Rudi Debijadji

1920 (Mostar, Herzegovina) - 2006 (Belgrade)

Physician

"... medically, we all survived in our bad condition through a repression into the subconscious ... It sleeps and surfaces in certain moments."



Rudi Debijadji was born in Mostar, Herzegovina on 28 December 1920, the son of a mason. He passed his final examinations in Podgorica, Montenegro in 1939. In 1941, during the early days of the occupation of Yugoslavia, he joined the National Liberation Movement under Josip Broz Tito.

Early in 1942, Debijadji was arrested by Italians and taken to a prison in Bar, and from there to an internment camp in Albania and on to further camps in Italy. In 1943, he escaped, but was arrested again by fascist Italian forces and handed over to the Germans. He was taken to a work camp and came to Buchenwald Concentration Camp as a "political inmate" late in 1944 or early in 1945. He was involved with the Yugoslav group of illegal anti-fascist resistance organizations.

Following the liberation, Debijadji was a member of the Antifascist Committee of Yugoslavs and worked for the newspaper of the Yugoslav camp committee, Nas glas ("Our Voice"). At the end of 1945, he returned to Yugoslavia and studied medicine in Belgrade. In 1946, he married the future heart specialist Hagar Kajon. After graduating from the military medical academy in Belgrade with a specialization in pathological physiology, he worked until 1976 in the institute for aeromedicine of the Yugoslav air force and air defence detachment. In Yugoslavia, he was one of the pioneers of aviation and space medicine. He was widely published, nationally and internationally, and was a member of many scientific associations in Yugoslavia and the USA, including, beginning in 1973, a seat in the Committee for Astronautics of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts. After working in the health services of the air force and air defence in various positions, he retired in 1986 as a medical colonel.

Rudi Debijadji died in Belgrade on 3 March 2006.

Rudi Debijadji

1920 (Mostar, Herzegowina) - 2006 (Belgrad)

Mediziner

"… medizinisch überlebten wir alle in unserem schlechten Zustand mit einer Verdrängung ins Unterbewußtsein … Es schläft und kommt in manchen Momenten."



Rudi Debijadji wird am 28. Dezember 1920 in Mostar (Hercegovina) als Sohn eines Maurers geboren. 1939 Abitur in Podgorica (Montenegro). 1941, während der beginnenden Besetzung Jugoslawiens, schließt er sich der Volksbefreiungsbewegung unter Josip Broz Tito an.

Anfang 1942 wird Rudi Debijadji von den Italienern verhaftet und in ein Gefängnis in Bar gebracht, von dort kommt er in ein Internierungslager in Albanien, danach in weitere Lager in Italien. 1943 gelingt ihm die Flucht, aber er wird durch faschistische italienische Militärkräfte wieder verhaftet und an die Deutschen übergeben. Er kommt in ein Arbeitslager und Ende 1944/Anfang 1945 als "Politischer" ins KZ Buchenwald. Mitarbeit in der jugoslawischen Gruppe der illegalen antifaschistischen Widerstandsorganisation.

Nach der Befreiung ist Rudi Debijadji Mitglied des Antifaschistischen Komitees der Jugoslawen, arbeitet mit an der Zeitung des Jugoslawischen Lagerkomitees "Nas glas" (Unsere Stimme). Ende 1945 kehrt er nach Jugoslawien zurück und studiert in Belgrad Medizin. 1946 heiratet er die spätere Herzspezialistin Hagar Kajon. Nach Abschluß an der Militärmedizinischen Akademie in Belgrad mit der Spezialisierung pathologische Physiologie arbeitet er bis 1976 am Institut für Luftfahrtmedizin des Kommandos der Jugoslawischen Luftwaffe und Luftabwehr. Innerhalb Jugoslawiens ist er einer der Pioniere der Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin. Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen im In- und Ausland, Mitglied vieler wissenschaftlicher Vereinigungen in Jugoslawien und den USA, darunter seit 1973 im Ausschuß für Astronautik der Serbischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste. Nach vielfältiger Tätigkeit im Gesundheitsdienst der Luftwaffe und Luftabwehr wird er 1986 im Range eines Sanitäts-Oberst pensioniert.

Rudi Debijadji stirbt am 3. März 2006 in Belgrad.