image

The muster ground

Prisoners (Roma Gypsies from Burgenland) in inmates' uniforms on the muster ground. Day in and day out, as many as 20.000 inmates formed up here at dawn for roll call. In the evening, after ten or more hours of forced labour, the procedure was repeated. Among the remains of the old asphalt paving, a few white travertine stones can still be found; they originally served as markers for the formation of the inmates. Still discernible here and there, their arrangement bears witness to the true purpose of the roll call: to have the inmates march, form up in blocks, tear their caps from their heads, stand and sometimes sing for hours on end. Carried out systematically, the ordeal was part of the programme of humiliation. There were roll calls which lasted as many as seventy-two hours with no other aim than to terrorize the inmates. The refusal to participate was punishable by death. Before them, the inmates saw the window hatches of the detention cell building from which the screams of tortured victims reached their ears. On the muster ground, half-naked prisoners were also subjected to corporal punishment and fellow inmates hanged on the gallows in the presence of the entire camp population. Photo: SS, 1939. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington

image

Memorial Service on 19 April 1945

Liberated inmates attending the first memorial service for the dead of Buchenwald. In the background to the left the crematorium, to the right the gate building, in front of it the wooden obelisk. Of the altogether 250.000 inmates of the camp, 56.000 died in Buchenwald and its more than one hundred subcamps alone, and more in other parent camps to which they were deported. One week after liberation, inmates erected a wooden obelisk on the muster ground. Its dimensions are reflected today by metal markers embedded in the ground on the spot where the original monument stood. On 19 April 1945, the first memorial service in honour of the dead of Buchenwald Concentration Camp took place here. The event had been organized by the International Camp Committee. The survivors also took this opportunity to thank the Allied troops, and they vowed: "We will only halt our struggle when the last perpetrator stands before the judges of the peoples! The extermination of Nazism with its roots is our slogan. The building of a new world of peace and freedom is our goal." Photo: U.S. Army, 19. April 1945. National Archives, Washington

image

The Commemorative Symbol on the former muster ground

In the place where inmate survivors erected a wooden obelisk on the muster ground on 19 April 1945, there is now a memorial plaque dedicated to all of the dead of Buchenwald Concentration Camp. In 1995, the year marking the fiftieth anniversary of the liberation of Buchenwald, a symbol commemorating all of the victims of Buchenwald Concentration Camp was dedicated on the former muster ground. This had proven necessary in part because the GDR memorial on the southern slope of the Ettersberg reflected the persecution neither of the Jews nor of the Sinti and Roma Gypsies. The new symbol marks the spot on which the wooden obelisk was erected in the spring of 1945 for the first memorial service. It was designed according to a very reductive concept: a metal plaque embedded in the ground echoes the outline of the obelisk. It is engraved with the acronym "K. L. B." (for “Konzentrationslager Buchenwald”) as well as the names of more than fifty victim groups. Four further steel markers indicate the full dimensions of the monument of 1945. Photo: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

image

The Commemorative Symbol on the former muster ground

Commemorative Symbol on the former muster ground. The present-day symbol of remembrance was designed and realized by Horst Hoheisel and Andreas Knitz. One element of the plaque is invisible: its centre is kept at human body temperature (36.5 °C / 97.7 °F) as a symbol of that which unites every person whom the National Socialists denied their right to life: their humanity. Since 1995, the International Committee of Buchenwald-Dora and Subcamps has organized a memorial service for all of the victims of the camp every year in April. Photo: Claus Bach. SGBuMD

image

Der Appellplatz

Gefangene in Häftlingskleidung (Burgenländer Roma) auf dem Appellplatz. Tag für Tag marschierten hier bis zu zwanzigtausend Häftlinge im Morgengrauen zum Zählappell auf. Am Abend, nach zehn oder mehr Stunden Zwangsarbeit, wiederholte sich diese Prozedur. Zwischen den Resten der alten Asphaltdecke findet man vereinzelt weiße Travertinsteine, Aufmarschmarkierungen für die Häftlinge. In ihrer hier und da noch erkennbaren Ordnung zeugen sie vom eigentlichen Zweck des Appells: Marschieren, antreten, blockweise formieren, Mützen herunterreißen, endlos stehen oder stundenlang singen. Das hatte System und gehörte zum Programm menschlicher Entwürdigung. Manche Appelle dauerten bis zu 72 Stunden und hatten keinerlei Sinn, außer die Häftlinge zu terrorisieren. Sich dem Drill zu verweigern, war tödlich. Vor ihren Augen hatten die Häftlinge die Fensterluken des Bunkers, aus denen die Schreie der Gefolterten drangen. Auf dem Appellplatz wurden auch halbnackte Menschen vor allen Augen ausgepeitscht, Mitgefangene am Galgen erhängt. Foto: SS, 1939. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington

image

Gedenkfeier am 19. April 1945

Befreite Häftlinge bei der ersten Gedenkfeier für die Toten Buchenwalds. Im Hintergrund links das Krematorium und rechts das Torgebäude, davor der hölzerne Obelisk. Von den 250.000 Häftlingen des Lagers starben allein in Buchenwald und seinen über Hundert Außenlagern 56.000, noch mehr in anderen Hauptlagern, in die sie danach verschleppt wurden. Eine Woche nach der Befreiung errichteten Häftlinge auf dem Appellplatz einen hölzernen Obelisk. Seine Ausmaße sind heute durch die in den Boden eingelassenen Metallwinkel des an gleicher Stelle befindlichen Erinnerungszeichens angedeutet. Am 19. April 1945 fand hier die erste Gedenkfeier zu Ehren der Toten des KZ Buchenwald statt. Das Internationale Lagerkomitee hatte sie organisiert. Die Überlebenden dankten dabei auch den alliierten Truppen und schworen: "Wir stellen den Kampf erst ein, wenn auch der letzte Schuldige vor den Richtern der Völker steht! Die Vernichtung des Nazismus mit seinen Wurzeln ist unsere Losung. Der Aufbau einer neuen Welt des Friedens und der Freiheit ist unser Ziel." Foto: U.S. Army, 19. April 1945. National Archives, Washington

image

Denkmal auf dem ehemaligen Appellplatz

Dort, wo am 19. April 1945 überlebende Häftlinge auf dem Appellplatz einen Obelisken aus Holz errichtet hatten, befindet sich heute das Denkmal für alle Toten des KZ Buchenwald. Zum 50. Jahrestag der Befreiung des KZ Buchenwald wurde 1995 auf dem ehemaligen Appellplatz ein Erinnerungszeichen für alle Opfer des KZ Buchenwald gesetzt. Dies war unter anderem notwendig geworden, da das Mahnmal der DDR auf der Südseite des Ettersberges weder an die Verfolgung der Juden, noch der Sinti und Roma erinnert. Das Denkmal markiert den Ort, an dem sich im Frühjahr 1945 der hölzerne Obelisk der ersten Gedenkfeier befand. Man entschied sich für ein sehr reduziertes Konzept: Eine in den Boden eingelassene Metallplatte nimmt den Umriss des Obelisken auf. Sie ist graviert mit dem Akronym "K. L. B.", sowie den Namen von mehr als 50 Opfergruppen. Vier weitere Edelstahlwinkel markieren die Gesamtgröße des Denkmals von 1945. Foto: Peter Hansen. SGBuMD

image

Denkmal auf dem ehemaligen Appellplatz

Gedenkzeichen auf dem ehemaligen Appellplatz. Das heutige Erinnerungszeichen wurde von Horst Hoheisel und Andreas Knitz entworfen und realisiert. Eine Besonderheit ist zunächst nicht sichtbar: Die Mitte des Gedenkzeichens ist auf menschliche Körpertemperatur (36,5 Grad Celsius) beheizt. Als Zeichen dafür, was alle, denen die Nationalsozialisten ihr Lebensrecht absprachen, vereint: Ihr Menschsein. Seit 1995 organisiert an dieser Stelle das Internationale Komitee Buchenwald-Dora und Kommandos (IKBD) jedes Jahr im April eine Gedenkfeier für alle Toten des Lagers. Foto: Claus Bach. SGBuMD