Opening Hours Practical Info What is where? Apps Public Tours further language offers Accessibility FAQ

Seminars

Time is of the essence for effective and lasting learning. In our one- and multi-day seminars (minimum 6 hours, maximum 7 days), we offer programmes tailored to the participants' individual prior knowledge, interests, and learning needs with regard to both content and method.

A group sits in a circle of chairs and looks at the educational speaker. Behind him, a pinboard full of written cards and a flip chart with the inscription: "Welcome to the workshop on anti-Semitism" can be seen.
"Recognizing Anti-Semitism" workshop, 2022. Photo: Lisa Rethmeier. ©Buchenwald Memorial

All of our programmes include methods for gaining initial access—cognitive and/or emotional—to the content, guided tours, a visit to one of our exhibitions, and reflection phases.

We also offer participants means of pursuing their own individual interests and questions. Depending on the duration of their stay, they can, for example, choose from different workshop offers, participate actively in the work of the conservation workshop, carry out research on the topics that interest them in literature, exhibitions, and databases, give expression to their thoughts and feelings in the creative workshop, or explore issues such as guilt and responsibility or the relevance of history for the present in guided discussions.

Our educational associates will work with you to design the programme for your group. Individual focuses on specific themes are also possible—please tell us what you have in mind.

TheInternational Education Center of the Buchenwald Memorial. Two former SS barracks, now converted, with an empty parking lot in front of them.
1/9
The International Education Center of the Buchenwald Memorial. Photo: Claus Bach.
The counter in the entrance area of the International Education Center.
2/9
In the entrance area of the International Education Centre. Photo: Katharina Brand.
A guest room in the International Youth Meeting Center of the Buchenwald Memorial. On the left is a closet, next to it a single bed, then comes a window. On the opposite wall is a desk with a chair and a smaller cabinet.
3/9
A guest room at the International Education Center. Photo: Claus Bach.
A guest room in the International Youth Meeting Center. To the left and right of the wall are two double bunk beds, in the middle a table with four chairs, behind them are several windows.
4/9
A guest room at the International Education Center. Photo: Claus Bach.
View into a recreation room of the International Youth Meeting Center. In the foreground is a table tennis table with a racket and a ball. In the background you can see a foosball table.
5/9
View into a recreation room of the International Education Center. Photo: Katharina Brand.
View into a seminar room of the International Youth Meeting Center. There are chairs in a semicircle. In the background, a timeline can be seen on the wall. A flipchart is in front of the window.
6/9
View into a seminar room at the International Education Center. Photo: Katharina Brand.
A corner of the room with many seats and small tables. Photos hang on the walls.
7/9
Space for conversation and exchange in the foyer of the International Education Center. Photo: Katharina Brand.
View into a seminar room of the International Education Center. There are chairs in a semicircle. On the wall is an aerial photograph of the former Buchenwald concentration camp. Next to it is a pinboard.
8/9
View into a seminar room of the International Education Center. Photo: Katharina Brand.
View into a room. In the foreground is a modern model of the former Buchenwald concentration camp. In the background are chairs and a projection screen can be seen.
9/9
Model room in the International Education Center. Photo: Katharina Brand.

Multi-day educational programmes are carried out in the facilities of the International Young People's Centre. The two former SS caserns offer modern seminar rooms complete with reference libraries, a creative workshop, and various multi-use rooms.

The Young People's Centre moreover offers overnight accommodations for more than 70 persons in one- to four-bed rooms, each with its own bathrom (also for persons with mobility impairments).  Participants in multi-day seminars can also use the memorial archive and library.


var _paq = window._paq = window._paq || []; /* tracker methods like "setCustomDimension" should be called before "trackPageView" */ _paq.push(['trackPageView']); _paq.push(['enableLinkTracking']); (function() { var u="https://matomo.buchenwald.de/"; _paq.push(['setTrackerUrl', u+'matomo.php']); _paq.push(['setSiteId', '1']); var d=document, g=d.createElement('script'), s=d.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; g.async=true; g.src=u+'matomo.js'; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s); })();

Öffnungszeiten Praktische Infos Was ist Wo? Apps Öffentliche Rundgänge Weitere Sprachangebote Barrieren vor Ort FAQ

Studientage

Zeit ist ein entscheidender Faktor für nachhaltige Bildung. In Studientagen, das heißt Tagesprojekten (ab 6 Stunden Aufenthaltsdauer) oder mehrtägigen Seminaren (bis zu 7 Tage), bieten wir Gruppen ein individuell auf ihre Vorkenntnisse, Interessen und Lernbedürfnisse inhaltlich und methodisch abgestimmtes Programm.

Eine Gruppe sitzt im Stuhlkreis und schaut auf den Bildungsreferenten. Hinter diesem ist eine Pinnwannd voller beschriebener Karten und ein Flip-Chart mit der Aufschrift: "Herzlich Willkommen zum Workshop Antisemitismus" erkennen.
Workshop „Antisemitismus erkennen“, 2022. Foto: Lisa Rethmeier. ©Gedenkstätte Buchenwald.

Bestandteil aller Programme sind Methoden zum inhaltlichen und/oder emotionalen Einstieg, Rundgänge, der Besuch einer unserer Ausstellungen und Reflexionsphasen.

Darüber hinaus eröffnen wir den Teilnehmer:innen die Möglichkeit, ihren jeweils eigenen Interessen und Fragestellungen nachzugehen. Abhängig von der Dauer ihres Aufenthaltes können sie beispielsweise aus unterschiedlichen Workshopangeboten wählen, sich aktiv in die Arbeit der Restaurierungswerkstatt einbringen, zu selbst gewählten Fragestellungen in Literatur, Ausstellungen und Datenbanken recherchieren, in der Kreativwerkstatt ihren Gedanken und Emotionen Ausdruck verleihen, sich in moderierten Diskussionen mit Fragen von Schuld und Verantwortung oder der gegenwartsbezogenen Relevanz der Geschichte auseinandersetzen.  

Die Festlegung des Programms für Ihre Gruppe erfolgt in Absprache mit unseren Bildungsreferent:innen. Auch individuelle, thematischer Schwerpunkte sind möglich – bitte sprechen Sie uns an.

Die Internationale Bildungsstätte der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald. Zwei ehemalige, inzwischen umgebaute SS-Kasernen, davor ein leerer Parkplatz
1/9
Die Internationale Bildungsstätte der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald. Foto: Claus Bach.
Der Tresen im Eingangsbereich der Internationalen Bildungsstätte.
2/9
Im Eingangsbereich der Internationalen Bildungsstätte. Foto: Katharina Brand.
Ein Gästezimmer in der Internationalen Begegnungsstätte der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald. Links steht ein Schrank, daneben ein Einzelbett, dann kommt ein Fenster. An der gegenüberliegenden Wand steht ein Schreibtisch mit einem Stuhl und ein kleinerer Schrank.
3/9
IBS Einzelzimmer. Foto: Claus Bach.
Ein Gästezimmer in der Internationalen Begegnungsstätte. Links und rechts an der Wand stehen je zwei Doppelstockbetten, in der Mitte ein Tisch mit vier Stühlen, dahinter sind mehrere Fenster.
4/9
Ein Gästezimmer in der IBS. Foto: Claus Bach.
Blick in einen Freizeitraum der Internationalen Bildungsstätte. Im Vordergund steht eine Tischtennisplatte auf der ein Schläger und ein Ball liegen. Im Hintergrund ist ein Kicker zu sehen.
5/9
Blick in einen Freizeitraum der Internationalen Bildungsstätte. Foto: Katharina Brand.
Blick in einen Seminarraum der Internationalen Begegnungsstätte. Im Halbkreis stehen Stühle. Im Hintergrund ist an der Wand ein Zeitstrahl zu erkennen. Vor dem Fenster steht ein Flipchart.
6/9
Blick in einen Seminarraum der IBS. Foto: Katharina Brand.
Eine Raumecke mit vielen Sitzmöglichkeiten und kleinen Tischen. An den Wänden hängen Fotos.
7/9
Raum für Gespräche und Austausch im Foyer der Internationalen Bildungsstätte. Foto: Katharina Brand.
Blick in einen Seminarraum der Internationalen Begegnungsstätte. Im Halbkreis stehen Stühle. An der Wand ist ein Luftbild des ehemaligen Konzentrationslagers Buchenwald zu sehen. Daneben steht eine Pinnwand.
8/9
Blick in einen Seminarraum der IBS. Foto: Katharina Brand.
Blick in einen Raum. Im Vordergrund ein modernes Modell des ehemaligen Konzentrationslagers Buchenwald. Im Hintergrund stehen Stühle und eine Projektionswand ist zu sehen.
9/9
Modellraum in der IBS. Foto: Katharina Brand.

Für mehrtägige Aufenthalte stehen Gruppen die Räume der Internationalen Begegnungsstätte (IBS) zur Verfügung. In zwei ehemaligen Kasernen der SS befinden sich moderne Seminarräume mit jeweils einer Handbibliothek, einer Kreativwerkstatt und Aufenthaltsräumen.

Die IBS bietet Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten für über 70 Personen in Ein- bis Vierbettzimmern mit jeweils eigenem Bad (auch für Personen mit Mobilitätseinschränkungen). Darüber hinaus können Teilnehmende mehrtägiger Programme Archiv und Bibliothek der Gedenkstätte nutzen.


var _paq = window._paq = window._paq || []; /* tracker methods like "setCustomDimension" should be called before "trackPageView" */ _paq.push(['trackPageView']); _paq.push(['enableLinkTracking']); (function() { var u="https://matomo.buchenwald.de/"; _paq.push(['setTrackerUrl', u+'matomo.php']); _paq.push(['setSiteId', '1']); var d=document, g=d.createElement('script'), s=d.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; g.async=true; g.src=u+'matomo.js'; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s); })();