Bertrand Herz

1930 (Paris)

Engineer

"We must resist the threat to elementary human rights, and must by no means fall prey to the lure of populism or of ideologies whose aim is the exclusion of individuals."



Bertrand Herz was born in Paris on 24 April 1930. In September 1942 he and his family fled to Toulouse in the French department of Haute-Garonne, which at this point in time was not yet occupied by the German Wehrmacht. On 5 July 1944, Bertrand, his father, his mother and his oldest sister were arrested by the German Gestapo on account of being Jewish. Initially interned in the Caffarelli casern in Toulouse, on 30 July he and his father were deported to Buchenwald Concentration Camp. There he was registered with the inmate number 69592 on 6 August 1944. At first, Bertrand and his father remained together in Block 61 of the Little Camp. On 14 December 1944 they were taken to the Buchenwald subcamp in Niederorschel, Thuringia, where Bertrand was assigned to forced labour in the assembly of Junkers aircraft. His father died there on 27 January 1945. On 10 April 1945, Bertrand Herz was deported back to Buchenwald, where he was when the camp was liberated the following day.

A few weeks later, Herz returned to Paris and was reunited with his sister. There he learned that his mother had died in Ravensbrück Concentration Camp in December 1944. He completed studies at the École Polytechnique, where he obtained his nautical license as a graduate engineer in 1953. A member of the French Navy from 1953 to 1960, he held the rank of reserve commander for several years. From 1958 onward he specialized in computer science and carried out various organizational, technical, advisory and management-related assignments in this field in an insurance company and a large French industrial corporation. In 1985 he was appointed professor at the technological institute of the University of Paris V, where he taught until 1994.

In September 1997 Bertrand Herz became secretary general of the French Association of Buchenwald, Dora and Commandos and in 2001 he was elected president of the International Committee of Buchenwald, Dora and Commandos whereof he was appointed honorary president in 2016.
On 5 June 2009, with his former fellow inmates Floréal Barrier and Elie Wiesel, he accompanied U.S. President Barack Obama during his visit to Buchenwald Memorial.

Bertrand Herz has received various government distinctions, including the French "ordre national du mérite". On 3 October 2009, he was awarded honorary citizenship of the City of Weimar.

Bertrand Herz

1930 (Paris)

Ingenieur

"Wir müssen uns der Bedrohung elementarer Menschenrechte widersetzen und dürfen keinesfalls den Verlockungen des Populismus oder von Ideologien erliegen, die die Ausgrenzung Einzelner zum Ziel haben."



Bertrand Herz wird am 24. April 1930 in Paris geboren. Im September 1942 flieht seine Familie mit ihm nach Toulouse (Haute-Garonne), das zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht von der deutschen Wehrmacht besetzt ist. Am 5. Juli 1944 wird Bertrand Herz wegen seiner jüdischen Herkunft mit seinem Vater, seiner Mutter und seiner ältesten Schwester von der deutschen Gestapo verhaftet. Zunächst in der Kaserne Caffarelli in Toulouse interniert, wird er am 30. Juli mit seinem Vater in das KZ Buchenwald deportiert. Dort erfolgt am 6. August 1944 seine Registrierung unter der Häftlingsnummer 69592. Zunächst bleiben Vater und Sohn gemeinsam in Block 61 des Kleinen Lagers. Am 14. Dezember 1944 werden sie in ein Außenlager des KZ Buchenwald gebracht, Niederorschel in Thüringen, wo Bertrand Herz bei der Montage von Junkersflugzeugen Zwangsarbeit leisten muss. Sein Vater verstirbt dort am 27. Januar 1945. Bertrand Herz wird am 10. April 1945 zurück nach Buchenwald deportiert, wo er einen Tag später die Befreiung erlebt.

Wenige Woche später geht Bertrand Herz zurück nach Paris und trifft dort seine Schwester wieder. Er erfährt, dass seine Mutter im Dezember 1944 im KZ Ravensbrück umgekommen ist. Bertrand Herz absolviert ein Studium an der "Ecole Polytechnique", wo er 1953 sein Patent als Diplomingenieur erwirbt. Von 1953 bis 1960 Mitglied der Nationalen Marine, wird er mehrere Jahre als Kommandant der Reserve geführt. Seit 1958 spezialisiert er sich auf Informatik und übernimmt verschiedene organisationstechnische, beratende oder leitende Aufgaben in diesem Bereich in einer Versicherungsgesellschaft und in einer großen französischen Industriegesellschaft. 1985 wird Bertrand Herz Professor am technologischen Institut der Universität Paris V, wo er bis 1994 lehrt.

Seit September 1997 war Bertrand Herz Generalsekretär der Association Française Buchenwald Dora et Kommandos und seit 2001 Präsident des Internationalen Komitees Buchenwald-Dora und Kommandos, dessen Ehrenpräsident er seit 2016 ist. Am 5. Juni 2009 begleitet Bertrand Herz gemeinsam mit seinen ehemaligen Mithäftlingen Floréal Barrier und Elie Wiesel US-Präsident Barack Obama während seines Besuchs der Gedenkstätte Buchenwald.
Bertrand Herz erhält verschiedene staatliche Auszeichnungen, unter anderem den nationalen französischen Verdienstorden "Chevalier de l'ordre national du mérite". Am 3. Oktober 2009 verleiht ihm die Stadt Weimar die Ehrenbürgerwürde.