Jean Améry / Hans maier

1912 (Vienna) - 1978 (Salzburg)

Writer

"My resentments are there, however, so that the crime will become a moral reality for the criminal, so that he will be dragged into the truth of his atrocity."



Hans Maier was born in Vienna on 31 October 1912, the son of Jewish parents. He grew up in Bad Ischl; his family converted to Catholicism. In 1924, he returned to Vienna and, after doing casual work, began training as a bookseller. He completed literary and philosophical studies, particularly on the Vienna Circle. In 1934, he wrote a novel in which he explored suicide: Die Schiffbrüchigen (“The Shipwrecked”); it was never published. In November 1937, shortly before his marriage to Regine Berger-Baumgarten, who was Jewish, he joined the Jewish religious community.
In December 1938, Maier fled to Antwerp; in 1940 he was arrested and interned as an “enemy alien” and taken to the Gurs camp in October 1940, which he fled in the summer of 1941. In July 1943, he was arrested again, and this was followed by interrogation by the Gestapo and torture at Fort Breendonk. On 15 January 1944 he was deported to Auschwitz. From there he was transported to Mittelbau-Dora Concentration Camp in January 1945, then evacuated to Bergen-Belsen, and finally liberated on 15 April 1945.
At the end of April 1945, Maier returned to Belgium, where his wife had died five days earlier. He began to write again, about politics and culture, portraits of the literary, artistic and political world, which he published under the name Jean Améry after 1955. In 1955 he married Maria Leitner. Beginning in 1964, he wrote about “the existential problem of the universe of the concentration camp”, composed radio essays that were published in English as At the Mind’s Limits: Contemplations by a Survivor on Auschwitz and Its Realities in 1966; in the summer, the second edition of 4,000 copies came out. Améry performed on West German television, and in discussion forums he was considered an obstinate leftist. In 1976 came the essay “On Suicide: A Discourse on Voluntary Death”; in 1977, he received the Lessing Prize of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg. On 17 October 1978, while on a reading tour, Jean Améry took his life in a Salzburg hotel.

Jean Améry / Hans Maier

1912 (Wien) - 1978 (Salzburg)

Schriftsteller

"Meine Ressentiments aber sind da, damit das Verbrechen moralische Realität werde für den Verbrecher, damit er hineingerissen sei in die Wahrheit seiner Untat."



Hans Maier wird am 31. Oktober 1912 als Sohn jüdischer Eltern in Wien geboren, wächst in Bad Ischl auf, die Familie konvertiert zum katholischen Glauben. 1924 kehrt er nach Wien zurück, nach Gelegenheitsarbeiten beginnt er 1928 eine Buchhandelslehre. Literarische und philosophische Studien, besonders zum "Wiener Kreis". 1934 schreibt er einen Roman, in dem er sich mit dem Freitod auseinandersetzt: "Die Schiffbrüchigen" (unveröffentlicht). Im November 1937, kurz vor der Heirat mit der Jüdin Regine Berger-Baumgarten, tritt er der jüdischen Kultusgemeinde bei.

Im Dezember 1938 flieht Hans Maier nach Antwerpen, im Mai 1940 wird er als "feindlicher Ausländer" verhaftet und interniert, im Oktober 1940 in das Lager Gurs eingeliefert, aus dem er im Sommer 1941 flieht. Im Juli 1943 wird er wieder verhaftet, es folgen Verhöre durch die Gestapo, Folterung in der Festung Breendonk, am 15. Januar 1944 Deportation nach Auschwitz. Von dort kommt er im Januar 1945 in das KZ Mittelbau-Dora, wird nach Bergen-Belsen evakuiert und am 15. April 1945 befreit.
Ende April 1945 kehrt Hans Maier nach Belgien zurück, dort ist seine Frau fünf Tage vorher verstorben. Er beginnt wieder zu schreiben, über Politik und Kultur, Porträts der Literatur-, Kunst- und politischen Welt, die er seit 1955 unter den Namen Jean Améry veröffentlicht. 1955 heiratet er Maria Leitner. Seit 1964 schreibt er über die "existentiellen Probleme des KZ-Universums", Radio-Essays, die 1966 unter dem Titel "Jenseits von Schuld und Sühne. Bewältigungsversuche eines Überwältigten" erscheinen, im Sommer kommt die zweite Auflage von 4000 Exemplaren heraus. Jean Améry hat Auftritte im bundesdeutschen Fernsehen und bei Diskussionsforen, er gilt als eigenwilliger Linker. 1976 der Essay "Hand an sich legen. Diskurs über den Freitod", 1977 Lessing-Preis der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg.

Während einer Lesereise nimmt sich Jean Améry am 17. Oktober 1978 in einem Salzburger Hotel das Leben.