Hans Litten

1903 (Halle/Saale) - 1938 (KZ Dachau)

Jurist

"In and of themselves, anti-cultural times are valueless, but they are evidently indispensable for the development of Europe. … What is essentially an entirely pointless chaos is created, which is necessary, however, for the restoration of a new order."



Hans Joachim Albert Litten was born to a Jewish family of German nationalist persuasion in Halle an der Saale on 19 June 1903. Shortly after his birth, the family moved to Königsberg, where his father was a professor and, for a time, dean of the law faculty of Königsberg University. Litten was raised a Christian, but as a teenager turned to Judaism. At school he learned several languages, including Arabic, Sanskrit and Chinese. Rather than linguistics, he studied law in keeping with his parents’ wishes. In addition to his studies in Königsberg, Munich and Berlin, he wrote essays on art and literature. In 1928 he entered service as a lawyer at the court of appeal in Berlin, provided legal assistance to the Workers Relief, also defending workers in conflicts with the National Socialists. In 1931, Litten succeeded in summoning Adolf Hitler before a court in Berlin and exposing him with his questions.

On 28 February 1933, shortly after the Reichstag fire, Litten was arrested. From the Berlin Spandau prison he was transferred to the Brandenburg jail, and then to a forced labour camp in the Esterwegen Moor. Heavy physical labour and torture permanently damaged his health. While in custody, he made repeated attempts to commit suicide. In 1934 he was committed to Lichtenburg Concentration Camp, where he worked in the camp library and the bookbinder’s shop, and also wrote works of his own about Middle High German, art history and the history of literature. In mid August 1937 he was transferred to Buchenwald Concentration Camp, and on 17 October 1937 to Dachau. He walked on crutches. For his fellow inmates he gave lectures on metaphysics, law, literature and art and quoted passages many pages long from memory. All efforts to have him released ‒ to which especially his mother devoted herself ‒ were in vain.

On 5 February 1938, fellow inmates found him hanged in the latrine.

Hans Litten

1903 (Halle/Saale) - 1938 (KZ Dachau)

Jurist

"Die antikulturellen Zeiten sind in sich ohne Wert, aber sie sind offenbar für die europäische Entwicklung unentbehrlich … Da wird … ein an sich völlig sinnloses Chaos geschaffen, das aber zur Wiederherstellung einer neuen Ordnung notwendig ist."



Am 19. Juni 1903 wird Hans Joachim Albert Litten in Halle (Saale) in eine jüdische, deutsch-national gesinnte Familie geboren. Kurz nach seiner Geburt zieht die Familie nach Königsberg, wo sein Vater Professor und zeitweilig auch Dekan an der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Königsberg ist. Hans Litten wird christlich erzogen, wendet sich aber als Jugendlicher dem Judentum zu. Als Schüler lernt er mehrere Fremdsprachen, auch Arabisch, Sanskrit und Chinesisch. Auf Wunsch der Eltern studiert er nicht Sprachwissenschaft, sondern Jura in Königsberg, München und Berlin, schreibt Aufsätze zu Kunst und Literatur. 1928 läßt er sich als Rechtsanwalt am Berliner Kammergericht nieder, leistet der „Roten Arbeiter-Hilfe“ juristischen Beistand, verteidigt dabei auch Arbeiter, die in Konflikte mit den Nationalsozialisten geraten sind. 1931 gelingt es Hans Litten, Adolf Hitler vor ein Berliner Gericht zu laden und ihn mit seinen Fragen bloß zu stellen.

Am 28. Februar 1933, kurz nach dem Reichstagsbrand, wird Hans Litten verhaftet. Aus dem Gefängnis Berlin-Spandau kommt er ins Zuchthaus Brandenburg und schließlich in ein Zwangsarbeiterlager im Esterwegener Moor. Schwere körperliche Arbeit und Folterungen hinterlassen bleibende gesundheitliche Schäden. In der Haft versucht er mehrmals, sich das Leben zu nehmen. 1934 wird er ins KZ Lichtenburg eingeliefert: Arbeit in der Lagerbibliothek und der Buchbinderei sowie eigene Arbeiten über Mittelhochdeutsch, Kunst- und Literaturgeschichte. Mitte August 1937 Überstellung in das KZ Buchenwald, am 17. Oktober 1937 nach Dachau. Er geht an Krücken, hält unter Mitgefangenen Vorträge über Metaphysik, Jura, Literatur und Kunst und zitiert auswendig seitenlange Passagen. Alle Bemühungen um seine Entlassung - vor allem durch seine Mutter - scheitern.

Am 5. Februar 1938 finden Mithäftlinge Hans Litten erhängt in der Latrine.