Mirjana Gross

1922 (Zagreb) - 2012 (Belgrade)

Historian

"I wish I could say there was a discontinuity, that the people and events differed from their present-day successors, and that no immediate links could be found between them in the thicket of historical time.…"



Mirjana Gross was born in Zagreb on 22 May 1922. After finishing school she embarked on the study of medicine in Zagreb.

In 1943, as Jews and "politicals", she and her entire family were arrested by the Ustaše Militia and transported to Graz shortly before the end of the year. From there she was deported to Buchenwald Concentration Camp, where she arrived on 1 January 1944, and where she met Emil Carlebach. Two days later she was transported to Ravensbrück Concentration Camp, where she remained until liberation in April 1945.

Gross returned to Yugoslavia (Croatia) in May 1945. From 1947 to 1951 she studied history at Zagreb University. In 1952 she became an assistant at the Historical Institute of the Yugoslav Academy of Sciences and the Arts in Zagreb, and in 1958 she gained her doctorate with a thesis on the role of social democracy in the political life of Zagreb from 1890 to 1905. The same year, she was appointed as an assistant in the history department of the philosophy faculty at the University of Zagreb. In the following years she published numerous essays on the history of Croatia in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and was a member of various scholarly panels. In 1960 she published a book on the government of the Croatian-Serbian coalition in 1906–07; in 1968 she co-authored a history of the Croatian people from 1860 to 1914. Her history of right-wing party ideology came out in 1973. In 1976 she was made a tenured professor; her book on historical scholarship was published the same year. She retired in 1982. In 1985 she published a book on the beginnings of modern Croatia; in 1992 she co-authored a book on Croatian civil society with Agnes Szabo, and in 1996 she published a work on modern historiography.

Mirjana Gross died in Zagreb on 23 July 2012.

Mirjana Gross

1922 (Zagreb) - 2012 (Zagreb)

Historikerin

"Ich wünschte, ich könnte sagen, daß eine Diskontinuität bestünde, daß die Menschen und Ereignisse sich von ihren heutigen Nachfolgern unterschieden und sich im Dickicht der geschichtlichen Zeit unmittelbare Verbindungen zwischen ihnen nicht finden …"



Mirjana Gross wird am 22. Mai 1922 in Zagreb geboren. Nach dem Abitur studiert sie in Zagreb Medizin.
Als Jüdin und "Politische" wird sie 1943 mit allen Familienmitgliedern durch die Ustascha-Miliz verhaftet, an die Gestapo übergeben und kurz vor Jahresende nach Graz transportiert. Von dort trifft sie am 1. Januar 1944 im KZ Buchenwald ein, wo sie Emil Carlebach kennenlernt. Nach zwei Tagen folgt der Weitertransport in das KZ Ravensbrück. Dort bleibt sie bis zur Befreiung im April 1945.

Im Mai 1945 kehrt Mirjana Gross nach Jugoslawien (Kroatien) zurück. Von 1947-1951 studiert sie Geschichte an der Universität Zagreb. 1952 wird sie Assistentin am Historischen Institut der Jugoslawischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste in Zagreb und promoviert 1958 über "Die Rolle der Sozialdemokratie im kroatischen politischen Leben 1890-1905". Im selben Jahr Assistentin an der Abteilung Geschichte der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität in Zagreb. In den Folgejahren veröffentlicht sie zahlreiche Aufsätze zur Geschichte Kroatiens im 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhundert und ist Mitglied in verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Gremien. 1960 erscheint "Die Regierung der kroatisch-serbischen Koalition 1906-1907", 1968 Mitautorin von "Die Geschichte des kroatischen Volkes 1860-1914". 1973 "Die Geschichte der Rechtspartei-Ideologie". 1976 Ernennung zur ordentlichen Professorin. Im selben Jahr erscheint "Historische Wissenschaft". 1982 Pensionierung. 1985 "Die Anfänge des modernen Kroatien". 1992 zusammen mit Agnes Szabo "Zu einer kroatischen Bürgergesellschaft". 1996 "Moderne Geschichtsschreibung". 1998 "Von der Antike bis zur Postmoderne: Die zeitgenössische Geschichtsschreibung und ihr Wurzeln".

Mirjana Gross stirbt am 23. Juli 2012 in Zagreb.