David Rousset

1912 (Roanne, France) - 1997 (Paris)

Economic Journalist und Politician

"Ordinary people do not know that everything is possible. Even when the evidence forces their reason to admit it, their muscles still refuse. But the former inmates of the concentration camps know."



David Rousset was born in Roanne in the Loire department of central France on 18 January 1912, the son of a Protestant industrial worker. He studied philosophy and literature at the Sorbonne in Paris. In 1933 he aligned himself with the Trotskyists; in 1936, together with Fred Zeller, he founded the Revolutionary Socialist Youth and the Internationalist Workers’ Party, and took part in protests against French colonial policy in North Africa.

On 12 October 1943 Rousset was arrested because of his underground resistance activities and in late January 1944 was transferred from Fresnes prison to Buchenwald Concentration Camp; on 10 March he was transferred to Neuengamme Concentration Camp, where he was liberated by the Americans in April 1945.

After his return to France, Rousset dedicated himself to the unsparing exposure of the hierarchical and bureaucratic organizational structure of the Nazi concentration camps: his literary analysis of it, L’Univers concentrationnaire, was published in 1946 and its title became a set phrase. Two further publications followed. In 1948, together with Jean Paul Sartre, Albert Camus and André Breton, he founded the Rassemblement démocratique révolutionnaire ("Democratic Revolutionary Grouping"), which advocated a radical socialist solution distinct from the programme of the French Communist Party.

On 12 November 1949 Rousset appealed in Le Figaro Littéraire for former concentration camp inmates to set up a commission to investigate the Soviet camps. Up to 1958 he was vice-president of the International Commission against the Concentration Camp Regime and contributed to its reports on labour camps in the Soviet Union and China and also prisons in Spain. After May 1968 he was a Gaullist deputy in the French parliament until 1973. He earned his living as a political and economic journalist working for major magazines and daily newspapers and for radio and television.

David Rousset died in Paris on 13 December 1997.

David Rousset

1912 (Roanne, Frankreich) - 1997 (Paris)

Wirtschaftsjournalist und Politiker

"Normale Menschen wissen nicht, daß alles möglich ist. Selbst wenn die Beweise ihren Verstand zwingen, es zuzugeben, weigern sich noch ihre Muskeln. Die Konzentrationäre wissen es."



David Rousset wird am 18. Januar 1912 in Roanne (Loire) als Sohn eines protestantischen Industriearbeiters geboren. Er studiert Philosophie und Literatur an der Pariser Sorbonne. 1933 wendet er sich den Trotzkisten zu, gründet 1936 gemeinsam mit Fred Zeller die "Revolutionäre Sozialistische Jugend", die "Partei der internationalistischen Arbeiter" und beteiligt sich an Protesten gegen die Kolonialpolitik Frankreichs in Nordafrika.

Am 12. Oktober 1943 wird David Rousset wegen seiner Untergrundarbeit in der Résistance verhaftet und kommt Ende Januar 1944 vom Gefängnis Fresnes ins KZ Buchenwald, am 10. März wird er in das KZ Neuengamme verlegt und im April 1945 von den Amerikanern befreit.

Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Frankreich engagiert sich David Rousset für die schonungslose Aufklärung der hierarchisch-bürokratischen Struktur in den nationalsozialistischen Konzentrationslagern: 1946 erscheint seine literarische Analyse "L´Univers concentrationnaire" – der Titel wird zum feststehenden Begriff. Zwei weitere Veröffentlichungen folgen. Gemeinsam mit Jean Paul Sartre, Albert Camus und André Breton gründet er 1948 die "Rassemblement démocratique révolutionnaire" (Demokratische Revolutionäre Versammlung), die für eine radikale sozialistische Lösung in Abgrenzung zum Programm der Kommunistischen Partei Frankreichs eintritt. Am 12. November 1949 appelliert David Rousset in "Le Figaro Litteraire" an die ehemaligen KZ-Häftlinge, eine Kommission zur Untersuchung der sowjetischen Lager zu etablieren.

Bis 1958 ist er Vize-Präsident der internationalen Kommission gegen die Konzentrationslager, beteiligt sich an den Weißbüchern über die Arbeitslager in der Sowjetunion, in China und die Gefängnisse in Spanien. Nach dem Mai 1968 ist er bis 1973 Abgeordneter für die Gaullisten. Seinen Lebensunterhalt verdient er sich als politischer und Wirtschaftsjournalist für große Magazine und Tageszeitungen, Radio und Fernsehen.

David Rousset stirbt am 13. Dezember 1997 in Paris.