Additional information

Literature

Literature on the Mittelbau-Dora Concentration Camp can be found here.

Ulrich Herbert, Karin Orth, Christoph Dieckmann (eds.)
Die nationalsozialistischen Konzentrationslager.
Entwicklung und Struktur

Vols. I and II, Göttingen: Wallstein-Verlag, 1998. - 1192 pp.

The anthology presents the findings of research carried out internationally over the past 15 years. It provides a uniquely comprehensive overview of the different concentration camps, as well as the structure of the camp system.

Eugen Kogon
The Theory and Practice of Hell.
The German Concentration Camps and the System Behind Them

Munich: Heyne, 1993. - 426 pp.: Ill.

This book by the Buchenwald inmate and later publisher of the Frankfurter Hefte was first published (in German) in 1946 and became a sstandard historical reference in the field. It is a sociological study based on the more than 150 reports written by Buchenwald inmates (see the Buchenwald Report).

Lutz Niethammer (ed.)
Der "gesäuberte" Antifaschismus.
Die SED und die roten Kapos von Buchenwald. Dokumente

Berlin: Akademie Verlag, 1994. - 566 pp.: Ill.

The minutes of the SED party investigations provide insight into the involvement of the inmate functionaries in the concentration camp system – knowledge to which only privileged circles had access in the German Democratic Republic. The work thus recovers a history that had been previously censored within the GDR.

Jens Schley
Nachbar Buchenwald.
Die Stadt Weimar und ihr Konzentrationslager 1937-1945

Cologne/Weimar/Vienna: Böhlau, 1999. - 196 pp.: Ill.

This study examines the relationship between the city that was the epitome of the German classical tradition and the district of Buchenwald to elucidate the complex interrelationships between the concentration camps and the surrounding society. It investigates the social contacts that existed between the two spheres and examines how the citizens of Weimar came to terms with the proximity of the camp.

Tom Segev
Soldiers of Evil.
The Commandants of the Nazi Concentration Camps

New York: McGraw-Hill, 1988. – 240pp.

What kind of people were concentration camp commanders? What moved them to act as they did? This prize-winning and accessible study retraces the biographies of numerous camp commanders, among them the commander of Buchenwald and his first officer in charge of the preventive custody camp.

Wolfgang Sofsky
The Order of Terror
The Concentration Camp

Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1996. – 368pp.

This account by Wolfgang Sofsky, a sociologist at the University of Göttingen, is an unsparing analysis of the structures and practices of the concentration camp. Sofky’s study has done more than any other recent scholarly work to illuminate the world of the concentration camp – a world which other studies have all too often written off as incomprehensible and beyond scholarly analysis.

Harry Stein
Konzentrationslager Buchenwald 1937-1945.
Begleitband zur ständigen historischen Ausstellung

Buchenwald Memorial (ed.), Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 1999. - 320 pp.: Ill.
English edition: Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 2004.

The exhibition on the Buchenwald Concentration Camp provides wide-ranging material evidence testifying to the history of the camp and the crimes which were committed there. The accompanying catalogue is a recapitulation of documents, reports and biographies that, taken together, provide the best survey of the history of the Buchenwald Concentration Camp available today.

Mehr zum Thema

Literatur

Literatur zum Konzentrationslager Mittelbau-Dora finden Sie hier.

Ulrich Herbert, Karin Orth, Christoph Dieckmann (Hg.)
Die nationalsozialistischen Konzentrationslager.
Entwicklung und Struktur

Band I und II, Göttingen: Wallstein-Verlag, 1998. - 1192 S.

Der Sammelband trägt die Ergebnisse der internationalen Forschung aus den vergangenen 15 Jahren zusammen. Kein anderes Buch gibt einen umfassenderen Überblick über die Dynamik der verschiedenen KZ und die strukturellen Merkmale der Lagerhaft und des KZ-Systems.

Eugen Kogon
Der SS-Staat.
Das System der deutschen Konzentrationslager

München: Heyne, 1993. - 426 S.: Ill.

Das 1946 erstmals erschienene Werk des Buchenwalder Häftlings und späteren Herausgebers der Frankfurter Hefte wurde zu einem Standardwerk der Geschichtsschreibung. Grundlage der sozialwissenschaftlichen Studie sind über 150 Berichte Buchenwalder Häftlinge (siehe: Buchenwald-Report).

Lutz Niethammer (Hg.)
Der "gesäuberte" Antifaschismus.
Die SED und die roten Kapos von Buchenwald. Dokumente

Berlin: Akademie Verlag, 1994. - 566 S.: Ill.

Die in dem Band edierten Protokolle der SED-Parteiuntersuchungen geben einen Einblick in das zuvor nur eingeweihten Kreisen der DDR bekannte Wissen über die Verstrickungen von Funktionshäftlingen in einem KZ. Das DDR-Geschichtsbild Buchenwalds wird um seinen zensierten Teil ergänzt.

Jens Schley
Nachbar Buchenwald.
Die Stadt Weimar und ihr Konzentrationslager 1937-1945

Köln/Weimar/Wien: Böhlau, 1999. - 196 S.: Ill.

Anhand des Verhältnisses der Klassikerstadt zu ihrem Stadtteil Buchenwald gelingt es dem Autor, die Einbettung der KZ in die Gesellschaft zu beleuchten und ihre Folgen zu diskutieren: Welche sozialen Kontakte bestanden? Wie ging die Weimarer Bevölkerung mit der Nachbarschaft um?

Tom Segev
Die Soldaten des Bösen.
Zur Geschichte der KZ-Kommandanten

Reinbek bei Hamburg: Rowohlt, 1992. - 284 S.

Was für Menschen waren die KZ-Kommandanten? Was bewegte sie zu ihren Handlungen? In dem preisgekrönten und gut lesbaren Buch werden mehrere Lebenswege dieser Männer – u. a. auch des Kommandanten von Buchenwald und seines Schutzhaftlagerführers – nachgezeichnet.

Wolfgang Sofsky
Die Ordnung des Terrors:
Das Konzentrationslager

Frankfurt a. M.: Fischer-Verlag, 1993. - 390 S.

Jenseits häufiger Abwehrmuster wissenschaftlicher Studien konfrontiert das Buch des Göttinger Soziologen den Leser schonungslos mit den Strukturen und Praktiken der Lagergesellschaften. Kaum ein Buch der letzten Jahre hat mehr geholfen, den Kosmos der KZ, der häufig leichtfertig als unvorstellbar tituliert wird, zu verstehen.

Harry Stein
Konzentrationslager Buchenwald 1937-1945.
Begleitband zur ständigen historischen Ausstellung

Gedenkstätte Buchenwald (Hg.), Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 1999. - 320 S.: Ill.
Engl. Ausgabe: Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 2004.

Während die Ausstellung einer kriminalpolizeilichen Asservatenkammer gleich die vielfältigen Sachbeweise eines Verbrechens präsentiert, fasst der Begleitband die Dokumente, Berichte und Biografien zu mehreren Erzählsträngen zusammen und bietet heute den besten Überblick über die Geschichte des KZ Buchenwald.