DP Camp Dora inmates with the director of the French UNRRA team. 29 June 1945. Photo: NARA, College Park, MD.

DP and repatriation camp

After the liberation, the American occupation troops and the UNRRA (United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration) cooperated to make the camp buildings suitable for the accommodation of "displaced persons" (DPs). This was the designation given liberated concentration camp inmates and former forced labourers from all over Europe. The UNRRA organised the return to their home countries.

Until mid May 1945 alone, some 14,000 persons were waiting at the DP-Camp "Dora" for their return home. In addition to several hundred liberated concentration camp inmates, they included above all former foreign civilian forced labourers. Most of the DPs from Western Europe, who were fit for transport, could return to their home countries very soon after their liberation. Surviors from Eastern European states usually had to wait for months for their repatriation and often were under general suspicion of having collaborated with the Germans.

In July 1945 Thuringia was placed under Soviet occupation administration. The DP-Camp became a Soviet "repatriation camp", which was already dissolved in October. In November 1945 the last transport with 166 DPs left Nordhausen.

Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner des DP-Camps Dora mit dem französischen UNRRA-Team-Direktor. 29. Juni 1945. Foto: NARA, College Park, MD.

DP-Camp und Repatriierungslager

Nach der Befreiung begannen die amerikanischen Besatzungstruppen in Zusammenarbeit mit der UNRRA (United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration), die Baracken und Funktionsgebäude des Lagers als Unterkünfte für "Displaced Persons" (DPs) einzurichten. Als DPs wurden befreite KZ-Häftlinge und ehemalige Zwangsarbeiter*innen bezeichnet, die aus ganz Europa stammten und deren Rückkehr in die Herkunftsländer die UNRRA organisierte.

Allein bis Mitte Mai 1945 warteten im DP-Camp "Dora" etwa 14.000 Menschen auf die Rückkehr in ihre Heimat - neben einigen Hundert befreiten KZ-Häftlingen vor allem zivile ausländische Zwangsarbeiter*innen. Transportfähige DPs aus Westeuropa konnten nach der Befreiung meist rasch in ihre Heimatländer zurückkehren. Viele Überlebende aus osteuropäischen Staaten mussten hingegen monatelang auf ihre Repatriierung warten und standen häufig unter dem Generalverdacht der Kollaboration mit den Deutschen.

Im Juli 1945 übergab die US-Armee Thüringen an die sowjetische Militäradministration. Aus dem DP-Camp wurde ein sowjetisches "Repatriierungslager", dessen Auflösung jedoch bereits im Oktober erfolgte. Im November 1945 verließ ein letzter Transport mit 166 DPs die Stadt Nordhausen.