Third meeting of the historians’ commission on the new conception of the memorial with representatives of the victims’ associations and other societal organizations. The chairman, Prof Dr Eberhard Jäckel (3rd fr. l.), opens the meeting, February 1992. Photo SGBuMD

The New Conception of the Memorial since 1990

The Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte (NMG) Buchenwald; dedicated in 1958 was conceived as a national GDR memorial; the resistance struggle carried out by the Communist inmates was overemphasized. For the most part, the fact that the SS had also held numerous other inmate groups in custody was suppressed. Those groups included victims of racist persecution (Jews as well as Sinti and Roma), "strangers to the community" (so-called work-shy, asocials, habitual offenders and homosexuals), Jehovah’s Witnesses and the women who were forced to perform labour in the armament industry at Buchenwald Concentration Camp subcamps. What is more, the existence and history of the Soviet Special Camp in Buchenwald was largely tabooed.

Against this background, the Buchenwald Memorial had to be comprehensively redesigned and restructured after the demise of the GDR. As early as November 1989, the staff of the National GDR Memorial developed a new working concept. In September 1991, the guidelines for the new conception were then formulated by a historians’ commission appointed by the Thuringian minister of science:

"Both the Nazi concentration camp and Soviet Special Camp No. 2 are to be commemorated.
The concentration camp is to be the primary focus. The commemoration of Special Camp No. 2 is to be subordinate.
The commemoration sites are to be distinctly separated spatially. [...]
The permanent exhibition, strongly influenced by the partiality of GDR historiography, must be newly conceived and designed on the basis of the present state of research. [...]
Further elucidation and long-term research work is required for the planning of a memorial to Special Camp No. 2, as well as for an exhibition on and documentation of that camp. [...]
The commission recommends the elucidation of the political background and history of the National Buchenwald Memorial of 1950–1990, its conception by the GDR, its exploitation for the purposes of state propaganda and its political instrumentalization in a larger context."


At a later session, the commission recommended "the erection of a new building for the exhibition commemorating the special camp. It should be a low building, located in the area downhill from the depot building and the disinfection station, where the camp borders the graveyard." It was recommended that the name "Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald" be changed to "Gedenkstätte Buchenwald" ("Buchenwald Memorial").>

Dritte Tagung der Historiker-Kommission zur Neukonzeption der Gedenkstätten mit Vertretern von Opferverbänden und gesellschaftlichen Organisationen. Der Vorsitzende, Prof. Dr. Eberhard Jäckel (Dritter von links), eröffnet die Sitzung, Februar 1992. Foto: SGBuMD.

Die Neukonzeption der Gedenkstätte seit 1990

Die 1958 eingeweihte Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte (NMG) Buchenwald war als Nationaldenkmal der DDR geplant worden, der Widerstandskampf der kommunistischen Häftlinge wurde überbetont. Dabei wurde weitgehend ausgeblendet, dass die SS im KZ Buchenwald noch zahlreiche andere Häftlingsgruppen festgehalten hatte: rassistisch Verfolgte (Juden sowie Sinti und Roma), "Gemeinschaftsfremde" (sogenannte Arbeitsscheue, Asoziale, Gewohnheitsverbrecher und Homosexuelle), Zeugen Jehovas sowie Frauen, die in Außenlagern des KZ Buchenwald Zwangsarbeit in der Rüstungsindustrie leisten mussten. Hinzu kam die weitgehende Tabuisierung der Existenz und Geschichte des sowjetischen Speziallagers Buchenwald.

Vor diesem Hintergrund war es nach dem Untergang der DDR erforderlich, die Gedenkstätte Buchenwald umfassend neu zu konzipieren. Bereits im November 1989 entwickelten Mitarbeiter der NMG Buchenwald ein neues Arbeitskonzept. Im September 1991 wurden dann die Leitlinien der Neukonzeption von einer vom thüringischen Wissenschaftsminister berufenen Historiker-Kommission formuliert:

"Es soll sowohl an das NS-Konzentrationslager als auch an das sowjetische Speziallager Nr. 2 erinnert werden.
Der Schwerpunkt soll auf dem Konzentrationslager liegen.
Die Erinnerung an das Speziallager Nr. 2 soll nachgeordnet werden.
Die Erinnerungsstätten sollen räumlich deutlich voneinander getrennt sein.[...]
Die von der Parteilichkeit der DDR-Geschichtsschreibung geprägte Dauerausstellung muss auf der Grundlage des Forschungsstandes neu konzipiert und neu gestaltet werden. [...]
Für die weitere Gestaltung einer Gedenkstätte zum Speziallager Nr. 2, für eine Ausstellung bzw. Dokumentation sind weitere Aufklärungen und langfristige Forschungsarbeit nötig.[...]
Die Kommission empfiehlt, die politische Vorgeschichte und Geschichte der NMG Buchenwald 1950–1990, ihre Gestaltung durch die DDR, ihre Verwendung zum Zweck der Staatspropaganda und ihre politische Instrumentalisierung in einem weiteren Kontext durch eine Dokumentation sichtbar zu machen."


In einer späteren Sitzung empfahl die Kommission, dass für "die Ausstellung, die an das Speziallager erinnert, ein neues Gebäude errichtet werden soll. Der Bau soll flach gehalten werden. Er soll in dem Areal unterhalb des Gebäudes der Effektenkammer und der Desinfektion seinen Platz finden, wo das Lager an das Gräberfeld grenzt." Empfohlen wurde die Änderung des Namens Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald in Gedenkstätte Buchenwald.

>