Additional information

Commemorative sites
Information on the memorials erected since the 1950s can be found here.

image

Photo: Katharina Knittel

Demolition

Construction material obtained from the demolition of buildings on the grounds of the former inmates’ camp. The gate building is seen in the background. April 1952

image

Photo: Katharina Knittel

Decay

View of the camp road and, in the distance, watchtower 20, from the east. To the right is stone barrack no. 45. April 1952

The 1950s

The facilities were not demolished with the intention of covering the traces of the former concentration camp’s use as a Soviet special camp. If that had been the aim, it would neither have been necessary to turn the former concentration camp over to the German authorities nor to transform it into a national museum. Rather, the combination of obliteration and preservation was dictated by a specific concept for interpreting the history of Buchenwald Concentration Camp.

As per agreement with Walter Bartel, Robert Siewert felt compelled to justify the demolition once again in 1952 by saying: "The essence of Buchenwald Concentration Camp is not embodied in the barracks or the stone blocks … The essence was the deep comradeship, the mutual help, bonded and steeled by the struggle against fascist terror, organized resistance and the deep faith in the triumph of our just cause!"

Although the afforestation ruling was revoked, more than fifty percent of the grounds were abandoned to the forces of nature, while the leitmotif "triumph through death and struggle" determined the shape finally assumed by the areas of the inmates’ camp that were left intact. On the one hand, the impression of merciless desolation and inhospitality was to be evoked, on the other hand the "conscious defeat of fascist horror" under the leadership of Ernst Thälmann’s adherents to be expressed.

In keeping with this line of interpretation, the memorial grounds were covered in the 1950s with a network of information plaques topographically summarizing the Communist resistance and international solidarity under the leadership of members of the KPD. This simplified view of the events was further reinforced by exhibitions installed in 1954 and the years that followed.

< >

image

Foto: Katharina Knittel

Abriss

Beim Abbruch von Gebäuden gewonnenes Baumaterial auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers. Im Hintergrund ist das Torgebäude zu sehen, April 1952.

image

Katharina Knittel

Verfall

Blick durch die Lagerstraße auf Wachturm Nr. 20 von Osten aus. Rechts im Bild die Steinbaracke Nr. 45., April 1952.

1950er Jahre

Der Abriss des Lagers erfolgte nicht in der Absicht, die Spuren der Nutzung des ehemaligen KZ als sowjetisches Speziallager zu verwischen. Hierzu wäre weder die Übergabe des ehemaligen KZ an die deutschen Behörden nötig gewesen, noch die Umwandlung des Lagers in ein Nationalmuseum. Vielmehr folgte das Ineinander von Auslöschung und Erhaltung bestimmter Relikte des Lagers einem bestimmten Interpretationskonzept der Geschichte des KZ Buchenwald.

"Das Wesen des Konzentrationslagers Buchenwald verkörpert sich nicht in den Baracken oder den massiven Blocks" – sah sich Robert Siewert 1952 in Absprache mit Walter Bartel gezwungen, noch einmal den Abriss zu rechtfertigen – "Das Wesen war die tiefe Kameradschaft, die gegenseitige Hilfe, verbunden und gestählt durch den Kampf gegen den faschistischen Terror, der organisierte Widerstand und der tiefe Glaube an den Sieg unserer gerechten Sache!" 

Die schließliche Gestaltung des erhaltenen Teils des ehemaligen Häftlingslagers – trotz Aufgabe des Aufforstungsbeschlusses überließ man mehr als die Hälfte der Natur – folgte dem Leitmotiv "durch Sterben und Kämpfen zum Sieg". Bruchsteinfelder markierten die Standorte eines Teils der ehemaligen Blocks. So sollte einerseits der Eindruck menschenfeindlicher Öde und Unwirtlichkeit hervorgerufen, andererseits "bewusste[s] Zerschlagen des faschistischen Grauens" unter Führung der Gefolgsmänner Ernst Thälmanns zum Ausdruck gebracht werden.

Dieser Interpretationslinie folgend wurde das Gedenkstättengelände bereits in den fünfziger Jahren mit einem Netz von Informationstafeln überzogen, die die Geschichte des KZ Buchenwald nunmehr auch topografisch auf die Darstellung des kommunistischen Widerstandes und der internationalen Solidarität unter Führung der KPD-Mitglieder verkürzten. Diese Darstellung wurde durch die ab 1954 eingerichteten Ausstellungen flankiert.

< >