Ernst Federn

1914 (Vienna) - 2007 (Vienna)

Psychologist

"I venture to claim that some of the perpetrators suffer from an illness of the self, which causes their wishes to be of the kind that cannot be fulfilled within the boundaries of the law."



Ernst Federn was born in Vienna on 26 August 1914. His father, the psychoanalyst Paul Federn, was an employee of Sigmund Freud. In 1928, Federn, who had a Trotskyist orientation, became involved in the Social Democratic Party of Austria (SPÖ). He studied law in Vienna. Starting in 1934, he participated in acts of resistance against National Socialism and Austro-Fascism.

In March 1936, Federn was arrested for the first time. He was released in July and was forbidden to study. He was arrested again in November for "high treason", then released because of insufficient evidence in July 1937. The Gestapo arrested him on 14 March 1938, the day he gave notice of his intended marriage with Hilde Paar. Following incarceration in Vienna, he was taken to Dachau Concentration Camp in May 1938 and, as a "political inmate" and a Jew, to Buchenwald on 24 September 1938. There he worked as a night guard until 1942 and then as a mason.

Following liberation, Federn went first to live in Brussels, where he married Hilde Paar in February 1947. He put out some initial publications on psychology. In January 1948, he emigrated to New York. He worked in family counselling and psychotherapy in New York and Cleveland, Ohio, treating, among others, drug addicts. In 1954, he became a citizen of the USA. He published on the psychoanalysis and psychopathology of National Socialism, published the writings by Paul Federn and, with Herman Nunberg, the minutes of the Vienna Psychoanalytic Society. In 1972, he returned to Austria, where he played a decisive role in drawing up the Austrian penal code. From 1973 to 1987, Federn was the socio-psychological advisor for the penal institutions Stein and Favoriten (work with prisoners, supervision of guards). He was awarded the title of professor in 1979 and became an honorary member of the Vienna Psychoanalytic Society in 1988.

Ernst Federn died in Vienna on 24 June 2007.

Ernst Federn

1914 (Wien) - 2007 (ebenda)

Psychologe

"Ich erlaube mir zu behaupten, daß ein Teil der Täter unter einer Krankheit des Ichs leidet, die darin besteht, ihre Wünsche nicht so einzurichten, daß sie innerhalb des Gesetzes erfüllt werden können."



Am 26. August 1914 wird Ernst Federn in Wien geboren. Sein Vater, der Psychoanalytiker Paul Federn, ist Mitarbeiter von Sigmund Freud. Seit 1928 engagiert sich Ernst Federn in der SPÖ, mit trotzkistischer Orientierung. Er studiert Jura in Wien. Seit 1934 beteiligt er sich am Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus und den Austrofaschismus.

Im März 1936 wird Ernst Federn zum erstenmal verhaftet. Der Entlassung im Juli folgt das Studienverbot. Wegen "Hochverrats" wird er im November wieder verhaftet und im Juli 1937 aus Mangel an Beweisen entlassen. Am 14. März 1938, an dem Tag, an dem er sein Aufgebot mit Hilde Paar bestellt, verhaftet ihn die Gestapo. Nach der Haft in Wien, wird er im Mai 1938 in das KZ Dachau gebracht und von dort als "Politischer" und "Jude" am 24. September 1938 nach Buchenwald. Bis zum Oktober 1942 ist er als Nachtwächter eingesetzt, danach arbeitet er als Maurer.

Nach der Befreiung geht Ernst Federn zunächst nach Brüssel, wo er im Februar 1947 Hilde Paar heiratet. Erste Publikationen zum Bereich der Psychologie. Im Januar 1948 übersiedelt er nach New York. Tätigkeit als Familienberater und Psychotherapeut in New York und Cleveland (Ohio), unter anderem Behandlung von Drogenabhängigen. 1954 wird er Staatsbürger der USA. Arbeiten zur Psychoanalyse und Psychopathologie des Nationalsozialismus; Herausgabe der Schriften von Paul Federn, mit Herman Nunberg Herausgabe der Protokolle der "Wiener Psychoanalytischen Vereinigung". 1972 kehrt Ernst Federn nach Österreich zurück und arbeitet maßgeblich an der österreichischen Strafgesetzgebung mit. 1973-1987 ist er sozialpsychologischer Berater in den österreichischen Strafvollzugsanstalten "Stein" und "Favoriten" (Arbeit mit Gefangenen, Supervision des Wachpersonals). 1979 Verleihung des Professorentitels, 1988 Ehrenmitglied der Wiener Psychoanalytischen Vereinigung.

Ernst Federn stirbt am 24. Juni 2007 in Wien.