Contacts

Postal Address
Gedenkstätte Buchenwald
99427 Weimar
Germany

Visitor Information Centre
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 200
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 102
information(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Multimedia Guide Rental
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 200
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 102
itour(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Bookshop
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 151
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 102
buchhandlung(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Press and Public Relations Department
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 143
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 100
presse(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Archive
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 154
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 100
archiv(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Bank Details
Bank: Sparkasse Mittelthüringen
BIC: HELADEF1WEM
IBAN: DE38 8205 1000 0301 0091 71

Additional Information

Historical Overview
Information on the history of Buchenwald is available here.

Permanent Exhibitions
Information on the permanent exhibitions is available here.

Buchenwald Concentration Camp Book of the Dead
The online version is available here.

Clarification of the Fate of Individual Inmates
An online inquiry to the Buchenwald archives can be sent here. 

The Site Today
Information about the camp ruins is available here.

Literature
An annotated selection of literature is available here.

Download

Schedule of fees
PDF (50 KB)

Visitor guidelines
PDF (33 KB)

Link

Förderverein Buchenwald e.V.
Additional information is available here.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How much time is needed to view the memorial?

A tour of the former SS area and the inmates' camp takes approximately two hours. The documentary film about the Buchenwald Concentration Camp that may be viewed in the memorial screening room is approximately 30 minutes long. A tour of the memorial grounds on the south side of the Ettersberg hill takes approximately one hour. Additional time should be allowed if you wish to visit the permanent historical exhibitions "Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1937-1945" (1600 m2), "Soviet Special Camp No. 2, 1945-1950" (300 m2), "History of the Buchenwald Memorial" (300 m2), the art exhibition "Means of Survival – Testimony – Artwork –Visual Memory " (approx. 400 m2) and any temporary exhibitions.

What guidelines apply to a visit at the memorial?

The Buchenwald Memorial is a place of mass suffering and death. To preserve the character of the site as a memorial and as a place of burial, we ask that you observe a number of guidelines. Wearing clothing and symbols that are generally recognized to be manufactured or marketed within the right-wing extremist milieu is prohibited. Smoking is prohibited on the former inmates’ camp grounds, and we ask that you refrain from eating and drinking there.

Can group guided tours be booked at short notice?

Due to high demand, group tours should be booked at the visitor information centre as early as possible.

Are guided tours available for individual visitors?

The Förderverein Buchenwald e.V. association offers guided tours from Tuesdays through Sundays and on holidays in German for individual visitors; donations are greatly appreciated. The starting point is at the visitor information centre. In addition, multimedia guides in a number of languages may be rented for a small fee at the visitor information centre for individual tours.

What programmes and services are available to Non-German-speaking visitors?

Guided tours for individual visitors are held in German. The multimedia guides (iPod nano or iPod touch) for individual tours of the memorial are available in several different languages. Multimedia guides may be rented at the visitor information centre for a small fee. Guided tours for groups can be held in several different foreign languages by prior arrangement.

Is the memorial accessible to visitors with disabilities?

The visitor information centre, most of the exhibition buildings, the museum café, the archive and the library are fully accessible (with ramps, elevators, DIN-norm wheelchair-accessible restrooms). For additional information see the section of this website under "accessibility".

How much does a visit to the memorial cost?

The visit to the memorial and the exhibitions is free of charge. There are some fees associated with additional services, such as guided tours and renting multimedia guides.

Is filming or taking photographs permitted at the memorial?

The recording of films an taking of photographs intended solely for private use are permitted during individual tours of the memorial. Filming, audio recording, and the taking of photographs are not permitted on guided tours or during other educational programmes such as one- or multi-day projects. Exceptions will only be made with prior written permission obtained in advance from the Press and Publicity department. Such advance permission is required for all professional filming, audio recording, and photograph-taking.

May dogs be brought into the memorial?

Dogs are not permitted on the grounds of the former prisoners’ camp (with the exception of guide dogs). Outside this area, leashed dogs are permitted.

What is the minimum age for children at the memorial?

We recommend that you do not visit the former prison building, the former crematorium and the exhibitions with children under 12 years of age. The minimum age for participating in booked group tours is 15.

Is food and drink available for purchase at the memorial?

The museum café near the visitor car park offers a selection of food, snacks and drinks.

Where are the restrooms?

Restrooms for visitors are located at the museum café and in the museum buildings.

Where can I obtain information about the history of Buchenwald?

The historical overview on the memorial website provides an introduction to the history of Buchenwald. Additional information may be obtained by a visit to the permanent exhibitions and by consulting the cited literature in the section under "Collection & Research". Special inquiries can be sent to the memorial archive by e-mail or in writing.

Where can I obtain information about the history of Weimar under National Socialism?

The "Weimar under National Socialism" city tour is available online and as an informational brochure in the memorial bookshop. It may also be obtained from the Buchenwald Memorial information office at the Weimar Tourist Information Centre as a multimedia guide.

Where can I obtain information about prisoners of the Buchenwald Concentration Camp or Special Camp No. 2 at Buchenwald?

Information is available in the Book of the Dead of the concentration camp (which is online) and in the Book of the Dead of the Special Camp No. 2 (which can be purchased at the memorial bookshop and in our online shop). Inquiries about the fates of individual inmates may be directed to the archive.

Where can commemorative events be held?

Commemorative events in memory of prisoners of the concentration camp can be held at various sites on the memorial grounds, including the memorial to all prisoners located on the former muster ground, near memorials to individual prisoner groups, and in the commemorative rooms in the former prison building. For commemorative events honouring the victims of Special Camp No. 2 at Buchenwald, a site of mourning is also located near the cemetery downhill from the exhibition building. Please contact the visitor information centre in advance if you are planning a commemorative event.

How can I support the memorial’s work?

We are happy to accept donations to support our work. Voluntary work is also possible through the memorial and the Förderverein Buchenwald e.V. association.

Kontakte

Postanschrift
Gedenkstätte Buchenwald
99427 Weimar
Deutschland

Besucherinformation
Fon: +49 (0)3643 430 200
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 102
information(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Verleih Multimedia-Guides
Fon: +49 (0)3643 430 200
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 102
itour(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Buchhandlung
Fon: +49 (0)3643 430 151
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 102
buchhandlung(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Fon: +49 (0)3643 430 143
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 100
presse(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Archiv
Fon: +49 (0)3643 430 154
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 100
archiv(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Bankverbindung
Bank: Sparkasse Mittelthüringen
BLZ: 820 510 00
Konto: 301 009 171
BIC: HELADEF1WEM
IBAN: DE38 8205 1000 0301 0091 71

Mehr zum Thema

Historischer Überblick
Informationen zur Geschichte Buchenwalds finden Sie hier.

Dauerausstellungen
Informationen zu den ständigen Ausstellungen finden Sie hier.

Totenbuch KZ Buchenwald
Die Online-Version finden Sie hier.

Schicksalsklärung
Das Formular für Anfragen an das Archiv finden Sie hier.

Der Ort heute
Informationen zu den Überresten aus der Lagerzeit finden Sie hier.

Literatur
Eine kommentierte Literaturauswahl finden Sie hier. 

Download

Gebührenordnung
PDF (56 KB)

Besucherordnung
PDF (33 KB)

Link

Förderverein Buchenwald e.V.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Foto: Katharina Brand. Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Häufig gestellte Fragen (FAQ)

Wie viel Zeit sollte ich für den Gedenkstättenbesuch einplanen?

Ein Rundgang durch den ehemaligen SS-Bereich und das Häftlingslager dauert etwa zwei Stunden. Der Dokumentarfilm über das KZ Buchenwald, der im Kino der Gedenkstätte zu sehen ist, hat eine Länge von ca. ½ Stunde. Für die Besichtigung der Mahnmalsanlage auf der Südseite des Ettersberges sollte etwa eine Stunde eingeplant werden. Zusätzliche Zeit nimmt der Besuch der ständigen historischen Ausstellungen "Konzentrationslager Buchenwald 1937-1945" (1600 qm), "Sowjetisches Speziallager Nr. 2 1945-1950" (300‍‌ qm), "Geschichte der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald" (300 qm), der Kunstausstellung "Überlebensmittel – Zeugnis – Kunstwerk – Bildgedächtnis" (ca. 400 qm) bzw. der jeweiligen Sonderausstellungen in Anspruch.

Was muss ich in der Gedenkstätte beachten?

Die Gedenkstätte Buchenwald ist ein Ort des Gedenkens, ein Ort, an dem Menschen litten und starben, ein Friedhof. Beim Besuch ist auf angemessene Kleidung zu achten. Das Tragen von Kleidungsstücken und Symbolen, deren Herstellung oder Vertrieb nach allgemein anerkannter Ansicht im rechtsextremen Feld anzusiedeln sind, ist untersagt. Auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers ist das Rauchen verboten, auf Essen und Trinken sollte verzichtet werden.

Können Gruppen in der Gedenkstätte kurzfristig geführt werden?

Wegen der großen Nachfrage müssen Gruppenführungen rechtzeitig vor dem Gedenkstättenbesuch bei der Besucherinformation angemeldet werden.

Gibt es Führungen für Einzelbesucher?

Der Förderverein Buchenwald e.V. bietet auf Spendenbasis von Dienstag bis Sonntag und an Feiertagen deutschsprachige Führungen für Einzelbesucher an. Sie beginnen an der Besucherinformation. Zudem besteht dort die Möglichkeit, für einen individuellen Rundgang durch die Gedenkstätte Multimedia-Guides in verschiedenen Sprachen auszuleihen.

Welche Angebote gibt es für fremdsprachige Besucher?

Die Führungen für Einzelpersonen finden auf Deutsch statt. Bei der Nutzung eines Multimedia-Guide (iPod nano bzw. iPod touch) für einen individuellen Rundgang durch die Gedenkstätte stehen je nach Gerät unterschiedliche Sprachen zur Verfügung. Multimedia-Guides können in der Besucherinformation gegen Gebühr ausgeliehen werden. Angemeldete Gruppenführungen können nach Absprache auch in verschiedenen Fremdsprachen abgehalten werden.

Ist die Gedenkstätte für Personen mit einer Behinderung zugänglich?

Die Besucherinformation, die meisten Ausstellungsgebäude, das Museumscafé sowie Archiv und Bibliothek sind barrierefrei (Rampen, Aufzüge, WC für Rollstuhlfahrer nach DIN). Weitere Informationen finden Sie im Bereich "Barrierefreiheit".

Welche Kosten muss ich für den Besuch einplanen?

Der Besuch der Gedenkstätte und der Ausstellungen ist kostenlos. Lediglich für die Nutzung spezieller Bildungsangebote wie etwa die Teilnahme an Führungen oder die Ausleihe von Multimedia-Guides sind Gebühren zu entrichten.

Darf in der Gedenkstätte fotografiert oder gefilmt werden?

Bei einem individuellen Rundgang durch die Gedenkstätte sind Foto- und Filmaufnahmen für private Zwecke möglich. Während der Teilnahme an Führungen sowie an anderen pädagogischen Angeboten wie ein- oder mehrtägigen Projekten ist das Fotografieren und die Anfertigung von Film- und Tonaufnahmen untersagt. Ausnahmen bedürfen einer schriftlichen Genehmigung durch die Abteilung Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Gedenkstätte auf Grundlage einer rechtzeitigen vorherigen Anmeldung. Für professionelle Film-, Ton- und Fotoaufnahmen ist eine solche Genehmigung ebenfalls Voraussetzung.

Dürfen Hunde mit in die Gedenkstätte gebracht werden?

Auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers sind Hunde nicht erlaubt (ausgenommen Blindenführhunde). Außerhalb dieses Bereiches ist das Mitführen angeleinter Hunde möglich.

Ab welchem Alter sollten Kinder die Gedenkstätte besuchen?

Es wird empfohlen, die ehemaligen Arrestzellen, das ehemalige Krematorium und die Museen nicht mit Kindern unter 12 Jahren zu besuchen. Das Mindestalter für die Teilnahme an Führungen beträgt 15 Jahre.

Gibt es in der Gedenkstätte die Möglichkeit sich zu verpflegen?

Das direkt am Besucherparkplatz befindliche Museumscafé bietet eine Auswahl an Snacks, Speisen und Getränken.

Wo finde ich Toiletten?

Besuchertoiletten befinden sich am Museumscafé sowie in den Museumsgebäuden.

Wo finde ich Informationen zur Geschichte Buchenwalds?

Eine Einführung bieten der historische Überblick auf den Internetseiten der Gedenkstätte, die unter "Sammlung & Forschung" aufgeführten Literaturhinweise sowie ein Besuch der Dauerausstellungen. Spezielle Anfragen können schriftlich oder per E-Mail an das Archiv der Gedenkstätte gerichtet werden.

Wie kann ich mich über die nationalsozialistische Geschichte Weimars informieren?

Der Stadtrundgang "Weimar im Nationalsozialismus" steht online, ist als Informationsbroschüre in der Buchhandlung der Gedenkstätte erhältlich und kann als Multimedia-Guide bei der Buchenwald Information in der Tourist-Information Weimar entliehen werden.

Wie bekomme ich Informationen zu Häftlingen des Konzentrationslagers Buchenwald bzw. des Speziallagers Nr. 2 Buchenwald?

Informationen bieten die Totenbücher zu KZ (online) und Speziallager (in der Buchhandlung vor Ort und in unserem Online-Shop erhältlich). Weitergehende begründete Anfragen zu Haftschicksalen können an das Archiv gerichtet werden.

Wo können Gedenkveranstaltungen abgehalten werden?

Gedenkveranstaltungen in Erinnerung an die Häftlinge des Konzentrationslagers können beispielsweise am Denkmal für alle Opfer auf dem ehemaligen Appellplatz, an Denkmalen für einzelne Opfergruppen oder in den Gedenkräumen im ehemaligen Arrestzellenbau abgehalten werden. Für Gedenkveranstaltungen in Erinnerung an die Opfer des Speziallagers Nr. 2 Buchenwald steht am Gräberfeld unterhalb des Ausstellungsgebäudes ein Trauerplatz zur Verfügung. Bitte melden Sie Ihre Veranstaltung rechtzeitig vorher in der Besucherinformation an.

Wie kann ich die Arbeit der Gedenkstätte unterstützen?

Gern können Sie unsere Arbeit mit einer Spende unterstützen. Auch ein ehrenamtliches Engagement ist in der Gedenkstätte und im Förderverein Buchenwald e.V. möglich.