Tunnel Facilities

The tunnel facilities are an integral part of the camp grounds. After the Soviet military authorities had the entrances blasted in 1947/48, the underground facilities were sealed for several decades. The tunnel system has been accessible once again since 1995 through a newly driven tunnel. As few changes as possible have been made to the state of the tunnels as found at that time. Destroyed factory installations, production remnants and fallen rocks cover the floors of the former assembly chambers in wild disarray. Parts of the tunnel facilities have been flooded by groundwater.

image

Tunnel A

A small section of the tunnel facilities is accessible within the framework of guided tours starting at the museum. This section includes part of one of the longitudinal tunnels (“Tunnel A”) and three transverse chambers which served as inmates’ living quarters until June 1944.

image

Model of the underground facilities in Tunnel A

In the entrance area of Tunnel A, wall plaques provide information on the inmates’ living and working conditions in the underground facilities. A model gives an impression of the facilities’ overall dimensions.

image

Transverse Tunnels

From the autumn of 1943 to June 1944, four transverse tunnels served as concentration camp living quarters. The hygiene conditions in these “sleeping tunnels” – which were furnished with four-tiered wooden bunks – were disastrous. After June 1944, these transverse tunnels were used for the assembly of the V1 flying bomb by inmates. The V1 scrap scattered on the floors testify to that phase.

image

Photo: Sebastian Grimm

General view

Access to the tunnel system from above.

Stollenanlage

Untrennbarer Bestandteil des Lagergeländes ist die Stollenanlage. Nach der Sprengung der Eingänge durch die sowjetischen Militärbehörden 1947/48 war die Untertageanlage über mehrere Jahrzehnte verschlossen. Seit 1995 ist das Stollensystem durch einen neu angelegten Tunnel zugänglich. Der Zustand, wie er bei der Öffnung des Stollens vorgefunden wurde, ist so wenig wie möglich verändert worden. In den ehemaligen Montagekammern liegen zerstörte Werkseinrichtungen, Reste aus der Produktion und heruntergefallene Gesteinsbrocken wüst durcheinander. Teile der Stollenanlage sind vom Grundwasser überflutet.

image

Fahrstollen A

Ein kleiner Teil der Stollenanlage ist im Rahmen von Führungen, die am Museum beginnen, zugänglich. Zu besichtigen sind ein Teil eines Längsstollens ("Fahrstollen A") und drei Querstollen, die bis Juni 1944 als Häftlingsunterkünfte dienten.

image

Stollenmodell im Fahrstollen A

Im Eingangsbereich des Fahrstollens A informieren Wandtafeln über die Existenzbedingungen der Häftlinge unter Tage. Ein Modell veranschaulicht die Ausmaße der unterirdischen Anlage.

image

Querstollen

Vier Querstollen dienten von Herbst 1943 bis Juni 1944 als KZ-Unterkünfte. In den mit vierstöckigen Holzpritschen ausgestatteten "Schlafstollen" herrschten katastrophale hygienische Bedingungen. Später mussten Häftlinge in diesen Querstollen die Flugbombe V1 montieren. Von dieser Zeit zeugt der in den Querstollen herumliegende V1-Schrott.

image

Foto: Sebastian Grimm

Gesamtansicht

Der Eingang zur Stollenanlage von oben.