Helmut Goldschmidt

1918 (Magdeburg) - 2005 (Cologne)

Architect

"I didn’t even know that I was Jew or someone else was a non-Jew. Who was interested? But then suddenly, that’s the way it was … To this day, I haven’t gotten over the complex I developed as a result."



Helmut Goldschmidt was born in Magdeburg on 16 October 1918, the son of the lawyer Moritz Goldschmidt of Cologne. In 1933 he was forced to leave grammar school prematurely because he was a Jew. He trained as an architect with the architect and art historian Dr Zucker of Berlin and the construction engineer Dr Hauer. Since Jews were barred from practising their professions, he worked illegally in an architectural firm and devoted his leisure time to music, primarily jazz.

On 1 December 1942, Goldschmidt was arrested by the Gestapo in Cologne and in the spring of 1943 deported to Auschwitz. Friends succeeded in hiding his father at the last minute. In July 1943, after three months in quarantine camp, thanks to the intervention of his non-Jewish mother he was transferred to Buchenwald Concentration Camp as a “political inmate and first-degree half-breed”. He was employed in the SS construction office as a draughtsman and composed arrangements for the inmates’ jazz combo in the main camp.

Following liberation, Goldschmidt worked as a freelance architect in Mayen in the Eifel region of Germany. In 1949 he was commissioned with the reconstruction of the synagogue in Ottostrasse in Cologne; commissions for a hospital building in Cologne and a Jewish community centre followed. In the years following 1950 he founded his own firm, married and started a family. From 1957 to 1959 he reconstructed the large synagogue in Roonstrasse in Cologne, later going on to construct or reconstruct further synagogues and Jewish community centres. He also designed and managed the construction of housing estates and subsidized housing as well as a small number of business and office buildings in Cologne. In 1998 he received the First-Class Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for his architectural lifework and his initiatives in the Jewish-Christian dialogue.

Helmut Goldschmidt died in Cologne on 6 August 2005.

Helmut Goldschmidt

1918 (Magdeburg) - 2005 (Köln)

Architekt

"Ich habe gar nicht gewusst, daß ich Jude bin oder ein anderer Nicht-Jude. Wer hat sich dafür interessiert? Aber auf einmal war das so … Den Komplex, den man dadurch bekam, den bin ich bis zum heutigen Tag nicht losgeworden."



Helmut Goldschmidt wird am 16. Oktober 1918 als Sohn des Kölner Rechtsanwalts Moritz Goldschmidt in Magdeburg geboren. Das Gymnasium muß er 1933 als Jude vorzeitig verlassen, bei dem Berliner Architekten und Kunsthistoriker Dr. Zucker und dem Bautechniker Dr. Hauer läßt er sich zum Architekten ausbilden. Wegen des Berufsverbots für Juden arbeitet er illegal in einem Architekturbüro, in seiner Freizeit macht er Musik, vor allem Jazz.

Am 1. Dezember 1942 wird Helmut Goldschmidt von der Kölner Gestapo verhaftet und im Frühjahr 1943 nach Auschwitz deportiert. Seinen Vater können Freunde in letzter Minute verstecken. Nach drei Monaten Quarantänelager kommt Helmut Goldschmidt auf Intervention seiner nichtjüdischen Mutter im Juli 1943 als "politischer Häftling und Mischling 1. Grades" in das KZ Buchenwald. Er wird als Zeichner im Baubüro der SS eingesetzt und schreibt Arrangements für die Jazz-Combo der Häftlinge im Hauptlager.

Nach der Befreiung arbeitet Helmut Goldschmidt als freischaffender Architekt in Mayen (Eifel). 1949 erhält er den Auftrag für den Wiederaufbau der Kölner Synagoge in der Ottostraße, es folgen Aufträge für einen Krankenhausbau in Köln und jüdische Gemeindezentren. Ab 1950 eigene Firma, Heirat und Gründung einer Familie. Von 1957-1959 rekonstruiert Helmut Goldschmidt die Große Synagoge in der Kölner Roonstraße, später Wiederaufbau oder Neubau von weiteren Synagogen und jüdischen Gemeindezentren. Daneben Entwürfe und Bauleitungen für Siedlungen, Sozialwohnungen sowie einzelne Geschäfts- und Bürohäuser in Köln. 1998 erhält er das Bundesverdienstkreuz 1. Klasse für sein architektonisches Schaffen und seine Initiativen im jüdisch-christlichen Dialog.

Helmut Goldschmidt stirbt am 6. August 2005 in Köln.