Dwight D. Eisenhower (centre) in front of a grid the SS had fashioned from railway tracks for the purpose of burning the corpses of dead inmates from the mass graves, April 12, 1945. Photo: Moore, U.S. Signal Corps. National Archives Washington

On April 4, 1945, units of the 3rd U.S. Army reached the almost completely evacuated camp and found countless dead. Meyer Levin, one of the first soldiers in Ohrdruf, wrote in his memoirs:

“We had known. The world had vaguely heard. But until now no one of us had looked on this. Even this morning we had not imagined we would look on this. It was as though we had penetrated at last to the very center of the black heart, to the crawling inside of the vicious heart. … Now we knew. Nothing afterward told us more. Bergen Belsen, Dachau - we became specialists.”

Dwight D. Eisenhower, supreme commander of the Allied forces, visited the camp on April 12, 1945. He wrote:

“I have never felt able to describe my emotional reactions when I first came face to face with indisputable evidence of Nazi brutality and ruthless disregard of every shred of decency. Up to that time I had known about it only generally or through secondary sources. I am certain, however, that I have never at any other time experienced an equal sense of shock.”

The military training area was taken over by the Soviet army in July 1945, and the North Camp was razed to the ground. Two commemorative stones erected in this period pay tribute to the dead. In 1993 the Federal Republic of Germany took charge of the grounds.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (Mitte) vor einem von der SS errichteten Rost aus Eisenbahnschienen, auf denen die Leichname verstorbener Häftlinge aus den Massengräbern verbrannt wurden, 12. April 1945. Foto: Moore, U.S. Signal Corps. National Archives Washington

Am 4. April 1945 erreichten Einheiten der 3. US-Army das weitgehend geräumte Lager und fanden die zahllosen Toten. Meyer Levin, einer der ersten Soldaten in Ohrdruf, schreibt in seinen Erinnerungen:

"Wir hatten es gewusst. Die Welt hatte Gerüchte darüber gehört. Aber noch keiner von uns hatte es gesehen. Noch heute früh hatten wir uns diesen Anblick nicht vorstellen können. Und jetzt waren wir ins Zentrum, ins wimmelnde Innere des schwarzen, fürchterlichen Herzens vorgedrungen. [...] Jetzt wussten wir Bescheid. Diese erste Erfahrung nahm alle folgenden vorweg. Bergen-Belsen, Dachau – wir wurden Spezialisten."

Dwight D. Eisenhower, der Oberbefehlshaber der alliierten Streitkräfte, besichtigte am 12. April 1945 das Lager. Er schreibt:

"Ich bin niemals im Stande gewesen, die Gefühle zu schildern, die mich überkamen, als ich zum ersten Mal ein so unbestreitbares Zeugnis für die Unmenschlichkeit der Nazis und dafür vor Augen hatte, dass sie sich über die primitivsten Gebote der Menschlichkeit in skrupelloser Weise hinwegsetzten. Bisher hatte ich nur gewusst, dass es Lager dieser Art gab, alles andere kannte ich nur von Hörensagen. Nichts hat mich je so erschüttert wie dieser Anblick."

Der Truppenübungsplatz wurde im Juli 1945 durch die sowjetische Armee übernommen, das Nordlager dem Erdboden gleichgemacht. Zwei Gedenksteine aus dieser Zeit erinnern an die Toten. 1993 wurde das Gelände durch die Bundeswehr übernommen.