Dietrich Bonhoeffer

1906 (Breslau) - 1945 (KZ Flossenbürg)

Theologian

"The system of terror of the Hitler state can only be understood if one recognizes that it wanted above all to turn the freedom of the individual and spontaneous action into willing servility."



Dietrich Bonhoeffer was born in Breslau on 4 February 1906, the son of a professor of psychiatry. From 1923 to 1927, he studied theology in Tübingen and Berlin. In 1928, he was a curate in Barcelona, and in 1930 he spent a year studying in New York. Beginning in 1931, he was a lecturer at the Berlin University and became the student pastor at the Technical University of Berlin. In 1933, Bonhoeffer went to London as a foreign pastor. In 1935, he became the director of the preachers’ seminary of the Confessing Church in Finkenwalde, Pomerania.

In 1936, Bonhoeffer was forbidden to teach, in 1940, to speak in public and was required to report his activities regularly to the police. In 1941, he was forbidden to print or to publish. Beginning in 1938, he had knowledge of resistance activities. In 1940, he was enlisted in the military intelligence service (Abwehr), working for the resistance group of General Ludwig Beck, General Hans Oster and their collaborator Hans von Dohnanyi. Bonhoeffer’s task was to communicate the continuation of the German resistance to the Allies while he was travelling abroad, and to spread information about plans for a coup.

On 5 April 1943, Bonhoeffer was arrested along with his sister Christine and her husband, Hans von Dohnanyi, and they were brought to the prison in Berlin-Tegel. Because his close ties to the resistance could not be proven initially, it appeared that Bonhoeffer was not in any real danger. But the assassination attempt on Hitler on 20 July 1944 failed and documents implicating Bonhoeffer surfaced in the investigation. In October 1944, he was transferred to the Gestapo cellar in Prinz-Albert-Strasse, then on 7 February 1945 to Buchenwald, where he was held in the SS detention cell building, and from there, on 3 March, via Regensburg and Schönberg in the Bavarian Forest, he was brought to Flossenbürg Concentration Camp.

On the night after his arrival on 8 April 1945, Dietrich Bonhoeffer was sentenced to death at a drumhead court-martial and hanged.

Dietrich Bonhoeffer

1906 (Breslau) - 1945 (KZ Flossenbürg)

Theologe

"Das Terrorsystem des Hitlerstaates wird erst dann verständlich, wenn man erkennt, daß er vor allem die Freiheit des Individuums und spontanes Handeln in bereitwillige Unterwürfigkeit verwandeln wollte."



Am 4. Februar 1906 wird Dietrich Bonhoeffer als Sohn eines Psychiatrie-Professors in Breslau geboren. 1923-1927 studiert er Theologie in Tübingen und Berlin. 1928 ist er Vikar in Barcelona, verbringt 1930 ein Studienjahr in New York, lehrt ab 1931 als Privatdozent an der Berliner Universität und wird Studentenpfarrer der Technischen Hochschule Berlin. 1933 geht Dietrich Bonhoeffer als Auslandspfarrer nach London. 1935 wird er Direktor des Predigerseminars der Bekennenden Kirche in Finkenwalde (Pommern). 1936 erhält er Lehrverbot, 1940 Redeverbot und polizeiliche Meldepflicht. 1941 folgt ein Druck- und Veröffentlichungsverbot. Seit 1938 hat Dietrich Bonhoeffer Kenntnis von Widerstandsaktivitäten.

1940 wird er für den militärischen Abwehrdienst verpflichtet und arbeitet für die Widerstandsgruppe um General Ludwig Beck, General Hans Oster und dessen Mitarbeiter Hans von Dohnanyi. Bonhoeffers Aufgabe besteht darin, während seiner Auslandsreisen Signale von einer Fortsetzung des deutschen Widerstandes an die Alliierten zu vermitteln und über die Putschpläne zu informieren. Am 5. April 1943 wird Dietrich Bonhoeffer zusammen mit seiner Schwester Christine und ihrem Mann, Hans von Dohnanyi, verhaftet und in das Gefängnis von Berlin-Tegel gebracht. Da man ihm zunächst seine enge Verbindung zum Widerstand nicht nachweisen kann, scheint Bonhoeffer nicht wirklich gefährdet zu sein. Am 20. Juli 1944 scheitert das Attentat auf Hitler. Im Zusammenhang mit den Ermittlungen tauchen Unterlagen auf, die Bonhoeffer belasten. Er wird im Oktober 1944 in den Gestapo-Keller Prinz-Albrecht-Straße überführt, am 7. Februar 1945 nach Buchenwald in den ehemaligen SS-Arrest und von dort am 3. März über Regensburg und Schönberg im Bayerischen Wald in das KZ Flossenbürg gebracht.

In der Nacht seiner Ankunft vom 8. zum 9. April 1945 verurteilt ein Standgericht Dietrich Bonhoeffer zum Tode; er wird anschließend erhängt.