Vasile Dan

1925 (Oradea, Romania)

Director

"I was never devout. And since the camp, I have not believed in God ... I can’t say that God is a good smiling person with a white beard ... He has a lot of problems with these five billion people."



Vasile Dan (Làszlò Deutsch) was born in Oradea, Romania on 9 September 1925. He wanted to become a paediatrician but in the part of northern Romania that was occupied by Hungary, Jews were not allowed to study medicine.

In April 1944, following the German invasion in Hungary, he was arrested by Hungarian police and deported to Auschwitz. On 6 June, he was taken to Buchenwald and was transferred to the subcamp of the Brabag AG in Magdeburg three weeks later. There he worked in bunker construction and rubble clearing. In February 1945 he was taken back to Buchenwald, to the Little Camp, from which he was freed in April.

In July 1945, Vasile Dan returned to Romania and studied medicine at the university in Cluj-Napoca. In 1948, he left university because he fell seriously ill with TB, a consequence of his internment in the concentration camp. He started training at a theatre academy. By 1949, he was assistant producer at the national theatre in Cluj, and from 1955 on, director and producer in chief of the Cluj-Napoca puppet theatre. He staged plays in Hungarian and Romanian for children and adults, plays from classical literature and fairy tales as well as comedies. These performances were subject to massive censorship by the state. In 1980, Dan took the position of director with a Dutch company in Bucharest. After the revolution in Romania in 1989, he returned to Cluj and became a manager for a German-Romanian firm and for American groups (foreign trade). Vasile Dan is the secretary of Memento, the Romanian Association of Survivors of Buchenwald Concentration Camp.

Vasile Dan

1925 (Oradea, Rumänien)

Regisseur

"Ich war nie fromm. Und seit dem Lager glaube ich nicht an Gott … ich kann nicht sagen, daß Gott ein guter Mensch mit weißem Bart ist, der lächelt … Er hat viele Probleme mit diesen fünf Milliarden Leuten."



Am 9. September 1925 wird Vasile Dan (Làszlò Deutsch) in Oradea (Rumänien) geboren. Er möchte Kinderarzt werden, doch ist Juden das Medizinstudium im von Ungarn eingenommenen Teil Nordrumäniens verboten.

Im April 1944 - nach dem Einmarsch der Deutschen in Ungarn - wird er von der ungarischen Gendarmerie als Jude verhaftet und nach Auschwitz deportiert. Am 6. Juni wird er nach Buchenwald transportiert, drei Wochen später in das Außenkommando der Brabag AG in Magdeburg. Dort arbeitet er beim Bau von Bunkern und in der Trümmerbeseitigung. Im Februar 1945 kommt er zurück nach Buchenwald, ins Kleine Lager und wird im April befreit.

Im Juli 1945 kehrt Vasile Dan nach Rumänien zurück und studiert an der Universität in Cluj-Napoca Medizin. 1948 bricht er das Studium wegen einer schweren TBC-Erkrankung - Folge der KZ-Haft - ab. Beginn einer Ausbildung an der Theaterakademie. 1949 ist er Regieassistent am Nationaltheater in Cluj, seit 1955 Direktor und Chefregisseur am Puppentheater in Cluj-Napoca. Er inszeniert Stücke in ungarischer oder rumänischer Sprache für Kinder und Erwachsene: aus der klassischen Literatur sowie Märchen und Komödien. Die Aufführungen unterliegen einer massiven staatlichen Zensur. 1980 übernimmt Vasile Dan die Direktorenstelle einer niederländischen Firma in Bukarest. 1989, nach der Revolution in Rumänien, kehrt er nach Cluj zurück, ist als Manager für ein deutsch-rumänisches Unternehmen und amerikanische Konzerne (Außenhandel) tätig. Vasile Dan ist Sekretär der Vereinigung der Überlebenden des KZ Buchenwald in Rumänien "Memento".