Additional information

SS officers’ colony
Information can be found here.

Memorial complex
Information can be found here.

Soviet Special Camp No. 2
Information on the history can be found here.

Cemeteries

image

Photo: Katharina Brand

Ash grave

In 1944/45, the SS had ashes from the crematorium dumped into a natural depression in the earth near the SS officers’ colony. The ash grave was rediscovered in 1965, landscaped and dedicated in 1967, and later neglected. After being uncovered once again in 1993/94, it was furnished with MEMENTO stones from the 1949 "Grove of Honour".

image

Photo: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Ring graves

In March/April 1945, the SS had approximately 3,000 corpses buried in natural depressions in the earth on the southern slope of the Ettersberg. Within the framework of the memorial’s construction in the 1950s, three of these burial pits were landscaped as ring graves.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Cemetery near the bell tower

Even after the liberation of the concentration camp, former inmates continued to die as a result of the conditions they had suffered during their imprisonment. Between the end of April and June 1945, 400 dead were interred in graves arranged in rows on the southern slope of the Ettersberg near the Bismarck Tower. The 1,286 urns which had been stored in the cellar of the tower and in the crematorium were also buried here. The graves were shifted within the context of the memorial’s construction. Since 1996, the newly landscaped cemetery has displayed the names of the dead.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Ashes and skeletal remains

The ashes found during restoration work in the crematorium in 1997 as well as skeletal remains which came to the memorial in 2004 from the collection of the Historisches Museum Berlin are buried here at the cemetery near the bell tower.

image

Photo: Peter Hansen

Earth and ashes

In the interior of the bell tower there are earth and ashes from other sites of National Socialist terror, concentration and extermination camps. They were brought to Buchenwald in April 1954 within the framework of a memorial ceremony. The names of the sites are inscribed in a bronze slab designed by the sculptor Waldemar Grzimek to serve as a cover and marker.

image

Photo: Naomi Tereza Salmon

The graveyards of the Soviet special camp

At the end of 1989, the public learned of the existence of graveyards where the victims of the Soviet special camp were buried. The anonymous mass graves to the north of the camp and near the railway station were marked with steel steles and landscaped as forest cemeteries. In February 1990, the memorial erected the first cross in the northern graveyard. That site eventually became an place of individual mourning with crosses and commemorative stones.

Mehr zum Thema

SS-Führersiedlung
Informationen finden Sie hier.

Mahnmalsanlage
Informationen finden Sie hier.

Sowjetisches Speziallager Nr. 2
Informationen zur Geschichte finden Sie hier.

Friedhöfe

image

Foto: Katharina Brand

Aschegrab

In einer Erdsenke in unmittelbarer Nähe der SS-Führersiedlung ließ die SS 1944/45 die Asche aus dem Krematorium verkippen. Das Aschegrab wurde 1965 wiederentdeckt, 1967 gestaltet und eingeweiht, später vernachlässigt. Nach der erneuten Freilegung 1993/94 wurde es mit MEMENTO-Steinen des "Ehrenhains" von 1949 versehen.

image

Foto: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Ringgräber

Auf der Südseite des Ettersberges ließ die SS im März/April 1945 etwa 3000 Tote des KZ in natürlichen Erdsenken verscharren. Drei der Grabtrichter wurden im Zuge des Baus der Mahnmalsanlage in den 50er Jahren als Ringgräber gestaltet.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Friedhof am Glockenturm

Auch nach der Befreiung des Konzentrationslagers starben noch viele ehemalige Häftlinge an den Haftfolgen. 400 Tote wurden von Ende April bis Juni 1945 auf der Südseite des Ettersberges im Bereich des damaligen Bismarckturms in Reihengräbern bestattet. Auch 1286 Urnen, die im Keller des Turms und im Krematorium gelegen hatten, wurden dort beigesetzt. Beim Bau des Mahnmals erfolgte eine Umbettung der Reihengräber. Seit 1996 führt der neu gestaltete Friedhof die Namen der Toten auf.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Asche und Knochenreste

Auf dem Friedhof am Glockenturm wurden auch die 1997 bei Restaurierungsarbeiten im Krematorium gefundene Asche sowie 2004 aus der Sammlung des Deutschen Historischen Museums Berlin übergebene Knochenreste beigesetzt.

image

Foto: Peter Hansen

Erde und Asche

Im Inneren des Glockenturms befinden sich Erde und Asche aus anderen nationalsozialistischen Terrorstätten, Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslagern. Sie waren im April 1954 im Rahmen einer Gedenkzeremonie nach Buchenwald gebracht worden. Die Namen der Orte sind in die darüber liegende, von dem Bildhauer Waldemar Grzimek gestaltete Bronzeplatte eingearbeitet.

image

Foto: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Gräberfelder des sowjetischen Speziallagers

Ende 1989 erfuhr die Öffentlichkeit von den Gräberfeldern mit den Opfern des sowjetischen Speziallagers. Die anonymen Massengräber nördlich des Lagers und in der Nähe des Bahnhofs wurden mit Stahlstelen markiert und zu Waldfriedhöfen gestaltet. Im Februar 1990 hatte die Gedenkstätte im nördlichen Gräberfeld ein erstes Kreuz aufgestellt. An dieser Stelle entstand ein individueller Trauerplatz mit Kreuzen und Gedenksteinen.