Robert Bradfeld

1925 (Dobrichovice, Czechoslovakia)

Physician

"I had the feeling that, after what I went through in the camp, I was not going to live for long."



Robert Bardfeld was born in Dobřichovice, Czechoslovakia, on 10 May 1925. He attended secondary school in Roudnice nad Labem near Terezín (Theresienstadt). There he had a conflict with a German teacher who had ties to the NSDAP. Following the assassination attempt on Reinhard Heydrich (27 May 1942), the teacher, afraid of his students, reported the entire class to the Gestapo.

Following this, on 20 June 1942, all boys of the sixth and seventh forms were arrested and brought to the Small Fortress, the Gestapo prison in Terezín. From there, Bardfeld was brought as a "political inmate" to Buchenwald Concentration Camp in early October. He was put in the "delinquent company", and worked on construction sites in Weimar, occasionally in quarries and, after an episode of tuberculosis, in the infirmary. Following the bomb attack on Weimar on 9 February 1945, he illegally went to the city with a medical detachment because he wanted to see the destruction that had been done to the buildings he had helped to build. In the evening he returned to the camp.

After the liberation of the camp, Bardfeld helped with the medical treatment of his comrades. In May 1945, he returned to Czechoslovakia and studied medicine at Charles University in Prague. In 1950 he earned his Doctor of Medicine and was hired at the Bisek hospital. In 1955, he became a medical professor at the Institute of Rheumatology run by Prague’s Ministry of Health.

Robert Bardfeld

1925 (Dobrichovice, Tschechoslowakei) - 2019 (Prag)

Arzt

"Ich habe das Gefühl gehabt, daß ich, nach dem, was ich im Lager erlebt habe, daß ich nicht lange leben werde."



Robert Bardfeld wird am 10. Mai 1925 in Dobrichovice (CSR) geboren, besucht die Mittelschule in Roudnice nad Labem in der Nähe von Terezin (Theresienstadt). Dort gerät er in Konflikt mit einem deutschen, der NSDAP nahestehenden Lehrer. Nach dem Attentat auf Reinhard Heydrich (27. Mai 1942) zeigt der Lehrer aus Angst vor seinen Schülern die gesamte Schulklasse bei der Gestapo an.

Am 20. Juni 1942 werden daraufhin alle Jungen der 6. und 7. Klasse verhaftet und in die Kleine Festung, das Gestapo-Gefängnis, Terezin gebracht. Von dort kommt Robert Bardfeld Anfang Oktober als "Politischer" in das KZ Buchenwald. Er wird der Strafkompagnie zugeteilt, arbeitet auf Baustellen in Weimar, zeitweise im Steinbruch und nach einer TBC-Erkrankung im Häftlingskrankenbau. Nach dem Bombenangriff auf Weimar, am 9. Februar 1945, gelangt er mit einem Sanitätstrupp illegal in die Stadt, weil er die Zerstörung der Gebäude, an denen er mitgearbeitet hat, sehen will. Am Abend kehrt er wieder in das Lager zurück.

Nach der Befreiung des Lagers hilft Robert Bardfeld bei der medizinischen Versorgung seiner Kameraden. Im Mai 1945 kehrt er in die Tschechoslowakei zurück und studiert an der Karlsuniversität in Prag Medizin. 1950 Promotion zum Dr. med., Anstellung im Krankenhaus von Bisek. Seit 1955 Professor der Medizin im Rheumaforschungs-Institut des Gesundheitsministeriums in Prag.

Robert Bardfeld starb am 20. Oktober 2019 in Prag.