Paul Neurath

1911 (Vienna) - 2001 (New York)

Sociologist

When I … was defending my dissertation on concentration camps, Merton said … Here we have a piece of work … but without any figures to back it up … "To which I replied, with some force: This is a quantitative study in which the figures are only missing because under the circumstances it was difficult for me to obtain them."



Paul Neurath was born in Vienna on 12 September 1911. His mother died during childbirth. His father, Otto Neurath, was a member of the Wiener Kreis ("Vienna Circle"), an association of philosophers. To begin with, Paul was brought up in a children’s home near Linz; from 1921 onwards he lived with his father and stepmother. He studied law, attended the business academy and took courses leading to technical qualifications in electrical engineering, mechanical engineering and gas welding. He saw himself as a socialist. In 1934 his parents emigrated to the Netherlands. Neurath eked out a living doing casual work.

He was arrested on 30 March 1938 and deported on 1 April, with the first transport of Austrians, to Dachau Concentration Camp. In September 1938 he was transferred to Buchenwald, where he met Ernst Federn and Bruno Bettelheim. He recited poems by Christian Morgenstern to his fellow inmates.
On 27 May 1939 he was released and emigrated to Sweden. From June 1941, through the mediation of the sociologist Paul Lazarsfeld, he studied sociology in New York. His doctoral dissertation (1943) was on "social life in the Dachau and Buchenwald Concentration Camps of Germany" (published in 1951).
From 1943 he taught sociology and statistics at City College Downtown, New York and from 1946 at Queens College, New York, and other colleges. Between 1955 and 1957 he was a Fulbright professor in Bombay and New Delhi in the context of a UNESCO project on the effectiveness of educational radio programmes in fostering innovation in Indian agriculture. From 1959 to 1960 he taught at the University of XYZ, and in 1971/72 and 1978/79 at Vienna University, where he established the Paul Lazarsfeld Archive. He published on the sociology of the concentration camp, on the history of sociology, specifically on the Vienna Circle of empirical-positivist philosophy, and on development aid projects in India. He taught at the universities of Vienna and New York.

Paul Neurath died in New York on 3 September 2001.

Paul Neurath

1911 (Wien) - 2001 (New York)

Soziologe

"Als ich ... meine Dissertation über Konzentrationslager verteidigte, meinte Merton ... Hier aber haben wir eine Arbeit vor uns ... aber alles ohne Zahlen als Beleg... Worauf ich mit Betonung antwortete: Dies hier ist eine quantitative Arbeit, bei der nur die Zahlen fehlen, weil ich sie unter den gegebenen Umständen nicht gut zusammenbekommen konnte."



Am 12. September 1911 wird Paul Neurath in Wien geboren. Seine Mutter stirbt bei der Geburt. Sein Vater, Otto Neurath, gehört zum "Wiener Kreis", einer Vereinigung von Philosophen. Paul Neurath wächst zunächst in einem Heim bei Linz auf. Ab 1921 lebt er bei seinem Vater und dessen zweiter Frau. Er studiert Jura, besucht die Wirtschaftsakademie und absolviert Werkmeister-Kurse für Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau und Gasschweißen. Er versteht sich als Sozialist. 1934 emigrieren die Eltern in die Niederlande. Paul Neurath überlebt mit Gelegenheitsarbeiten.

Am 30. März 1938 wird er verhaftet und am 1. April mit dem ersten Transport von Österreichern in das KZ Dachau deportiert. Im September 1938 kommt er nach Buchenwald, dort lernt er Ernst Federn und Bruno Bettelheim kennen. Für Mithäftlinge rezitiert er Gedichte von Hans Christian Morgenstern. Am 27. Mai 1939 wird Paul Neurath entlassen und emigriert nach Schweden.

Ab Juni 1941 studiert er in New York durch Vemittlung des Soziologen Paul Lazarfeld Soziologie, 1943 Dissertation "Social Life in the German Concentration Camps Dachau und Buchenwald" (1951 gedruckt). Seit 1943 Lehrtätigkeit in Soziologie und Statistik am City College Downtown, ab 1946 am Queens-College in New York und anderen Colleges. 1955-1957 Fulbright-Professor in Bombay und Neu Delhi in einem UNESCO Projekt zur innovativen Wirkung von Radio-Lernprogrammen in der Landwirtschaft Indiens. 1959-1960 an der Universität, 1971-1972 und 1978-1979 Universität Wien, Aufbau des Paul Lazarfeld-Archivs. Veröffentlichungen zur Soziologie des KZ, zur Geschichte der Soziologie, speziell zum Wiener Kreis der empirisch-positivistischen Philosophie und zu Entwicklungshilfe-Projekten in Indien. Er lehrt an den Universitäten Wien und New York.

Paul Neurath stirbt am 3. September 2001 in New York.