Warning sign on the camp fence of the concentration subcamp Boelcke Casern, April 1945, detail. Photo: US Holocaust Memorial Museum

Winter of 1944/45: The First Phase of Dissolution

The structural dissolution of Mittelbau Concentration Camp had already begun in the late autumn of 1944. Due to overcrowding in the subcamp and particularly the onset of winter, the living conditions worsened throughout the complex, leading to a sharp rise in the mortality rate. Having reached a peak of 750 in March 1944, the monthly rate had sunk to 100–150 in the summer of the same year. In November it shot up again, reaching 570 (the number officially registered by the SS) in December, of which 500 were accounted for by the Ellrich-Juliushütte Camp alone.

At the end of 1944 the SS began to “evacuate” the Auschwitz and Gross-Rosen camps in view of the advancing Red Army, transporting the inmates to concentration camps farther west. Many of these transports went to Mittelbau: altogether 16,000 inmates from Auschwitz and Gross-Rosen, including women and children, were deported there by March 1945. These transfers brought about an increase in the number of Jewish inmates in the Mittelbau camps. After weeks of travel in railway transports, most of those who had managed to survive the journeys were ill and completely exhausted.

This development resulted in another drastic rise in the number of deaths. Between January and early April 1945, over 6,000 inmates died in the camps of Mittelbau, including 3,000 in the Boelcke Casern in Nordhausen, set up by the SS in January as a central death camp for the Mittelbau complex.

Warnschild am Lagerzaun des KZ-Außenlagers Boelcke-Kaserne, April 1945, Ausschnitt. Foto: US Holocaust Memorial Museum

Winter 1944/45: Beginnende Auflösung

Die Auflösungsphase des KZ Mittelbau begann bereits im Spätherbst 1944. Da die Außenlager überfüllt waren, besonders aber durch den einsetzenden Winter verschlechterten sich die Lebensbedingungen in allen Lagern des Komplexes, was zu einem starken Anstieg der Todesrate führte. War diese nach dem Höchststand im März 1944 (750 Tote) im Sommer jenes Jahres auf monatlich 100 bis 150 Tote abgesunken, so stieg sie ab November wieder stark an und erreichte im Dezember die Zahl von 570 offiziell von der SS registrierten Toten, davon allein knapp 500 im Lager Ellrich-Juliushütte.

Ende 1944 begann die SS, die Insassen der Lager Auschwitz und Groß-Rosen vor der anrückenden Roten Armee in weiter westlich gelegene Konzentrationslager zu "evakuieren". Viele dieser Transporte gingen in den "Mittelbau" - insgesamt wurden bis zu 16.000 Häftlinge aus Auschwitz und Groß-Rosen bis März 1945 dorthin verschleppt, darunter auch Frauen und Kinder. Mit diesen Transporten stieg auch die Zahl der jüdischen Häftlinge in den Mittelbau-Lagern. Die meisten von ihnen waren nach wochenlangen Eisenbahntransporten krank und völlig erschöpft, viele überlebten die Transporte nicht.

Folge dieser Entwicklung war eine erneute drastische Zunahme der Sterblichkeit. Zwischen Januar und Anfang April 1945 starben in den Lagern des KZ Mittelbau über 6000 Häftlinge, davon etwa 3000 in der Boelcke-Kaserne in Nordhausen, die von der SS Anfang Januar als zentrales Sterbelager für den Mittelbau-Komplex eingerichtet worden war.