Press preview of the exhibition on 13 April, 2016. Photo: Rosina Korschildgen, Sammlung Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Press information

“Buchenwald. Ostracism and Violence 1937 to 1945”

The new permanent exhibition shows the history of the concentration camp based on the current state of research and puts it in the context of National Socialist society; the opening on 17 April 2016, with Minister of State for Culture Grütters, and Thuringian Minister of Culture and Federal and European Affairs Hoff, and former inmates on the occasion of the 71st Anniversary of the Liberation of Buchenwald

“Again it is astonishing how easily everything collapses”, noted the Romance languages scholar and politician Victor Klemperer in his diary in early 1933. At the same time the writer Robert Musil summed it up: “Freedom of the press, of expression of any kind, freedom of conscience, personal dignity, freedom of spirit etc., all the liberal fundamental rights have now been set aside without one single person feeling utterly outraged, indeed by and large without people being strongly affected at all.” These two examples of an extraordinary state of shock in the face of the smooth transfer of power to Hitler and the National Socialists in Germany at the time can sensitise us to the fragility of our own time; a time in which populist nationalism, racist ideologies of inequality, cultural illiberalism and antidemocratic thinking have by no means been overcome. Against this backdrop, “Buchenwald. Ostracism and Violence 1937 to 1945”, in an explicit break with a trend in the culture of memory that limits itself to the de-contextualised horror of the camps when discussing National Socialism, combines a look at the camp with a look at German society – a society that largely accepted the camps and ostracism, believed them to be justified and necessary, was hardly repelled at all, made use of the camps in many ways and ultimately was thoroughly pervaded by the “total war” of the camps.

The effortless proximity of Weimar and Buchenwald is an impressive example of this: the concentration camp becomes an unproblematic component of the city. The city’s hospital and crematorium are made available to the SS for its ends. Weimar tradespersons, moving companies and merchants do business with it. They offer goods and services, supply the concentration camp or profit from inmates as forced labourers. Hilmar Wege, for example, the owner of the firm Gummi-Wille, willingly personally delivers trusses he sells to the camp and fits inmates with them. And the Mayor of Weimar, Otto Koch, in consultation with the directors of the cultural institutions, commissions the SS workshops in the Buchenwald concentration camp – the so-called Deutsche Ausrüstungswerke (DAW; German Equipment Works) – to produce copies of the furniture in Friedrich Schiller’s study and the room in which he died. To that end, the original furniture from the Schiller House is brought to the concentration camp and rebuild there under the supervision of the carpenter Willy Werth, an inmate since 1937.


You can read the complete press release here

Pictures of the opening ceremony in the cinema will be available here
(username: download, password: buchenwald)

Pressevorbesichtigung am 13. April 2016. Foto: Rosina Korschildgen, Sammlung Gedenkstätte Buchenwald

Presseinformation

„Buchenwald. Ausgrenzung und Gewalt 1937 bis 1945“

Neue Dauerausstellung zeigt die Geschichte des KZ auf dem neusten Forschungsstand und bettet es in die der NS-Gesellschaft ein; Eröffnung am 17. April 2016 mit Kulturstaatsministerin Grütters, dem Thüringer Minister für Kultur, Bundes- und Europaangelegenheiten‎ Hoff und ehemaligen Häftlingen aus Anlass des 71. Jahrestages der Befreiung Buchenwalds

„Wieder ist es erstaunlich, wie wehrlos alles zusammenbricht“, notierte der Romanist und Politiker Victor Klemperer Anfang 1933 in seinem Tagebuch. Zur gleichen Zeit resümierte der Schriftsteller Robert Musil: „Freiheit der Presse, der Äußerung überhaupt, Gewissensfreiheit, persönliche Würde – Geistesfreiheit – usw., alle die liberalen Grundrechte sind jetzt beseitigt, ohne daß es nur einen einzigen zum äußersten empörte, ja im ganzen, ohne daß es die Leute überhaupt stark berührt.“ Diese beiden Beispiele, für eine im damaligen Deutschland angesichts der reibungslosen Machtübergabe an Hitler und die Nationalsozialisten außergewöhnliche Fassungslosigkeit, können für die Brüchigkeit unserer Gegenwart sensibilisieren; einer Gegenwart, in der völkischer Nationalismus, rassistische Ungleichwertigkeitsideologien, kulturelle Illiberalität und antidemokratisches Denken keineswegs überwunden sind. Vor diesem Hintergrund verschränkt „Buchenwald. Ausgrenzung und Gewalt 1937 bis 1945“ – in ausdrücklicher Absetzung von einem Trend der Erinnerungskultur, sich in der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Nationalsozialismus auf das entkontextualisierte Grauen der Lager zu beschränken – den Blick in das Lager mit dem Blick in die deutsche Gesellschaft; eine Gesellschaft, die Lager und Ausgrenzung überwiegend akzeptierte, für gerechtfertigt und notwendig hielt, die kaum Anstoß nahm, die sich der Lager vielfältig bediente und die schließlich mit dem „totalen Krieg“ von Lagern flächendeckend durchsetzt war.

Die reibungslose Nachbarschaft von Weimar und Buchenwald ist hierfür ein eindrückliches Beispiel: Das KZ wird problemlos zum Bestandteil der Stadt. Krankenhaus und Krematorium stehen der SS für ihre Zwecke zur Verfügung. Weimarer Handwerker, Spediteure und Händler machen Geschäfte mit ihr. Sie bieten Waren oder Dienste an, beliefern das Konzentrationslager oder profitieren von Häftlingen als Zwangsarbeiter. Hilmar Wege etwa, Inhaber der Firma Gummi-Wille, liefert die von ihm verkauften Bruchbänder bereitwillig persönlich in das Lager und passt sie dort Häftlingen an. Und der Weimarer Oberbürgermeister Otto Koch beauftragte im April 1942 in Absprache mit den Leitern der Kulturstätten die SS-eigenen Werkstätten im KZ Buchenwald – die sogenannten Deutschen Ausrüstungswerken (DAW) – mit der Herstellung von Kopien der Möbel aus Friedrich Schillers Arbeits- und Sterbezimmer. Dazu werden die Originalmöbel aus dem Schillerhaus in das Konzentrationslager gebracht und dort unter Anleitung des Schreiners Willy Werth, Häftling seit 1937, nachgebaut.

 

Die vollständige Presseinformation finden Sie hier

Bilder der Eröffnungsreden im Kino finden Sie hier
(Benutzername: download, Passwort: buchenwald)