Additional information

History of the memorial
Information on the National Buchenwald Memorial of the GDR can be found here.

Literature
Volkhard Knigge (ed.): Versteinertes Gedenken. Das Buchenwald Mahnmal von 1958, here.

Memorial complex

image

Aerial view

In keeping with a GDR government resolution, construction of the “Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald” ("National Buchenwald Memorial") got underway in 1954. By 1958, a monumental national memorial had been erected on the south slope of the Ettersberg. Three mass graves were incorporated into the design. The complex was conceived in such a way as to guide the visitors along a path from death to life: beginning at the crematorium and leading through the camp, the path then descends to the graves, and finally ascends to the bell tower as a symbol of freedom and light. The German Communist members of the resistance are the central element.

image

Photo: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Entrance gate

Here the descent to the graves begins.

image

Photo: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Stele-lined path

The path is lined with seven steles symbolizing the seven years of the concentration camp and bearing scenes depicting life in the camp. (Sculptors: René Graetz, Waldemar Grzimek and Hans Kies; texts on the reverse sides: Johannes R. Becher)

image

Photo: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Ring graves

In March/April 1945, the SS had approximately 3,000 corpses buried in natural depressions in the earth. Three of these burial pits were later landscaped as ring graves.

image

Photo: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Avenue of the Nations

The wide avenue connecting the ring graves is flanked by masonry pylons bearing the names of eighteen nations.

image

Photo: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Figural group

The ascent by way of a wide, light-hued stairway leads to the world-famous figural group by Fritz Cremer (restored in 2002–2005). It is dedicated to the resistance struggle in the camp.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

"Tower of Freedom"

In the interior, a bronze slab covers earth and ashes from other concentration camps and sites of terror. In the context of mass rallies, the assembly ground served the GDR as – among other things – a means of self-legitimization.

image

Photo: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Cemetery

Even after the liberation of the concentration camp, former inmates continued to die as a result of the conditions they had suffered during their imprisonment. Until July 1945 they were interred in graves arranged in rows on the southern slope of the Ettersberg. The 1,286 urns which had been stored in the cellar of the tower and in the crematorium are also buried here. The graves were partially shifted within the context of the memorial’s construction. Since 1996, the newly landscaped cemetery has displayed the names of the dead. The ashes found during restoration work in the crematorium in 1997 as well as skeletal remains which came to the memorial in 2004 from the collection of the Historisches Museum Berlin are likewise buried here.

Mehr zum Thema

Geschichte der Gedenkstätte
Informationen zur Nationalen Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald in der DDR finden Sie hier.

Literatur
Volkhard Knigge (Hg.): Versteinertes Gedenken. Das Buchenwald Mahnmal von 1958, hier.

Mahnmalsanlage

image

Flugaufnahme

Auf Beschluss der Regierung der DDR wurde 1954 mit dem Aufbau der "Nationalen Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald" begonnen. Bis 1958 entstand auf der Südseite des Ettersberges ein monumentales Nationaldenkmal. In die Gestaltung wurden drei große Massengräber einbezogen. Das didaktische Konzept der Anlage weist dem Besucher einen Weg vom Tod ins Leben: vom Krematorium durch das Lager kommend, führt der Weg hinunter zu den Gräbern und anschließend hinauf zum Glockenturm als dem Symbol der Freiheit und des Lichts. Im Zentrum stehen die deutschen kommunistischen Widerstandskämpfer.

image

Foto: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Eingangstor

Hier beginnt der Abstieg zu den Gräbern.

image

Foto: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Stelenweg

Der Weg ist von sieben Stelen gesäumt, die symbolisch für die sieben Jahre des KZ stehen und Szenen aus dem Lagerleben erinnern (Bildhauer: René Graetz, Waldemar Grzimek und Hans Kies; Texte auf der Rückseite: Johannes R. Becher).

image

Foto: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Ringgräber

In natürlichen Erdsenken ließ die SS im März/April 1945 etwa 3000 Tote verscharren. Drei der Grabtrichter wurden als Ringgräber gestaltet.

image

Foto: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Straße der Nationen

Entlang einer breiten Straße, die die Ringgräber verbindet, stehen gemauerte Pylonen mit den Namen von 18 Nationen.

image

Foto: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Denkmalgruppe

Der Aufstieg über eine breite, hell gepflasterte Treppe führt zur weltberühmten, von Fritz Cremer geschaffenen Figurengruppe (2002–2005 restauriert). Sie ist dem Widerstandskampf im Lager gewidmet.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

"Turm der Freiheit"

Im Inneren unter einer Bronzeplatte: Erde und Asche aus anderen Konzentrationslagern und Terrorstätten. Der Versammlungsplatz diente der DDR bei Massenkundgebungen u. a. als Stätte der Selbstlegitimation.

image

Foto: Jürgen M. Pietsch

Friedhof

Nach der Befreiung des Konzentrationslagers starben noch viele Menschen an den Folgen der Lagerhaft. Vierhundert Tote wurden bis Juni 1945 auf der Südseite des Ettersberges im Bereich des damaligen Bismarckturms in Reihengräbern bestattet. Auch 1286 Urnen, die im Keller des Turms und im Krematorium gelegen hatten, wurden dort beigesetzt. Beim Bau des Mahnmals erfolgte eine teilweise Umbettung der Reihengräber. Seit 1996 führt der neu gestaltete Friedhof die Namen der Toten auf. Die 1997 bei Restaurierungsarbeiten im Krematorium gefundene Asche sowie 2004 aus der Sammlung des Deutschen Historischen Museums Berlin übergebene Knochenreste wurden hier ebenfalls beigesetzt.