Spasoje Jarakovic

1921 (Ruma, Serbia) - 1984 (Belgrade)

Graphic Designer and Illustrator



Spasoje Jarakovic was born in Ruma, Serbia on 21 March 1921. Even before finishing school, he had begun working illegally for the Yugoslav Communists in Čačak. On account of those activities, he was publicly penalized and expelled from school. He earned his A-levels in Aleksinac.

Jarakovic was arrested in the summer of 1941 and committed to Topovske Šupe Concentration Camp near Kragujevac. A coincidence saved his life. He exchanged jackets with a fellow prisoner ‒ his leather jacket for a sweater ‒ without suspecting that he was to be identified by his jacket and shot to death for allegedly spying for the Soviets. In October 1941, Jarakovic was transferred to Buchenwald Concentration Camp. He worked as a clerk in the infirmary and made friends with Rudi Supek. In the camp he executed more than four hundred drawings whose present whereabouts, however, are unknown.

In late 1945, Jarakovic returned to Čačak and worked in the Yugoslav counterintelligence. From 1946 to 1950 he studied at the academy of painting in Belgrade. Then he devoted himself to political propaganda and worked as a graphic artist. In the mid 1960s he shifted his focus back to painting. He produced numerous illustrations for children’s books.

Spasoje Jarakovic died in Belgrade on 2 June 1984.

Spasoje Jarakovic

1921 (Ruma, Serbien) - 1984 (Belgrad)

Graphiker und Illustrator



Spasoje Jarakovic wird am 21. März 1921 in Ruma (Serbien) geboren. Schon während der Schulzeit in Cacak arbeitet er illegal für die jugoslawischen Kommunisten. 1938 oder 1939 wird er deshalb öffentlich bestraft und von der Schule verwiesen. Das Abitur macht er in Aleksinac.

Im Sommer 1941 wird Spasoje Jarakovic verhaftet und in das Lager Topovske Supe bei Kragujevac eingeliefert. Durch einen Zufall bleibt er am Leben: Er hat mit einem Kameraden die Jacken getauscht - seine Lederjacke gegen eine Strickjacke - ohne zu ahnen, daß er an dieser Lederjacke erkannt und als sowjetischer Spion erschossen werden soll. Im Oktober 1941 wird Spasoje Jarakovic in das KZ Buchenwald gebracht. Arbeit als Schreiber im Krankenbau. Freundschaft mit Rudi Supek. Im Lager entstehen über 400 Zeichnungen, die jedoch als verschollen gelten.

Ende 1945 kehrt Spasoje Jarakovic nach Cacak zurück und arbeitet in der jugoslawischen Spionageabwehr. Von 1946-1950 studiert er an der Akademie für Malerei in Belgrad. Danach widmet er sich der politischen Propaganda, arbeitet als Graphiker. Mitte der sechziger Jahre wendet er sich wieder der Malerei zu. Es entstehen zahlreiche Illustrationen für Kinderbücher.

Am 2. Juni 1984 stirbt Spasoje Jarakovic in Belgrad.