Franz Rosenbach

1927 (Horatitz, Sudetenland) - 2012 (Nuremberg)

Dep. Chairman of the Bavarian State Association of Sinti and Roma



Franz Rosenbach was born in Horatitz, Sudetenland on 29 September 1927. From 1938 onwards he lived with his family in Töpfritz, Lower Austria. In February 1943 the Rosenbach family was arrested under Heinrich Himmler’s Auschwitz Decree on gypsies and imprisoned in Vienna. Almost a year later they were deported to the "gypsy camp" at Auschwitz/Birkenau, where Franz Rosenbach’s eldest sister died of malnutrition. In April 1944 the SS transferred him to Buchenwald Concentration Camp. His mother and his two other sisters were taken to Ravensbrück. A month later Franz Rosenbach was moved to the Mittelbau-Dora subcamp, where he had to work on the building of the hutted camp above ground. He was subsequently taken to the subcamp at Harzungen.

From there, on 1 April 1945, Wehrmacht soldiers and SS men forced him on to a death march. The guards absconded near Dessau, and Rosenbach managed to make his way back to his home village, but found none of his family there anymore. Not until the early 1950s did he meet his sisters Julie and Mizi again, the only family members to have survived.

After the war Rosenbach was left with nothing. All his papers had been destroyed, and he was declared stateless. For decades he struggled to get by on temporary residence and work permits. He repeatedly applied for the restoration of his citizenship; it was only in 1991 that he was able to acquire German citizenship. For many years Rosenbach was deputy chairman of the Bavarian State Association of Sinti and Roma, working for the association into advanced old age. In addition, until his death he remained a member of the Advisory Board of Former Inmates of Buchenwald Concentration Camp of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation.

On 7 October 2012, at the age of eighty-five, Franz Rosenbach died in Nuremberg.

Franz Rosenbach

1927 (Horatitz, Sudetenland) - 2012 (Nürnberg)

Stellv. Vorsitzender des bayrischen Landesverbandes der Sinti und Roma



Franz Rosenbach wird am 29. September 1927 in Horatitz (Sudetenland) geboren. Seit 1938 lebt er mit seiner Familie in Töpfritz (Niederösterreich). Im Februar 1943 wird die Familie Rosenbach aufgrund des "Zigeunererlasses" Heinrich Himmlers verhaftet und in Wien inhaftiert. Ein knappes Jahr später erfolgt die Deportation in das "Zigeunerlager" Auschwitz/Birkenau, wo Franz Rosenbachs älteste Schwester an Unterernährung stirbt. Im April 1944 überstellt ihn die SS in das KZ Buchenwald. Die Mutter und seine beiden anderen Schwestern kommen in das KZ Ravensbrück. Einen Monat später wird Franz Rosenbach in das Außenlager Mittelbau-Dora überstellt, wo er beim Aufbau des oberirdischen Barackenlagers arbeiten muss. Danach wird er in das Außenlager Harzungen gebracht.

Von dort aus treiben ihn Wehrmachtsoldaten und SS am 4. April 1945 auf Todesmarsch. Die Bewacher setzen sich bei Dessau ab und Franz Rosenbach schlägt sich in seinen Heimatort durch. Dort findet er keine Familienangehörigen mehr vor. Erst Anfang der fünfziger Jahre trifft er seine Schwestern Julie und Mizi wieder. Sie sind die einzigen Überlebenden seiner Familie.

Nach dem Krieg steht Franz Rosenbach vor dem Nichts. Seine gesamten Papiere sind vernichtet. Er wird für staatenlos erklärt. Mit befristeten Arbeits- und Aufenthaltsgenehmigungen schlägt er sich jahrzehntelang durch. Immer wieder bemüht er sich um seine Wiedereinbürgerung. Erst 1991 bekommt er die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft. Bis ins hohe Alter ist der langjährige stellvertretende Vorsitzende Franz Rosenbach für den bayerischen Landesverbandes der Sinti und Roma tätig. Zudem ist er bis zu seinem Tod Mitglied im Häftlingsbeirat KZ Buchenwald an der Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora.

Am 7. Oktober 2012 stirbt Franz Rosenbach im Alter von 85 Jahren in Nürnberg.