Ernst Wiechert

1887 (Kleinort, East Prussia) - 1950 (Uerikon, Switzerland)

Writer

"Whether a man stands up against injustice is not a matter of his world view, but of his heart."



Ernst Wiechert was born in Kleinort near Sensburg (Mrągowo) in East Prussia on 18 May 1887. After studying in Königsberg, present-day Kaliningrad, he worked as a secondary school teacher. In the First World War he volunteered to serve as an officer. After the war he went back to teaching in Königsberg and began writing about his East Prussian homeland. The protagonists of his novels, novellas and stories find salvation in nature and isolation, in an escape from modern mass civilization. His lyrically melancholic style of writing gained a large readership from the end of the 1920s.

During the Weimar Republic Wiechert moved mainly in nationalist-conservative circles. In 1924 he published the war story Der Totenwolf ("The Death Wolf"). After his wife committed suicide he left East Prussia and, in 1930, became a teacher in Berlin-Charlottenburg. Just a few weeks after the National Socialists came to power he retired officially for health reasons, and lived as a freelance writer at his farmhouse Gagert near Munich. In his Munich university lecture of 16 April 1935 on the subject of "The Poet and His Time", he criticized the educational and cultural policies of the National Socialists.

After protesting against the arrest of Martin Niemöller at the end of March 1938, Wiechert was arrested on 6 May and sent to Buchenwald Concentration Camp on 4 July 1938 as a "political". Released after three months with a personal warning by propaganda minister Goebbels, Wiechert increasingly withdrew from public life. His novel The Simple Life, about a man returning from the war to live in East Prussia, was a great success in 1939.

After liberation, Wiechert published Forest of the Dead, a literary report about his imprisonment. Soon disappointed by the political developments in post-war Germany, Wiechert criticized the lack of remorse. Out of a sense of resignation, he moved to Switzerland in the spring of 1948, and in 1949 a second volume of his memoires appeared under the title of Jahre und Zeiten ("Years and Times").

Ernst Wiechert died in Uerikon, Switzerland on 24 August 1950.

Ernst Wiechert

1887 (Kleinort, Ostpreußen) - 1950 (Uerikon, Schweiz)

Schriftsteller

"Ob jemand gegen das Unrecht aufsteht, ist nicht Sache seiner Weltanschauung, sondern seines Herzens."



Ernst Wiechert wird am 18. Mai 1887 im Forsthaus Kleinort (Ostpreußen) geboren. Nach dem Studium in Königsberg arbeitet er als Oberrealschullehrer. Im Ersten Weltkrieg dient er als freiwilliger Offizier. Nach dem Krieg gibt er wieder Unterricht in Königsberg und beginnt über seine ostpreußische Heimat zu schreiben.

Seine Romane, Novellen und Erzählungen lassen die Protagonisten ihr Heil in der Natur und Einsamkeit finden, gegen die moderne Massen-Zivilisation. Sein lyrisch-schwermütiger Sprachduktus gewinnt ab Ende der zwanziger Jahre eine große Lesergemeinde. Ernst Wiechert lebt in der Weimarer Republik überwiegend in national-konservativen Kreisen. 1924 entsteht die Kriegserzählung "Der Totenwolf". Nach dem Selbstmord seiner Frau verläßt er Ostpreußen und wird 1930 Lehrer in Berlin-Charlottenburg, bis er wenige Wochen nach dem Machtantritt der Nationalsozialisten den Dienst offiziell aus gesundheitlichen Gründen quittiert und auf seinem Hof Gagert bei München als freier Schriftsteller lebt. Am 16. April 1935 kritisiert er in seiner Münchner Universitätsrede "Der Dichter und seine Zeit" die Erziehungs- und Kulturpolitik der Nationalsozialisten.

Nachdem er Ende März 1938 gegen die Verhaftung Martin Niemöllers protestiert hat, wird Ernst Wiechert am 6. Mai verhaftet und am 4. Juli 1938 als "Politischer" ins KZ Buchenwald eingeliefert. Nach drei Monaten entlassen und von Propagandaminister Goebbels persönlich gewarnt, zieht sich Ernst Wiechert immer mehr aus dem öffentlichen Leben zurück. Sein Roman "Das einfache Leben" über einen Kriegsheimkehrer in Ostpreußen wird 1939 ein großer Erfolg.

Nach der Befreiung veröffentlicht Ernst Wiechert den "Totenwald", einen literarischen Bericht von seiner Haft. Von den politischen Entwicklungen im Nachkriegsdeutschland bald enttäuscht, beklagt Wiechert die mangelnde Schuldeinsicht. Im Frühjahr 1948 übersiedelt er resigniert in die Schweiz, 1949 erscheint mit "Jahre und Zeiten" ein weiterer Band seiner Erinnerungen.

Am 24. August 1950 stirbt Ernst Wiechert in Uerikon, Schweiz.