Contact

Persons interested in this  travelling exhibition please contact:

Torsten Heß

Phone: +49 (0)3631 495 815
Fax: +49 (0)3631 495 813
thess(at)dora(dot).de

Martina König
Phone: +49 (0)5051 4759 110
martina.koenig(at)stiftung-ng(dot)de

Dates and locations

There are currently no upcoming dates and locations.

Additional Information

Literature
The exhibition catalogue is available in German and English:

at the Visitor Information of Mittelbau Dora Concentration Camp Memorial here

at the bookshop of Buchenwald Memorial here

at the online-bookshop of the Foundation, German version here

Exhibition banner. Photo: Nadine Jenke, Mittelbau-Dora Concentration Camp Memorial

Between Harz and Heath: Death Marches and Evacuation Transports in April 1945

An exhibition of the Buchenwald and Mittelbau-Dora Memorials Foundation and the Lower Saxony Memorials Foundation

In the final weeks of the war, the Nazi crimes escalated – now no longer in the subjectively faraway “East”, but in the very midst of German society. In early April 1945, as the U.S. Army was approaching from the west, the SS cleared the Mittelbau-Dora concentration camp in the Harz Mountains. In all haste, they loaded 40,000 inmates into livestock wagons or drove them northward on foot. About half of the transports ended in the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp. Thousands of inmates were murdered on the death marches shortly before liberation. After the war, the Allies endeavoured to get to the bottom of the crimes committed during the death marches. Most Germans, on the other hand, refused to concern themselves with the topic.

The exhibition sheds light on the extent of the violence carried out during the death marches and shows that the crimes were committed in public for all to see. It also takes a look at the “casern camp” in Bergen-Hohne that was used in April 1945 as a satellite camp of the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp to accommodate inmates from Mittelbau-Dora. The same facility later served as Germany’s largest DP camp for Jews.

The exhibition presents the events taking place during the camp evacuation from a range of different perspectives. It directs special attention to diaries, recollections and drawings of former inmates that convey how closely the hope of imminent liberation and the immediate threat to life were intertwined. At the same time, it shows the great degree of involvement and complicity among the German population – and many Germans’ later refusal to face up to the responsibility for crimes carried out virtually in front of their doorsteps.

Kontakt

Bei Interesse an einer Ausleihe der Ausstellung wenden Sie sich bitte an:

Torsten Heß

Fon: +49 (0)3631 495 815
Fax: +49 (0)3631 495 813
thess(at)dora(dot)de

Martina König
Fon: +49 (0)5051 4759 110
martina.koenig(at)stiftung-ng(dot)de

Termine und Orte

Zurzeit sind keine weiteren Termine und Orte geplant.

Mehr zum Thema

Literatur
Der Begleitband zur Ausstellung ist in deutscher und englischer Sprache erhältlich:

an der Besucherinformation der KZ-Gedenkstätte Mittelbau-Dora hier

in der Buchhandlung der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald hier

im Online-Buchshop der Stiftung in deutscher Sprache hier

Links
Einführung in den ersten Ausstellungsteil hier

Einblicke in den zweiten Teil der Ausstellung hier

Medienecho
"Hitlerjungen, Volkssturm und Beamte halfen der SS" (Deutschlandradio Kultur, 14. April 2015)

"Untergang und Hoffnung" (Südwest Presse, 27.04.2015)

Prologbanner der Ausstellung. Foto: Nadine Jenke

Zwischen Harz und Heide. Todesmärsche und Räumungstransporte im April 1945

Eine Ausstellung der Stiftung Gedenkstätten Buchenwald und Mittelbau-Dora und der Stiftung niedersächsische Gedenkstätten

In den letzten Kriegswochen eskalierten die NS-Verbrechen – nun nicht mehr im vermeintlich fernen „Osten“, sondern inmitten der deutschen Gesellschaft. Anfang April 1945, als sich von Westen her die US-Armee näherte, räumte die SS das KZ Mittelbau-Dora im Harz. In aller Hast verlud sie 40.000 Häftlinge in Viehwaggons oder trieb sie zu Fuß Richtung Norden. Etwa die Hälfte der Transporte endete im KZ Bergen-Belsen. Tausende Häftlinge, die ihre Befreiung schon vor Augen hatten, wurden während der Todesmärsche ermordet. Nach dem Krieg bemühten sich die Alliierten, die während der Todesmärsche begangenen Verbrechen aufzuklären. Die meisten Deutschen hingegen lehnten eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema ab.

Die Ausstellung verdeutlicht das Ausmaß der Gewalt während der Todesmärsche, und sie zeigt, dass die Verbrechen in aller Öffentlichkeit begangen wurden. Zudem thematisiert sie das „Kasernenlager“ in Bergen-Hohne, das im April 1945 zur Unterbringung der Häftlinge aus Mittelbau-Dora als Nebenlager des KZ Bergen-Belsen genutzt wurde. Später befand sich hier das größte jüdische DP-Camp Deutschlands.

Die Ausstellung stellt die Ereignisse während der Lagerräumungen multiperspektivisch dar. Ein besonderes Gewicht haben dabei Tagebücher, Erinnerungsberichte und Zeichnungen ehemaliger Häftlinge, die annährend deutlich machen, wie dicht die Hoffnung auf die nahe Befreiung und die unmittelbare Lebensbedrohung während der Räumungstransporte beieinander lagen. Zugleich zeigt die Ausstellung das breite Ausmaß der Mittäter- und Komplizenschaft in der deutschen Bevölkerung - und die mangelnde Bereitschaft vieler Deutscher nach dem Krieg, sich der Verantwortung für die vor Ort begangenen Verbrechen zu stellen.