Herbert Sandberg

1908 (Posen) - 1991 (Berlin)

Painter, Graphic Designer and Illustrator

"It was … in Buchenwald Concentration Camp … in the semi-darkness of a corner, that I began … to make thirty sketches for woodcuts – the story in pictures of a young inmate, to whom I imparted the knowledge and experiences that I had gained before and during my captivity."



Herbert Sandberg was born in Posen on 4 April 1908. In 1925 he studied art in Breslau under Otto Mueller and others. From 1926 onwards he worked as a newspaper artist for publications including the Berliner Tageblatt and Rote Post. In 1928 he moved to Berlin, where he became a member of the Rote Hilfe ("Red Aid") and the International Workers’ Aid. In 1933 he carried out illegal resistance activities for the German Communist Party.

After being held for five months at Berlin-Plötzensee, Sandberg was sentenced in 1934 to three years in prison (at Brandenburg-Görden). In July 1937 he was taken from police headquarters in Berlin to Buchenwald Concentration Camp (as a "political" and a Jew). At different times he was set to work in the construction detachment and as a draughtsman for a proof-of-ancestry document in the Pathology Department. He was a member of the illegal camp organization.

After liberation, Sandberg and Günther Weisenborn co-edited the satirical magazine Ulenspiegel until 1950. In the years that followed he was a draughtsman, graphic artist, stage designer and illustrator, and published numerous books; he worked, though not continuously, for Neues Deutschland and also as the editor of Bildende Kunst. In 1967, having previously won various other awards, he received the Art Prize of the German Democratic Republic. In 1972 he was appointed to a professorship. In 1973 he was awarded the GDR National Prize, Second Class.

Herbert Sandberg died in Berlin on 18 March 1991.

Herbert Sandberg

1908 (Posen) - 1991 (Berlin)

Zeichner, Graphiker und Illustrator

"Es war … im Konzentrationslager Buchenwald … in dem Halbdunkel einer Ecke begann ich … dreißig Holzschnittskizzen zu entwerfen: die Bildgeschichte eines jungen Häftlings, dem ich die Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen vermittelte, die ich vor und während meiner Haft gesammelt hatte."



Herbert Sandberg wird am 4. April 1908 in Posen geboren. 1925 Kunststudium in Breslau unter anderem bei Otto Mueller. Seit 1926 ist er als Pressezeichner tätig, "Berliner Tageblatt", "Rote Post" u.a. 1928 übersiedelt er nach Berlin, Mitglied der "Roten Hilfe" und der "Internationalen Arbeiterhilfe", 1933 illegale Widerstandsarbeit für die KPD.

Nach fünfmonatiger Haft in Berlin-Plötzensee wird Herbert Sandberg 1934 zu drei Jahren Zuchthaus verurteilt (in Brandenburg-Görden). Aus dem Berliner Polizeipräsidium wird er im Juli 1937 in das KZ Buchenwald überführt ("Politischer" und "Jude"). Zeitweilig im Maurerkommando und als Zeichner eines Ahnenpasses in der Pathologie beschäftigt. Mitglied der illegalen Lagerorganisation.

Nach der Befreiung ist Herbert Sandberg bis 1950 mit Günther Weisenborn Herausgeber der satirischen Zeitschrift "Ulenspiegel". In den Folgejahren: Zeichner, Graphiker, Bühnenbildner und Illustrator, zahlreiche Buchveröffentlichungen, zeitweilig Arbeit im "Neuen Deutschland" und als Chefredakteur von "Bildende Kunst". 1967 erhält er nach verschiedenen anderen Auszeichnungen den Kunstpreis der DDR. 1972 Ernennung zum Professor. 1973 Nationalpreis der DDR II. Klasse.

Am 18. März 1991 stirbt Herbert Sandberg in Berlin.