Additional information

The GDR Memorial
A description of the current state of the GDR Memorial can be found here.

Memorial re-design
Information about the post-1990 re-design of the memorial can be found here.

Monuments and commemorative installations
Information regarding commemorative sites throughout the former camp grounds can be found here.

Download

"Oath of Buchenwald" (German version)
Proclaimed by the liberated survivors on April 19, 1945.
PDF (538 KB)

image

Photo: Naomi Tereza Salmon

The exhibition building

next to the GDR Memorial

image

Photo: Claus Bach

In the exhibition

Designs by Fritz Cremer for the sculpture at the GDR Buchenwald Memorial

image

Photo: Claus Bach

The former East Germany

The five principles of memorialization and remembrance of Buchenwald in the former East Germany

The History of the Buchenwald Memorial

A permanent exhibition on the history of the Buchenwald Memorial from 1945 until its redesign in the 1990s is located near the GDR Memorial. This exhibition is housed in a building dating from the 1970s which has since been renovated and expanded for the purpose. Covering approximately 300 square metres, the exhibition includes documents, photographs, objects and models that illuminate how the concentration camp was memorialized in the years after the war. The exhibition, which opened in 1999, is based primarily on material drawn from the archives of the former East Germany.

The exhibition is divided into the following sections:

After the Liberation

In view of the crimes / Showing the crimes - The international public / Buchenwald and the Germans / Interments and commemorations / Political activities / Initial inmates' reports

From Monument in Weimar to Memorial Grove on the Ettersberg

The first memorial proposal / The counter project / The forgotten camp cemetery. "Memorial to the Unknown Victims of Fascism" / SED (Socialist Unity Party of Germany) investigations against the "red kapos" / Incriminations from the West / "Memorial to the Resistance Movement" in Weimar / Sluggish restoration of the camp cemetery. The SED calls for a memorial proposal / The Buchenwald Committee project is discontinued

Biographies

Excluded memories / Disciplined and condemned comrades

From Buchenwald Committee Memorial to National GDR Memorial

The Buchenwald National Museum / The Soviet authorities turn the camp over to the GDR / The demolition of the barracks / Afforestation projects / Protests against the demolition / Deliberations concerning an international memorial competition / The restricted memorial competitions of the VVN (Association of the Victims of Nazi Persecution) / Winner of first place in the "Memorial Grove" competition / Other competition entries / Designs for a Thalmann Memorial in the crematorium / "Museum of the Resistance Movement" / The designing of the camp grounds / The compulsory dissolution of the VVN / The nationalization of the memorial project / The reactivation of the competition winners / Changes in the memorial / The construction process / The memorial as a national work of reconstruction / The stele path / The tower of freedom / Preparations for the inauguration

Leitmotifs of Commemoration in Buchenwald

The Oath of Buchenwald / The Self-Liberation / Ernst Thalmann / The Goethe Oak / “Naked Among Wolves”

Commemoration in West Germany

Neuengamme / Dachau

The National Buchenwald Memorial in the GDR

 

The New Conception

Mehr zum Thema

Mahnmalsanlage
Eine Dokumentation über den aktuellen Zustand finden Sie hier.

Neukonzeption der Gedenkstätte
Informationen zur Neukonzeption seit 1990 finden Sie hier.

Denkmale
Informationen zu Erinnerungsorten auf dem ehemaligen Lagergelände finden Sie hier.

Download

"Schwur von Buchenwald"
Am 19.04.1945 von den befreiten Häftlingen verkündet
PDF (538 KB)

image

Foto: Naomi Tereza Salmon

Das Ausstellungsgebäude

nahe der Mahnmalsanlage.

image

Foto: Claus Bach

In der Ausstellung

Entwürfe von Fritz Cremer für die Figurengruppe des Buchenwald-Mahnmals.

image

Foto: Claus Bach

DDR-Zeit

Die fünf Leitmotive der Buchenwalderinnerung in der DDR.

Die Geschichte der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

In unmittelbarer Nähe zur Mahnmalsanlage befindet sich die Dauerausstellung zur Geschichte der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald von 1945 bis zur Neukonzeption in den neunziger Jahren. Ein aus den siebziger Jahren stammendes, dem Mahnmal zugeordnetes Gebäude wurde für die Ausstellung umgebaut und erweitert. Auf einer Fläche von etwa 300 m² lassen Dokumente, Bilder, Gegenstände und Modelle deutlich werden, wie die Erinnerungsbildung in Bezug auf das Konzentrationslager Buchenwald seit 1945 erfolgte. Der 1999 eröffneten Ausstellung liegt vor allem Material aus Archiven der ehemaligen DDR zugrunde.

Die Ausstellung gliedert sich in folgende Abschnitte:

Nach der Befreiung

Angesichts der Verbrechen / Die Verbrechen zeigen / Internationale Öffentlichkeit / Buchenwald und die Deutschen / Bestattungen und Gedenken / Politische Aktivitäten / Erste Berichte von Häftlingen

Vom Denkmal in Weimar zum Ehrenhain auf dem Ettersberg

Der erste Denkmalvorschlag / Das Gegenprojekt / Der vergessene Lagerfriedhof / "Denkmal für die unbekannten Opfer des Faschismus" / SED-Untersuchungen gegen die roten Kapos / Anschuldigungen aus dem Westen / "Denkmal der Widerstandsbewegung" in Weimar / Schleppende Instandsetzung des Lagerfriedhofs / Die SED fordert einen Denkmalvorschlag / Das Projekt des Buchenwald-Komitees wird abgebrochen

Biografien

Ausgeschlossene Erinnerungen / Disziplinierte und verurteilte Genossen

Vom Denkmal des Buchenwald-Komitees zum Nationaldenkmal der DDR

Nationalmuseum Buchenwald / Übergabe des Lagers durch sowjetische Behörden /  Der Abriss der Baracken / Aufforstungen / Proteste gegen den Abriss / Überlegungen für einen internationalen Denkmalwettbewerb / Beschränkte Denkmalwettbewerbe der WN / Sieger des Denkmalwettbewerbs "Ehrenhain" / Weitere Wettbewerbsbeiträge / Entwürfe für eine Thälmann-Gedenkstätte im Krematorium / "Museum der Widerstandsbewegung" / Gestaltung des Lagergeländes / Die Zwangsauflösung der VVN / Die Verstaatlichung des Denkmalprojekts / Reaktivierung der Wettbewerbssieger / Änderungen am Mahnmal / Bauverlauf / Die Gedenkstätte als nationales Aufbauwerk / Der Stelenweg / Der Turm der Freiheit / Vorbereitungen für die Einweihung

Leitmotive der Buchenwald-Erinnerung

Der Schwur von Buchenwald / Die Selbstbefreiung / Ernst Thälmann / Die Goethe-Eiche / "Nackt unter Wölfen"

Erinnerung in Westdeutschland

Neuengamme / Dachau

Die Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald in der DDR


Die Neukonzeption