Michail A. Sawizki

1922 (Swinjatschi, USSR) - 2010 (Minsk)

Painter

"My painting has not been based on random impressions but on my memories. But the times have demanded something else from me: to understand what I have lived through, to seek to discover what threads link past and present."



Mikhail Andreyevich Savitski was born to a farming family in the village of Zvenyachi in the district of Vitebsk on 18 February 1922. After his conscription into the Red Army in 1940 he served in the region around Sebastopol.

In 1942 he was captured and held in the Stalag 326 (VI K) Senne prisoner-of-war camp. From there he was transferred to Buchenwald Concentration Camp – the date of his arrival and his inmate number are unknown – and then to the Mittelbau-Dora subcamp or concentration camp. He remembered being transferred from there to Dachau. 

After 29 April 1945 Savitski returned to the USSR and served in the army until 1947. From 1947 to 1951 he followed a course of studies at Minsk State Art College and then studied until 1957 at the Surikov Art Institute in Moscow. From 1957 onwards he lived in Minsk, working as a painter, and received numerous awards, including People’s Artist of Belarus, People’s Artist of the USSR and the State Prize of the Belarusian SSR, and was a member of the Belarus Academy of Sciences. From 1980 onwards he taught the masterclass in painting at the Academy.

Mikhail Savitski died in Minsk on 9 November 2010.

Michail A. Sawizki

1922 (Swinjatschi, Sowjetunion) - 2010 (Minsk)

Maler

"Ich habe nicht nach zufälligen Eindrücken, sondern aus der Erinnerung gemalt. Aber die Zeit hat von mir etwas anderes verlangt, das Durchlebte zu begreifen, zu suchen welche Fäden Vergangenheit und Gegenwärtiges verbinden."



Am 18. Februar 1922 wird Michail Andrejewitsch Sawizki in dem Dorf Swinjatschi, im Gebiet von Witebsk, in eine Bauernfamilie geboren. Nach der Einberufung zur Roten Armee im Jahr 1940, leistet er bis 1942 Kriegsdienst im Raum Sewastopol.

1942 wird Michail Sawizki gefangen genommen und in das Kriegsgefangenenstammlager (Stalag) 326 (VI K) Senne eingeliefert. Von dort kommt er in das KZ Buchenwald - Einlieferungsdatum und Häftlingsnummer sind nicht bekannt - und anschließend in das Außenlager bzw. KZ Mittelbau-Dora. Er erinnert sich, von dort nach Dachau überstellt worden zu sein.

Nach dem 29. April 1945 kehrt Michail Sawizki in die UdSSR zurück, leistet bis 1947 Militärdienst. 1947-1951 Lehrgang an der Minsker Fachschule der Künste und anschließend bis 1957 Studium an der Surikow-Universität der Künste in Moskau. Seit 1957 lebt er in Minsk und arbeitet dort als Maler, erhält zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u.a.: Volksmaler der UdSSR und Weißrußlands, Staatspreis der Weißrussischen SSR, ist Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften Weißrußlands. Seit 1980 leitet er die Meisterklasse der Bildmalerei in der Akademie.

Michail Sawizki stirbt am 9. November 2010 in Minsk.