutschland überfällt Polen und beginnt damit den Zweiten Weltkrieg, der Europa verwüsten wird. Ziel ist die Beherrschung und „rassische“ Neuordnung des Kontinents. Das zwischen Deutschland und der Sowjetunion aufgeteilte Polen wird dafür zum Experimentierfeld: in ihrem Gebiet ermorden die Deutschen die politische und kulturelle Führungsschicht oder verschleppen sie in Lager. Sie entrechten die Bevölkerung und vertreiben sie von dort, wo Deutsche leben sollen. Polnische Juden werden in Ghettos zusammengepfercht.

Wehrmacht, SS und deutsche Besatzungsbehörden arbeiten bei der Unterwerfung und Ausbeutung der osteuropäischen Länder eng zusammen. Nach dem Sieg über Frankreich soll die Unterwerfung der Sowjetunion die gewaltsame Kolonialisierung des Ostens vollenden.

Massaker an der Zivilbevölkerung, wie schon nach dem deutschen Einmarsch in Polen, prägen den Vernichtungskrieg gegen die Sowjetunion. SS und Sicherheitspolizei stellen „Einsatzgruppen“ zusammen, die gezielt Millionen Juden, aber auch Roma erschießen. Die Wehrmacht lässt über drei Millionen Angehörige der Roten Armee in Kriegsgefangenenlagern verhungern. In Ostpolen richtet die SS 1942 eigens Stätten zur systematischen Vernichtung der europäischen Juden ein. Jüdische Häftlinge deportiert sie aus den Konzentrationslagern im Reich nach Auschwitz.

Seit Beginn des Krieges werden auch Menschen aus den besetzten Ländern in die Konzentrationslager verschleppt, die mehr und mehr zu Stätten des Massenmordes werden. Zudem verschärft das Regime in Deutschland den Terror gegen seine Gegner.

Antisemitische Feindbilder und Massenmord

Eine der ersten Verhaftungswellen nach dem Überfall auf Polen richtet sich in Deutschland und dem seit 1938 dazu gehörenden Österreich gegen staatenlose Juden polnischer Herkunft. In Wien setzt die Gestapo 1.000 von ihnen im Praterstadion fest. Das Klischee vom „Ostjuden“ gehört zum Kern antisemitischer Feindbilder. Rassenforscher des Naturhistorischen Museums Wien verschaffen sich Zugang zum Stadion, um das Klischee wissenschaftlich zu untermauern. Nachdem sie ihre Arbeit abgeschlossen haben, deportiert die Gestapo die Inhaftierten in das KZ Buchenwald. Weniger als 50 dieser Menschen überleben.

Die Mörder

Die Angehörigen der SS-Lagerkommandantur verdanken ihre Karrieren der Entwicklung der Konzentrationslager. In den Jahren der Machteroberung gehörten sie zu den Schlägertrupps der SS und bewährten sich als Führungskräfte oder Wachleute der frühen Konzentrationslager. Rassebiologisch begutachtet, sehen sie sich und ihre Ehefrauen als Elite des deutschen Volkes. Nach ihrem Selbstverständnis haben sie das Recht,  Gewalt gegen „Minderwertige“ auszuüben. Als Aufsteiger, die ihr Privatleben am bürgerlichen Lebensstil ausrichten, fotografieren und präsentieren sich diese SS-Männer ebenso stolz wie ihren Arbeitsplatz: das Konzentrationslager.

Die Zwangsordnung des Lagers

Die Häftlinge – elend untergebracht, bekleidet und ernährt – sind einer Zwangsordnung unterworfen, die die SS schon für die frühen Konzentrationslager entwickelt hat. Sie müssen marschieren, während des Appells stundenlang reglos stehen und einen langen, zermürbenden Arbeitstag bewältigen. Allgegenwärtig ist die Angst vor willkürlicher Gewalt und vor Strafen, die auf dem Prügelbock oder im Lagergefängnis, dem „Bunker“, vollstreckt werden. In den Baracken und Arbeitskommandos setzt die SS Häftlinge zur Organisation ein: Blockälteste für die Baracken, Kapos und Vorarbeiter für die verschiedenen Arbeitsstellen. Sie können, wie die Kapos des gefürchteten Steinbruchs, die übrigen drangsalieren, um sich der SS anzubiedern. Sie können aber auch, wie viele Pfleger im Häftlingskrankenbau, für Mithäftlinge eintreten. Die Angst, krank zu werden, bleibt trotzdem. Kranke sind für die SS nutzlose Menschen und schweben in ständiger Lebensgefahr.

Verbrechen und Kooperation

Die Macht der SS ist schrankenlos. Sie kann über die Menschen verfügen. Das eröffnet ihr die Zusammenarbeit mit Institutionen und Unternehmen außerhalb der Lager: Polnische Häftlinge werden an die Gestapo für öffentlich inszenierte Schauexekutionen abgegeben; in Kooperation mit dem Robert-Koch-Institut, der IG Farben AG und der Wehrmacht entsteht eigens eine Station für medizinische Menschenversuche. Als die Gestapo in den Kriegsgefangenenlagern der Wehrmacht sowjetische Kommissare und Juden zur Tötung aussondert, richtet die SS im KZ Buchenwald eine Erschießungsanlage ein. Eine enge Zusammenarbeit entwickelt sich auch mit den Heil- und Pflegeanstalten Sonnenstein und Bernburg. Dort werden im Rahmen der „Euthanasie“ behinderte Häftlinge und jüdische Häftlinge als „unproduktiv“ in Gaskammern erstickt.

Schillers Möbel

Schon vor 1933 ist Weimar ein Zentrum des deutschen Kulturnationalismus, der sich gegen alles „Undeutsche“ wendet. Deshalb fügen sich die Museen und Gedächtnisstätten der Klassik reibungslos in den Nationalsozialismus ein. Als der Bombenkrieg auch Weimar und die Häuser von Goethe und Schiller bedroht, haben die Verantwortlichen keine Skrupel, KZ-Häftlinge zur Sicherung ihrer Kulturgüter arbeiten zu lassen. Die Möbel aus dem Besitz Friedrich Schillers werden für Monate ins KZ Buchenwald gebracht. Häftlinge müssen sie dort für den Austausch mit den Originalen nachbauen.