Contact

Library
Stefan Lochner
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 160
bibliothek(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Links

Library of the Buchenwald Memorial
The online catalogue can be found here

Association of Memorial Site Libraries (AGGB)
The joint online catalogue can be found here

View of the memorial library. Photo: Claus Bach. Buchenwald Memorial

Library

The memorial's research library currently holds approximately 38,000 volumes addressing the themes of National Socialism, the concentration camp, Stalinism and the special camps, memory and commemoration, museology, education, and the teaching of history.

The library is central to the memorial's educational work, and provides support to university and high school students working on topics within its area of focus. Additionally, the library serves scholars and visitors to the memorial, as well as participants in seminars intended for multipliers who are working on issues related to developing educational programmes for groups.

The reading room is equipped with work spaces and the library is open to the public for reference purposes. In the Memorial’s youth centre there is a collection of some 600 volumes, classified according to various subjects, intended especially for use in group projects carried out under the supervision of the memorial education staff.

The library is a member of the Association of Memorial Site Libraries (AGGB), which was founded in 1998. The joint online catalogue currently includes the inventories of nine memorial libraries.

Search the online-catalogue here:

Kontakt

Bibliothek
Sie können die Bibliothek nach Voranmeldung besuchen:
Sandra Greuel
Fon: +49 (0)3643 430 160
bibliothek(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Mehr zum Thema

Bibliothekskatalog
Die Onlineversion finden Sie hier.

Arbeitsgemeinschaft Gedenkstättenbibliotheken
Den Online-Verbundkatalog finden Sie hier.

Download

Benutzungsordnung
PDF (185 KB)

Gebührenordnung
PDF (112 KB)

Blick in die Bibliothek der Gedenkstätte. Foto: Claus Bach. Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Bibliothek

Die wissenschaftliche Spezialbibliothek der Gedenkstätte mit den Sammelschwerpunkten Nationalsozialismus, Konzentrationslager, Speziallager und Stalinismus, Erinnerungskultur, Museologie, Pädagogik und Geschichtsdidaktik umfasst derzeit einen Bestand von ca. 38.000 Einheiten.

Die fest in die pädagogische Arbeit der Gedenkstätte eingebundene Bibliothek betreut Schüler- und Studentengruppen, die innerhalb der o. g. Themenbereiche arbeiten. Nutzer der Bibliothek sind darüber hinaus Wissenschaftler und Besucher der Gedenkstätte, aber auch Teilnehmer von Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen für Multiplikatoren, die sich über die Arbeitsmöglichkeiten mit Gruppen informieren.

Großzügig eingerichtete Benutzerräume bieten gute Arbeitsmöglichkeiten. Die Bibliothek ist als Präsenzbibliothek öffentlich zugänglich. In der Internationalen Jugendbegegnungsstätte der Gedenkstätte steht zudem speziell für die Projektarbeit mit Gruppen eine Handbibliothek mit etwa 600 Bänden zur Verfügung.

Die Bibliothek gehört der 1998 gegründeten Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Gedenkstättenbibliotheken (AGGB) an. Der gemeinsame Onlineverbundkatalog umfasst derzeit neun Gedenkstätten-Bibliotheken.

Hier können Sie direkt in unserer Bibliotheksdatenbank suchen: