Eugen Kogon

1903 (Munich) - 1987 (Falkenstein)

Professor for Scientific Politics

"To this day, at the age of seventy-one, it still happens to me that I thrash about and fight in my dreams. … You wake up drenched in sweat, because you’ve been thrown back into the old situation again. … It’s not just work that helps you forget; it’s dedication to goals."



Eugen Kogon was born to a devoutly Catholic Austrian family in Munich on 2 February 1903. He studied national economics and sociology at the universities of Munich, Florence and Vienna. From 1927 to 1934 he worked as a writer, edited a Catholic weekly, and served as an adviser to the central commission of Christian trade unions in Vienna. He belonged to the circle around the sociologist Othmar Spann.

In 1936 and 1937, Kogon was arrested in Germany twice on charges of resistance to National Socialism. In March 1938 he was arrested in Austria. On 22 September 1939 he was committed to Buchenwald Concentration Camp, classified as a "political" and a Jew. He was transferred back and forth between Vienna and Buchenwald twice. In 1942 he became active in the resistance movement in the camp. In 1943 he worked as a clerk in the infirmary, then as private secretary to the SS physician Dr Erwin Ding-Schuler in Block 50, the Hygiene Institute of the SS. Three times he was on a list for deportation to an extermination camp; three times he was saved. On 8 April 1945 he escaped from the camp and sent a forged letter, supposedly from a U.S. officer, to the concentration camp commandant intended to convince the latter to surrender.

After liberation, Kogon wrote a report on the system of the German concentration camps for the Psychological Warfare Division of the Allied Headquarters. He later published this report as Der SS-Staat ("The SS State"). He was a co-founder of the German Christian-Democratic Union, in 1946 co-editor of the Frankfurter Hefte ("Frankfurt Notebooks"), from 1949 onward held various functions in the Union of European Federalists and later other organizations working for European integration. He served as a professor of political science at the Technical University of Darmstadt from 1951 to 1968; from 1963 to 1964 he directed the German television magazine Panorama.

Eugen Kogon died in Falkenstein in the Taunus Mountains of Germany on 24 December 1987.

Eugen Kogon

1903 (München) - 1987 (Falkenstein)

Professor für wissenschaftliche Politik

"… ich … habe das heute im einundsiebzigsten Lebensjahr noch, daß man im Traum wild um sich schlägt und immer kämpft … Man wacht schweißgebadet auf, weil man wieder in die alte Situation versetzt worden ist … Es ist nicht bloß die Arbeit, die vergessen macht, es ist das Engagement auf Ziele hin."



Eugen Kogon wird am 2. Februar 1903 in München in eine streng katholische österreichische Familie geboren. Er studiert Nationalökonomie und Soziologie an den Universitäten München, Florenz und Wien. 1927-1934 publizistische Arbeiten, Redakteur einer katholischen Wochenzeitschrift, Berater der Zentralkommission der Christlichen Gewerkschaften in Wien, gehört zum Kreis um den Soziologen Othmar Spann.

1936 und 1937 wird Eugen Kogon in Deutschland zweimal wegen Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus festgenommen. Im März 1938 Verhaftung in Österreich. Am 22. September 1939 wird Eugen Kogon als "Politischer" und "Jude" ins KZ Buchenwald eingeliefert. Zweimal erfolgt eine Rücküberstellungen nach Wien und die Rückkehr nach Buchenwald. Ab 1942 beteiligt er sich an der Widerstandsbewegung im Lager. 1943 ist er Schreiber im Krankenbereich, dann Privatsekretär des SS-Arztes Dr. Erwin Ding-Schuler im Block 50, dem Hygiene-Institut der SS. Dreimal steht Eugen Kogon auf einer Deportationsliste in ein Vernichtungslager, dreimal gelingt es, ihn zu retten. Am 8. April 1945 wird er aus dem Lager geschmuggelt und schickt einen fingierten Brief eines US-Offiziers an den KZ-Kommandanten, der ihn zur Aufgabe bewegen soll.

Nach der Befreiung verfaßt er für die "Psychological Warfare Division" des Alliierten Hauptquartiers den Bericht "Das System der deutschen Konzentrationslager", an dem er weiter arbeitet und später unter dem Titel "Der SS-Staat" herausgibt. Mitbegründer der CDU, 1946 Mitherausgeber der "Frankfurter Hefte", seit 1949 verschiedene Funktionen in der "Europa-Union" und nachfolgend auch anderen Organisationen, die sich für die europäische Integration einsetzen. 1951-1968 Professor für wissenschaftliche Politik an der TH Darmstadt. 1963-1964 Leitung des Fernseh-Magazins "Panorama".

Am 24. Dezember 1987 stirbt Eugen Kogon in Falkenstein (Taunus).