Chapter 1: National Socialism and violence

Germany, 1937 – Hitler’s party, the NSDAP, holds the power unchallenged. The majority of the population identifies with the new order or has come to terms with it. Many profit from the economic upswing that goes hand in hand with armament.

The Nazis propagate the goal of a “racially pure”, harmonious “people’s community” free of social and political conflicts. In reality, they have created conditions that are based on violence and continually generate violence. The foundations of a peaceful order – the democratic separation of powers, equality before the law, freedom of opinion and all other civil liberties – have been destroyed. The media, the justice system and state administrations operate entirely in keeping with National Socialist ideology. After taking over the government in 1933, the regime has established concentration camps. The purpose of those camps – the persecution and intimidation of political opponents – has been fulfilled. Nevertheless, new concentration camps are built. Now the concern is no longer solely with terror, but above all with restructuring the society according to racist principles.

The Nazi classification of the citizens as supposedly superior or inferior persons leads to constant violence. Several hundred thousand fall victim to persecution and ostracization even before the war begins: in addition to the political prisoners, this group of persons consists primarily of Jews, but also Sinti and Roma persecuted as “Zigeuner” and other stigmatized persons such as homosexuals, ex-convicts and people considered “work-shy”.

Weimar – a cultural centre of National Socialism

Weimar is the capital of the NSDAP district of Thuringia and, as the domain of Goethe and Schiller, holds a firm place in the cultural self-conception of the Germans. The majority of its middle class and civil servants hold nationalist and anti-democratic views. The NSDAP is already able to march here undisturbed in the 1920s, and in 1926 it holds its Reich convention in the Deutsches Nationaltheater.

The Ettersberg, where the new concentration camp is built, is a well-known symbol of the Goethe era. The concentration camp easily becomes an integral element of the city: the municipal hospital and crematorium are placed at the disposal of the SS for their needs. For companies and shops the camp is a customer like any other. The only thing the culturally educated middle class objects to is the initial name, "K.L. Ettersberg", on account of the reference to Goethe. The SS leadership responds without further ado and changes the name to "K.L. Buchenwald/Post Weimar".

A concentration camp is built

In the summer of 1937, the SS closes the Central German concentration camps of Lichtenburg (Prussia), Sachsenburg (Saxony) and Bad Sulza (Thuringia) and transfers 2,000 inmates from there to the Ettersberg. They are political prisoners, Jehovah’s Witnesses, and former convicts who have been in custody for many years and already served their prison sentences. In the summer of 1938, the number of inmates triples on account of police operations against “asocials”. Many Jews, Sinti and Roma are also arrested on this pretext. They are put to work building the camp. The SS punishes escape and open resistance with death.

The November Pogrom

On the night of 9 November 1938, members of the NSDAP, the SA and the SS destroy nearly all of the synagogues in Germany, loot Jewish businesses, and murder Jews. Although the Buchenwald Concentration Camp is only half-built at this point in time and already full beyond capacity, the Gestapo commit nearly 10,000 Jewish men to the camp. The total number of inmates increases to 19,676.

Like the pogrom, the internment is intended as a means of heightening fear and forcing Jews to emigrate. They are released only if they agree to the dispossession of their property and can furnish proof that they intend to leave Germany immediately. Typhus breaks out as a consequence of the disastrous hygiene conditions and shortage of water. It is only when the epidemic spreads to the surrounding villages that the SS take measures to control it.

Darstellung rassistischer Untersuchungen in Wien an jüdischen Männern, die anschließend in das KZ Buchenwald deportiert wurden. Foto: Claus Bach, Sammlung Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Kapitel 1: Nationalsozialismus und Gewalt

Deutschland 1937 – Hitlers Partei, die NSDAP, ist unangefochten an der Macht. Die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung identifiziert sich mit der neuen Ordnung oder hat sich arrangiert. Viele profitieren vom wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung, der mit der Aufrüstung einhergeht.

Die Nationalsozialisten propagieren das Ziel einer „rassereinen“, harmonischen „Volksgemeinschaft“ – frei von sozialen und politischen Konflikten. In Wirklichkeit haben sie Verhältnisse geschaffen, die auf Gewalt fußen und fortwährend Gewalt erzeugen. Grundlagen einer friedlichen Ordnung sind zerstört: demokratische Gewaltenteilung, Gleichheit vor dem Gesetz, Meinungsfreiheit und alle anderen Bürgerrechte. Medien, Justiz und staatliche Verwaltungen funktionieren nur noch im Sinne der Nationalsozialisten. Mit der Regierungsübernahme 1933 hat das Regime Konzentrationslager eingerichtet. Ihr Zweck, die Verfolgung und Einschüchterung von politischen Gegnern, ist erfüllt. Trotzdem werden neue Konzentrationslager gebaut. Jetzt geht es nicht mehr allein um Terror, sondern vor allem um die rassistische Umgestaltung der Gesellschaft.

Die nationalsozialistische Einstufung der Menschen in angeblich Höher- und Minderwertige führt zu permanenter Gewalt. Schon vor dem Krieg werden mehrere Hunderttausend Menschen zum Opfer von Verfolgung und Ausgrenzung: neben den politischen Gefangenen in erster Linie Juden, aber auch als „Zigeuner“ verfolgte Sinti und Roma und andere stigmatisierte Menschen wie Homosexuelle, Vorbestrafte und „Arbeitsscheue“.

Weimar – Kulturstadt des Nationalsozialismus

Weimar ist Hauptstadt des NSDAP-Gaus Thüringen und hat als Wirkungsstätte Goethes und Schillers einen festen Platz im kulturellen Selbstverständnis der Deutschen. Das städtische Bürgertum wie auch die Beamtenschaft sind mehrheitlich nationalistisch und antidemokratisch eingestellt. Hier kann die NSDAP schon in den 1920er Jahren ungestört aufmarschieren und 1926 ihren Reichsparteitag im Deutschen Nationaltheater abhalten.

Der Ettersberg, auf dem das neue Konzentrationslager entsteht, ist ein bekanntes Symbol der Goethe-Zeit. Das KZ wird problemlos zum Bestandteil der Stadt: das Krankenhaus und das Krematorium stehen der SS für ihre Zwecke zur Verfügung. Für Firmen und Geschäfte ist sie ein Kunde wie jeder andere. Nur die anfängliche Bezeichnung „K.L. Ettersberg“ lehnt das Kulturbürgertum wegen des Goethe-Bezugs ab. Die SS-Führung reagiert schnell und ändert den Namen in „K.L. Buchenwald/Post Weimar“.

Ein Konzentrationslager wird gebaut

Im Sommer 1937 schließt die SS die mitteldeutschen Konzentrationslager Lichtenburg (Preußen), Sachsenburg (Sachsen) und Bad Sulza (Thüringen) und verlegt 2.000 Häftlinge von dort auf den Ettersberg. Es sind langjährige politische Gefangene, Zeugen Jehovas und ehemalige Strafgefangene, die ihre Gefängnishaft bereits abgesessen haben. Im Sommer 1938 verdreifacht sich die Zahl der Häftlinge durch Aktionen der Polizei gegen „Asoziale“. Unter diesem Deckmantel werden auch viele Juden und Sinti und Roma verhaftet. Sie müssen das Lager aufbauen. Flucht oder offenen Widerstand bestraft die SS mit dem Tod.

Novemberpogrom

In der Nacht vom 9. auf den 10. November 1938 zerstören Mitglieder der NSDAP, der SA und SS fast alle Synagogen in Deutschland, plündern und ermorden Juden. Obwohl das erst halbfertige Konzentrationslager Buchenwald bereits überfüllt ist, weist die Gestapo annähernd 10.000 jüdische Männer in das Lager ein. Die Gesamtzahl der Häftlinge steigt auf 19.676 an.

Wie der Pogrom, soll auch die Einlieferung die Angst steigern und die Juden zur Auswanderung zwingen. Nur wenn sie der Enteignung ihres Besitzes zustimmen und nachweisen, Deutschland umgehend zu verlassen, entkommen sie dem Lager. Aufgrund der katastrophalen hygienischen Verhältnisse und des Wassermangels bricht Typhus aus. Erst als die Epidemie auch die umliegenden Dörfer erreicht, leitet die SS Gegenmaßnahmen ein.