Bruno Bettelheim

1903 (Vienna) - 1990 (Silver Spring)

Psychologist

"It may be that Doomsday is coming tomorrow; in that case we can set aside the work of making a better future, but not before then."



Bruno Bettelheim was born to an assimilated Jewish bourgeois family in Vienna on 25 August 1903. After completing a degree in German studies and art history, he studied philosophy and psychoanalysis. When his father died in 1926, Bruno Bettelheim took over his wood business. In 1929 he began his training analysis, and with his wife he treated an autistic child in their own flat beginning in 1932. He received his doctorate in 1937 with a dissertation entitled Das Problem des Naturschönen und die moderne Ästhetik ("The Problem of the Beautiful in Nature, and Modern Aesthetics").

Following the German invasion of Austria in March 1938, his escape to Czechoslovakia failed and he was handed over to the Vienna SS and taken to Dachau Concentration Camp on 3 June 1938 as a "political Jew". On 23 September 1938, he was taken to Buchenwald. With the help of acquaintances, Bruno Bettelheim was released on 14 April 1939 and had to leave the country with no possessions. On 11 May 1939 he landed in New York.

Old friends from Vienna helped Bettelheim get an assistant position in a research project about art education in American schools at the University of Chicago. In 1943, his first academic publication appeared: an interpretation of his observations on the individual and mass behaviour of inmates in the concentration camps. It was a subject that Bettelheim would take up again and again, modifying his interpretations. In 1944, he was offered the position of director of the Orthogenic School for emotionally disturbed children, especially those suffering from autism. As a therapist, director and educator for the twenty-five counsellors at the school, he built a one-of-a-kind institution over the course of twenty-seven years, one that gave children much more freedom than comparable institutions. Bettelheim’s numerous books have been published around the world; particularly well-known is The Uses of Enchantment: The Meaning and Importance of Fairy Tales.

Following the death of his second wife (1984), intensive public suspicions around his authoritarian therapeutic practice and a stroke, Bruno Bettelheim took his life in Silver Spring on 13 March 1990.

Bruno Bettelheim

1903 (Wien) - 1990 (Silver Spring)

"Mag sein, daß der jüngste Tag morgen anbricht, dann wollen wir gern die Arbeit für eine bessere Zukunft aus der Hand legen, vorher aber nicht."



Bruno Bettelheim wird am 25. August 1903 in eine jüdisch-assimilierte bürgerliche Familie in Wien geboren. Nach dem Studium der Germanistik und Kunstgeschichte beschäftigt er sich mit Philosophie und der Psychoanalyse. 1926 stirbt sein Vater, Bruno Bettelheim übernimmt dessen Holzhandel. 1929 beginnt er seine Lehranalyse und behandelt mit seiner Frau seit 1932 ein autistisches Kind in der eigenen Wohnung. Er promoviert 1937 über "Das Problem des Naturschönen und die moderne Ästhetik".

Nach dem Einmarsch der Deutschen in Österreich im März 1938 mißglückt seine Flucht in die Tschechoslowakei, er wird der Wiener SS übergeben und am 3. Juni 1938 als "politischer Jude" ins KZ Dachau verbracht, am 23. September 1938 ins KZ Buchenwald. Auf Vermittlung von Bekannten wird Bruno Bettelheim am 14. April 1939 entlassen und muß ohne Hab und Gut das Land verlassen. Am 11. Mai 1939 geht er in New York an Land.

Alte Wiener Freunde vermitteln Bruno Bettelheim eine Assistenz in einem Forschungsprojekt über Kunsterziehung an amerikanischen Schulen an der Universität Chicago. 1943 erscheint seine erste wissenschaftliche Publikation: eine Interpretation seiner Beobachtungen zum individuellen und kollektiven Verhalten der Häftlinge in Konzentrationslagern. Das Thema dieser Studie greift Bettelheim immer wieder auf und modifiziert seine Interpretationen. 1944 wird ihm die Leitung der "Orthogenischen Schule" für psychisch gestörte und insbesondere autistische Kinder angetragen: als Therapeut, Leiter und Ausbilder für die 25 Betreuer baut er in 27 Jahren ein einzigartiges Institut auf, das Kindern viel mehr Freiheiten gewährt als andere vergleichbaren Anstalten. Bruno Bettelheims zahlreiche Bücher werden weltweit verlegt, besonders bekannt ist sein Buch "Kinder brauchen Märchen".

Nach dem Tod seiner zweiten Frau (1984), heftigen öffentlichen Verdächtigungen wegen seiner autoritären therapeutischen Praxis und einem Schlaganfall nimmt sich Bruno Bettelheim am 13. März 1990 in Silver Spring das Leben.