Paul Steinberg

1926 (Berlin) - 1999 (Paris)

Businessman

"Does one do good out of respect for the image that one has of oneself, and evil in order to express the situation of profound contempt in which one finds oneself?"



Paul Steinberg was born to a Russian-Jewish family in Berlin on 18 October 1926. His mother died during childbirth. In 1933 the family emigrated to Paris where he attended the Claude Bernard grammar school for science and modern languages.

On 23 September 1943 the sixteen-year-old Steinberg was arrested by French policemen on account of his Jewish origins and taken to the French Drancy internment camp, and on 20 October 1943 deported to Auschwitz III (Buna-Monowitz). From January 1944 he worked there in the chemicals detachment, to which Primo Levi was also assigned. At the end of January 1945 he was evacuated to the Little Camp of Buchenwald and survived thanks to the help of Communists.

Following liberation, Paul Steinberg returned to Paris. "After the resurrection", at the age of eighteen, he began his "second life": special baccalauréat examination, from 1946 the study of mathematics, physics and chemistry, later seminars on stage direction and acting classes. At the end of the 1940s he founded a company for international trade with veneer timbers; he travelled frequently through France, Italy and Germany on business.

In the 1960s he wrote a novel in an attempt to banish his memories of the camps, but failed. In 1995 – in the meantime he had dissolved his company – he set to work again on his report of his concentration camp experiences: in 1996 his Chroniques d’ailleurs were published by Edition Ramsay (English: Speak You Also: A Survivor’s Reckoning, 2001).

Paul Steinberg died in Paris in 1999.

Paul Steinberg

1926 (Berlin) - 1999 (Paris)

Unternehmer

"Tut man Gutes aus Achtung vor dem Bild, das man von sich hat, und das Böse, um die Situation tiefer Verachtung auszudrücken, in der man sich befindet?"



Paul Steinberg wird am 18. Oktober 1926 in Berlin in eine russisch-jüdische Familie geboren, seine Mutter stirbt bei der Geburt, 1933 emigriert seine Familie nach Paris, er besucht das neusprachlich-naturwissenschaftliche Gymnasium Claude Bernhard.

Am 23. September 1943 wird der sechzehnjährige Paul Steinberg von französischen Polizisten als "Jude" verhaftet und ins französische Internierungslager Drancy gebracht, am 20. Oktober 1943 nach Auschwitz III (Buna-Monowitz) deportiert. Dort arbeitet er ab Januar 1944 im "Chemiker-Kommando", dem auch Primo Levi angehört. Ende Januar 1945 wird er ins Kleine Lager von Buchenwald evakuiert, durch die Hilfe von Kommunisten überlebt er.

Nach der Befreiung kehrt Paul Steinberg zurück nach Paris. "Nach der Wieder-Geburt", mit achtzehn Jahren, beginnt sein "zweites Leben": Abitursonderprüfung, ab 1946 Studium der Mathematik, Physik und Chemie, später Seminare zur Theaterregie und Schauspielunterricht. Ende der vierziger Jahre gründet er eine Firma für internationalen Handel mit Furnierhölzern; er ist häufig geschäftlich in Frankreich, Italien und Deutschland unterwegs.

In den sechziger Jahren versucht er, mit einem Roman seine Erinnerungen an die Lager zu bannen, scheitert aber. 1995, inzwischen hat er seine Firma aufgelöst, beginnt er noch einmal, seinen "Bericht vom Mensch des Vernichtungslagers" niederzuschreiben: 1996 erscheinen seine "Chroniques d´ailleurs" in der Edition Ramsay (im Hanser-Verlag 1998 unter dem Titel "Chronik aus einer dunklen Welt").

Paul Steinberg stirbt 1999 in Paris.