Contact

Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora
Memorials Foundation

99427 Weimar
Germany
Phone: +49 (0)3643 430 0
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 100
info(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Foundation's Mission

On March 17, 2003, with effect from January 1, 2003, the Thuringian state parliament resolved the establishment of a public law foundation with legal capacity under the name "Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora" (Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation). The foundation's headquarters are located in Weimar.

"The foundation's purpose is to preserve the sites of the crimes as sites of mourning and commemoration, to provide these sites with a scientifically founded form and outward appearance and to make them accessible to the public in an appropriate manner, as well as to promote education through the research of the respective historical occurrences and their conveyance to the public. At the Buchenwald Memorial, the history of the Nazi concentration camp is to receive priority within this context. The history of the Soviet internment camp is to be integrated into the scientific and museum work to an appropriate degree. At the Mittelbau-Dora Memorial, special attention is to be devoted to the subject of the exploitation of inmates for the production of weapons of destruction. The history of the two memorials' political instrumentalisation during the era of the former German Democratic Republic is also to be represented.

The foundation's obligations include the organisation and realisation of permanent and temporary exhibitions, scientific colloquia and cultural events on the national and international level, the educational guidance of the visitors with a special focus on young people, and scientific documentation, research and publication in connection with the work of the memorial." (Article 2 of the Thuringian Act providing for the establishment of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation)

The foundation pursues exclusively and immediately non-profit objectives. The finances are furnished by the federal government and the State of Thuringia in equal parts. The organs of the foundation are the foundation council and the foundation director. A scientific board of trustees advises the foundation council and the foundation director on all special questions.

In order to incorporate the experiences of the victims into the memorial work, three advisory boards were formed:

    an advisory board of former inmates of Buchenwald Concentration Camp
    an advisory board of former inmates of Mittelbau-Dora Concentration Camp
    an advisory board of former inmates of Soviet Special Camp No. 2.

Kontakt

Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald
und Mittelbau-Dora
99427 Weimar
Deutschland
Fon: +49 (0)3643 430 0
Fax: +49 (0)3643 430 100
sekretariat(at)buchenwald(dot)de

Stiftungszweck

Mit Wirkung vom 1. Januar 2003 hat der Thüringer Landtag am 17. März 2003 die Errichtung einer rechtsfähigen Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts unter dem Namen "Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora" mit Sitz in Weimar beschlossen.

"Zweck der Stiftung ist es, die Gedenkstätten als Orte der Trauer und der Erinnerung an die dort begangenen Verbrechen zu bewahren, wissenschaftlich begründet zu gestalten und sie in geeigneter Weise der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen, sowie Bildung und Erziehung durch die Erforschung und Vermittlung damit verbundener historischer Vorgänge zu fördern. Dabei ist in der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald die Geschichte des nationalsozialistischen Konzentrationslagers mit Vorrang zu behandeln. Die Geschichte des sowjetischen Internierungslagers ist in angemessener Form in die wissenschaftliche und museale Arbeit einzubeziehen. In der Gedenkstätte Mittelbau-Dora ist die besondere Problematik des Missbrauchs von Häftlingen für die Herstellung von Vernichtungswaffen zu berücksichtigen. Ferner ist die Geschichte der politischen Instrumentalisierung der Gedenkstätten zu Zeiten der ehemaligen Deutschen Demokratischen Republik darzustellen.

Zu den Aufgaben der Stiftung gehören insbesondere die Organisation und Durchführung von Dauer- und Wechselausstellungen, von wissenschaftlichen Kolloquien und kulturellen Veranstaltungen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene, die Besucherbetreuung und die Jugendarbeit sowie auf die Gedenkstättenarbeit bezogene wissenschaftliche Dokumentation, Forschung und Publikation." (§ 2 des Thüringer Gesetzes über die Errichtung der Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora)

Die Stiftung verfolgt ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützige Zwecke. Die Finanzierung erfolgt durch den Bund und das Land Thüringen zu gleichen Teilen. Organe der Stiftung sind der Stiftungsrat und der Stiftungsdirektor. Ein wissenschaftliches Kuratorium berät den Stiftungsrat und den Stiftungsdirektor in allen fachlichen Fragen.

Um die Erfahrung der Opfer einzubeziehen, wurden drei Beiräte gebildet:

  • ein Beirat aus ehemaligen Häftlingen des KZ Buchenwald,
  • ein Beirat aus ehemaligen Häftlingen des KZ Mittelbau-Dora,
  • ein Beirat aus ehemaligen Häftlingen des sowjetischen Speziallagers Nr. 2.