Contact

Topf & Söhne: Builders of the Auschwitz Ovens
A Place of Remembrance

Dr Annegret Schüle
Sorbenweg 7
99099 Erfurt, Germany
Phone: +49 (0)361 655 1681
topfundsoehne(at)erfurt(dot)de

Additional information

Literature
A monograph (German version) on the history of the company may be ordered here.

The guide (German verison) to the travelling exhibition can be ordered here.

Link

Web site
The web site of the Topf & Söhne Memorial can be found here.

image

Company plaquette

of the "J.A. Topf & Söhne" Company

image

Planning office

of the J.A. Topf & Söhne Company; here the technical department of granary construction, June 1940

image

Peter Hansen

Crematorium ovens

built by Topf & Söhne at the Buchenwald Concentration Camp crematorium.

image

Dirk Urban

Former administration building

of the J.A. Topf & Söhne Company, with a school group during a guided tour

image

Kastner/Pichler

View of the former drafting room

where J.A. Topf & Söhne Company employees designed the crematoria for Buchenwald Concentration Camp and the Auschwitz extermination camp

image

Kastner/Pichler

View of the exhibition

in the former administration building of the J.A. Topf & Söhne Company

image

Dirk Urban

School group

during a guided tour of the exhibition

Analyzing and documenting the history of the J. A. Topf & Söhne company

The Buchenwald Memorial first began researching the history of the J. A. Topf & Söhne company in February 2002 under the direction of Dr Volkhard Knigge, with Dr Annegret Schüle leading the research team. The result was the international travelling exhibition “The Engineers of the ‘Final Solution’: Topf & Söhne – Builders of the Auschwitz Ovens”, presented by the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation in collaboration with the Jewish Museum of Berlin and the Auschwitz State Museum. Created under the direction of Dr Knigge by Rikola-Gunnar Lüttgenau (curator), Dr Annegret Schüle, Friedemann Rincke, Wolfgang Röll and Johanna Wensch, the exhibition opened in the Jewish Museum of Berlin in June 2005, and went on to be presented in five German and four European cities through October 2010. Afterwards, the Memorials Foundation made the exhibition available, free of charge, to the newly-established "place of remembrance" at the former site of the company in Erfurt. The exhibition was expanded under the direction of Dr Annegret Schüle, who converted it into a permanent exhibition and added an open-air installation. It opened at the Erfurt site in January 2011. This project represents the first time in the history of the Federal Republic that the complicity of German industry in the Holocaust is being examined at an original company facility, and at a location that was at that time in the very midst of everyday German life.

The research, documentation and presentation of the history of the Topf & Söhne company received support from German Federal Commissioner for Culture and Media, the Free State of Thuringia, the German Federal Cultural Foundation, the German Foreign Ministry, the Sparkasse Cultural Foundation of Hesse-Thuringia and the Hans Böckler Foundation.

The J. A. Topf & Söhne Company of Erfurt (founded in 1878, and most recently known as EMS – Erfurter Mälzerei- und Speicherbau, until its bankruptcy in 1994) is a glaring example of German industry's complicity in the annihilation of European Jews. Beginning in 1939, Topf & Söhne supplied crematorium ovens to the Dachau, Buchenwald and Mauthausen concentration camps. The ovens supplied by Topf & Söhne made use of the same technology as municipal cremation ovens, albeit abandoning all associated cultural norms and practices. The SS administration ordered the construction of these crematoria in an effort to respond to the high mortality rate among prisoners, the result of starvation, disease, abuse, and outright murder. Later, in 1941, Topf & Söhne went on to become complicit in the crimes of the Holocaust — that is, in the mass industrialized extermination of human life. In collaboration with the SS construction management office in Auschwitz, Kurt Prüfer, chief engineer of the company's crematorium construction department, designed a facility for use in Auschwitz-Birkenau able to handle a peak capacity of 4,416 bodies per day. Technologically, such a facility was an essential prerequisite enabling Auschwitz to become a centre for the annihilation of European Jews after 1943. Topf & Söhne was also responsible for the installation of the ventilation systems in the gas chambers of Auschwitz. During these years, Topf & Söhne engineers and fitters repeatedly visited the camp to carry out and supervise construction activities, during which time they became witnesses to mass murder. Indeed, some fitters remained at the Auschwitz-Birkenau extermination camp for as long as a year.

The project seeks to grasp how it could come about that managers, engineers and workers could place their professional and technical expertise at the disposal of those committing these National Socialist crimes, seemingly without question or reflection. To answer these questions, the history of the Topf & Söhne company is being examined within its local and industrial contexts. At the same time, this scholarly examination and documentation reflects upon the history of memory and forgetting in East and West Germany after the war.

It was not until the 1990s that the actions and complicity of the Topf & Söhne Company came to light. In 1993, British historian Gerald Fleming discovered, in the holdings of the Moscow Central State Archives, records of interrogations conducted by Soviet officers with Topf & Söhne engineers who had been arrested in the Soviet-occupied zone in 1946. In 1989, Jean-Claude Pressac documented the participation of Topf & Söhne in the Holocaust in his study titled Auschwitz: Technique and Operation of the Gas Chambers (New York, 1989; the German translation was later published by Piper Verlag of Munich in 1994).

Since then, an Erfurt endowment association made up of educational institutions and individual supporters has worked to have sections of the now-abandoned industrial site converted for documentation and exhibition purposes. A series of lectures organized by the endowment association is now available (in German) in book form: Firma Topf & Söhne—Hersteller der Öfen für Auschwitz: Ein Fabrikgelände als Erinnerungsort, edited by Aleida Assmann, Frank Hiddemann, Eckhard Schwarzenberger (Frankfurt: Campus, 2002).

Kontakt

Erinnerungsort Topf & Söhne –
Die Ofenbauer von Auschwitz

PD Dr. Annegret Schüle
Sorbenweg 7
99099 Erfurt
Fon: +49 (0)361 655 1681
topfundsoehne(at)erfurt(dot)de

Mehr zum Thema

Literatur
Die Monografie zur Firmengeschichte bestellen können Sie hier.

Den Begleitband zur Wanderausstellung bestellen können Sie hier.

Link

Website
Zur Internetseite des Erinnerungsortes Topf & Söhne gelangen Sie hier.

image

Firmenplakette

der Firma "J.A. Topf & Söhne"

image

Konstruktionsbüro

der Firma J.A. Topf & Söhne; hier die technische Abteilung Speicherbau, Juni 1940.

image

Peter Hansen

Verbrennungsöfen

von Topf & Söhne im Krematorium des KZ Buchenwald.

image

Dirk Urban

Ehemaliges Verwaltungsgebäude

der Firma J.A. Topf & Söhne, davor eine Schülergruppe während einer Führung.

image

Kastner/Pichler

Blick in den ehemaligen Zeichensaal,

wo Mitarbeiter der Firma J.A. Topf & Söhne die Krematorien für das KZ Buchenwald und das Vernichtungslager Auschwitz konstruierten.

image

Kastner/Pichler

Blick in die Ausstellung

im ehemaligen Verwaltungsgebäude der Firma J.A. Topf & Söhne.

image

Dirk Urban

Schülergruppe

während einer Führung durch die Ausstellung.

Erarbeitung der Grundlagen, Dokumentation und Präsentation der Geschichte der Firma "J.A. Topf & Söhne"

Seit Februar 2002 wurde an der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald die Geschichte der Erfurter Firma J.A. Topf & Söhne erforscht. Auf der Grundlage des unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Volkhard Knigge maßgeblich von Dr. Annegret Schüle bearbeiteten Forschungsprojektes entstand die internationale Wanderausstellung „Techniker der ‚Endlösung’. Topf & Söhne – Die Ofenbauer von Auschwitz“ der Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora in Verbindung mit dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin und dem Staatlichen Museum Auschwitz. Unter der Gesamtleitung von Prof. Knigge wurde sie durch Rikola-Gunnar Lüttgenau (Kurator), Dr. Annegret Schüle, Friedemann Rincke, Wolfgang Röll und Johanna Wensch erarbeitet. Im Juni 2005 erstmals im Jüdischen Museum Berlin präsentiert, war die Ausstellung bis Oktober 2010 in fünf deutschen und vier europäischen Städten zu sehen. Im Anschluss stellte sie die Stiftung Gedenkstätten dem in Erfurt auf dem ehemaligen Firmengelände neu etablierten Erinnerungsort „Topf & Söhne – Die Ofenbauer von Auschwitz“ kostenlos zur Verfügung. Unter der Leitung von Dr. Annegret Schüle zur Dauerausstellung sowie um eine Außenausstellung erweitert ist die Ausstellung dort seit Januar 2011 zu sehen. Damit wurde erstmalig in der Bundesrepublik die industrielle Mittäterschaft am Holocaust am Ort eines konkreten Unternehmens und damit inmitten der Gesellschaft thematisiert.

Finanziell unterstützt wurden die Erforschung, Dokumentation und Präsentation der Geschichte der Firma Topf & Söhne durch den Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, den Freistaat Thüringen, die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, das Auswärtige Amt, die Sparkassen-Kulturstiftung Hessen-Thüringen und die Hans Böckler-Stiftung.

Die Erfurter Firma J. A. Topf & Söhne (gegründet 1878, bis zum Konkurs 1994 als „EMS – Erfurter Mälzerei- und Speicherbau“ tätig) ist ein prominentes Beispiel für die Mittäterschaft der Industrie bei der Vernichtung der europäischen Juden. Seit 1939 belieferte Topf & Söhne die Konzentrationslager Dachau, Buchenwald und Mauthausen mit Krematoriumsöfen. Von der zivilen Praxis der Feuerbestattung in städtischen Krematorien wurde nur der technische Vorgang übernommen und dabei aller kulturellen Traditionen entkleidet. Mit dem Bau von Krematorien reagierten die SS-Bauleitungen der Konzentrationslager auf die hohe Todesrate unter den Häftlingen durch Hunger, Krankheiten, Misshandlung und Mord. Die Wende zur Mittäterschaft der Firma Topf & Söhne am Holocaust, das heißt an der massenhaften, industriellen Vernichtung menschlichen Lebens, kam 1941. In enger Kooperation mit der SS-Bauleitung in Auschwitz entwickelte Kurt Prüfer, Oberingenieur in der Abteilung Krematoriumsbau bei Topf & Söhne, eine Anlage für Auschwitz-Birkenau mit einer Einäscherungskapazität von täglich 4416 Körpern im Dauerbetrieb. Damit stand der SS eine wesentliche technische Voraussetzung zur Verfügung, um Auschwitz ab 1943 zum Zentrum der Vernichtung der europäischen Juden zu machen. Die Firma installierte auch die Ventilationssysteme in den Gaskammern von Auschwitz. Die Ingenieure und Monteure von Topf & Söhne waren mehrfach vor Ort, um die Baumaßnahmen zu leiten und durchzuführen, und wurden dabei Zeuge von Massentötungen. Einzelne Monteure hielten sich bis zu einem Jahr im Vernichtungslager Auschwitz-Birkenau auf.

Das Forschungsprojekt fragte danach, wie es möglich war, dass Betriebsleiter, Ingenieure und Arbeiter ihr fachliches Können und ihre berufliche Erfahrung scheinbar bruchlos in den Dienst der nationalsozialistischen Verbrechen stellten. Die Geschichte der Firma wurde in ihrem industrie- und lokalgeschichtlichen Kontext erforscht. In die wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung und Dokumentation wurde die Verdrängungs- und Erinnerungsgeschichte in Ost- und Westdeutschland nach 1945 einbezogen.

Die Mittäterschaft der Firma Topf & Söhne war erst in den 90er Jahren ins Licht der Öffentlichkeit gerückt. 1993 stieß der britische Historiker Gerald Fleming im Zentralen Staatsarchiv Moskau auf die Protokolle der Verhöre, die Sowjetoffiziere mit den 1946 in der SBZ verhafteten Ingenieuren von Topf & Söhne geführt hatten. Jean-Claude Pressac legte in seinem Buch „Die Krematorien von Auschwitz. Die Technik des Massenmordes“ (München: Piper 1994) Beweise für die Beteiligung der Firma Topf & Söhne am Holocaust vor.

In der Stadt Erfurt engagierte sich seit 1999 ein von Bildungsträgern und Einzelpersonen getragener Förderkreis für ein Forschungsprojekt zur Firma Topf & Söhne und für die Nutzung von Teilen des historischen Ortes für Dokumentations- und Ausstellungszwecke. Eine vom Förderkreis organisierte Vortragsreihe liegt als Publikation vor: Aleida Assmann/Frank Hiddemann/Eckhard Schwarzenberger (Hrsg.), Firma Topf & Söhne – Hersteller der Öfen für Auschwitz. Ein Fabrikgelände als Erinnerungsort (Frankfurt: Campus, 2002).