Blasting of the tunnel entrances, 1947. Photo: Mittelbau-Dora Concentration Camp Memorial

The disappearance of the camps

Following the dissolution of the repatriation camp in July 1946, the city of Nordhausen had the barracks of the former Camp Dora disassembled and re-erected in the destroyed town and district to serve as emergency housing. Only the former crematorium and, initially, the camp prison remained standing The latter was demolished in 1952 at the behest of the local authorities – and against the objections of surviving inmates. At this point in time, the former camp had all but vanished from sight.

Part of the tunnel system also disappeared. After continuing to operate as a rocket factory under Soviet management for a brief period, the occupation authorities had parts of the tunnels ‒ including the entrances ‒ blasted in 1947. They were thus adhering to the Allied agreement according to which military facilities in Germany were to be rendered useless.

In the other camp locations of Mittelbau Concentration Camp there was likewise virtually nothing left to see of the past. As in Camp Dora, in the majority of cases the barracks were dismantled after the war and used as construction wood or firewood. At the most, only concrete foundations still testify today to the histories of these sites. Other camps, for example those in Stempeda and Blankenburg-Oesig, served as accommodations for refugees. In Blankenburg, former barracks which have undergone multiple structural alterations over the decades are still inhabited today.

Seprengung der Stolleneingänge. 1947. Foto: KZ-Gedenkstätte Mittelbau-Dora

Das Verschwinden der Lager

Nach Auflösung des "Umsiedlerlagers" begann ab Herbst 1946 der Abbau der Baracken im ehemaligen Lager Dora unter Aufsicht der lokalen Bauämter. Viele der Baracken wurden nach der Demontage im Landkreis und im Nordhäuser Stadtgebiet wieder aufgebaut. Lediglich das frühere Krematorium, die ehemalige Feuerwache und zunächst auch das Lagergefängnis blieben auf dem Gelände erhalten. Letzteres ließen die lokalen Behörden 1952 gegen den Widerstand überlebender Häftlinge abtragen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war vom Rest des ehemaligen Lagers kaum noch etwas zu sehen.

Auch ein Teil der unterirdischen Stollenanlage wurde zerstört. Nach einer kurzen Phase der Weiternutzung als Raketenwerk unter sowjetischer Leitung ließen die Besatzungsbehörden Bereiche der Stollenanlage, darunter die Eingänge, ab 1947 sprengen. Sie folgen damit alliierten Vereinbarungen, die vorsahen, dass militärische Anlagen in Deutschland unbrauchbar gemacht werden sollten.

Auch an den anderen Lagerstandorten des KZ Mittelbau war bald kaum noch etwas von der Vergangenheit zu sehen. In den meisten Fällen wurden die Baracken wie im Lager Dora nach dem Krieg demontiert. Heute zeugen allenfalls noch die Betonfundamente von der Vergangenheit dieser Orte. Andere Lager dienten als Notunterkünfte für deutsche Vertriebene, so etwa in Stempeda und Blankenburg-Oesig. In Blankenburg werden die mehrfach umgebauten Baracken heute noch bewohnt.